[TH] PCI Express 4.0 Brings 16 GT/s And At Least 300 Watts At The Slot - Page 13 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 151 Old 08-24-2016, 01:27 AM
Commodore 64
 
WoKeN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Would anyone have any clue when PCIE 5.0 would come out? I'd hate to get a new computer next year with pcie 4.0 only for pcie 5.0 to come out within 3 years of itx
WoKeN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 151 Old 08-24-2016, 02:58 AM
 
saintruski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by WoKeN View Post

Would anyone have any clue when PCIE 5.0 would come out? I'd hate to get a new computer next year with pcie 4.0 only for pcie 5.0 to come out within 3 years of itx

If your building a computer in 2017 I'm not even sure it will even have pcie4. I would imagine zen, Kaby, and cannon were taped out before this was even a finalized spec. So don't worry about 5.0 just yet.


EDIT: it's saying the spec will be finalized in 2017, it's in version 0.7.
saintruski is offline  
post #123 of 151 Old 08-24-2016, 03:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 215
5.0 won't be anytime soon, both intel and AMD would be purely refreshing their lineups for the next few years.
kabylake is one indication of this as the entire lake series are on the same platform, and zen isn't even out yet so whats the point of rolling out the next architecture?

trolling an adult is very dangerous, don't try it at home nor at work. you don't want to play tag with a rabid man.
epic1337 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #124 of 151 Old 08-24-2016, 03:25 AM
 
saintruski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by epic1337 View Post

5.0 won't be anytime soon, both intel and AMD would be purely refreshing their lineups for the next few years.
kabylake is one indication of this as the entire lake series are on the same platform, and zen isn't even out yet so whats the point of rolling out the next architecture?

This too, Intel doing tick tick tock, which is process, arch, refresh. Cannonlake is the next new process with icelake being the new architecture in 2018. (If they can make deadlines)
saintruski is offline  
post #125 of 151 Old 08-24-2016, 08:54 AM
self deprecating narcissist
 
bigjdubb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by epic1337 View Post

no, he has a point.

how do you expect a 300W PCI-e 4.0 device to run on a 75W PCI-e 3.0 slot?
either the device would run into power constraints, or the PEG slot will melt.


Unless the device itself accommodates this by having additional power inputs that allow it to be backwards compatible with 75 watt slots.

bigjdubb is offline  
post #126 of 151 Old 08-24-2016, 10:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 44,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1787
The fact that GPU makes will want their GPUs to work with PCIE 3.0 MB we will not see GPUs that take more then 75W for PCIE lane.

CPU History (Click to show)
CPU -> Sempron 2400+, Athlon 64 3700+, Core 2 Q6600, A8-3870K, Core 2 Q9550, Core 2 QX9770, Core i7 920, Core i5 2500K, Core i5 3570K, Phenom II X4 955, Core i7 3770K.
GPU History (Click to show)
FX 5200 128MB, 9800 Pro 128MB, 6800GS 256MB, 7600GT 256MB, HD 4850 512MB, HD 4870 1GB, 2x HD 4870 1GB, GTX280 1GB, HD 5850 1GB, GTX470 1.25GB, GTX580 1.5GB, HD 6950 2GB, HD 6950 2GB + HD 6970 2GB, HD 6990 2GB, HD 7970 3GB, 2 x HD 7970 3GB,R9 290 4GB, R9 290X 4GB, R9 Fury X 4GB, GTX 1080 8GB, GTX1080 Ti 11GB
MB History (Click to show)
ECS KN1 Extreme -> ASUS P5Q-E -> GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD7 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD4 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H -> ASRock Z77E-ITX

Chimp Challenge Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 


Last edited by absurd_username; 07-03-2014 at 11:20 AM.
ZealotKi11er is offline  
post #127 of 151 Old 08-24-2016, 10:24 AM
 
pcfoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: 10 TZ from home...
Posts: 3,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 261
nVidia will still use PCIe cables and SLI bridges...MOAR WE WANT MOAR!

I would expect the supercomputing industry to welcome the changes making managing cables etc much easier in GPU compute applications. I hope ppl don't think that these changes are really targeted to home users & enthusiasts / gamers ... lulz.

[Build Log] the FooBox - Watercooled 540 AIR, and 2700 threads
Forgive my rants - I am harmless - Nullius in verba after all.

Chimp Challenge Participant  30 Million+ Folding at Home points 

pcfoo is offline  
post #128 of 151 Old 08-24-2016, 10:53 AM
self deprecating narcissist
 
bigjdubb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZealotKi11er View Post

The fact that GPU makes will want their GPUs to work with PCIE 3.0 MB we will not see GPUs that take more then 75W for PCIE lane.

What would prevent them from making a card that could use either the slot or cables? If it senses the cables then it uses the cables, if not it would use the slot?

bigjdubb is offline  
post #129 of 151 Old 08-24-2016, 10:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 44,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1787
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjdubb View Post

What would prevent them from making a card that could use either the slot or cables? If it senses the cables then it uses the cables, if not it would use the slot?

Well I do not think it's possible since that's the problem RX 480 had.

CPU History (Click to show)
CPU -> Sempron 2400+, Athlon 64 3700+, Core 2 Q6600, A8-3870K, Core 2 Q9550, Core 2 QX9770, Core i7 920, Core i5 2500K, Core i5 3570K, Phenom II X4 955, Core i7 3770K.
GPU History (Click to show)
FX 5200 128MB, 9800 Pro 128MB, 6800GS 256MB, 7600GT 256MB, HD 4850 512MB, HD 4870 1GB, 2x HD 4870 1GB, GTX280 1GB, HD 5850 1GB, GTX470 1.25GB, GTX580 1.5GB, HD 6950 2GB, HD 6950 2GB + HD 6970 2GB, HD 6990 2GB, HD 7970 3GB, 2 x HD 7970 3GB,R9 290 4GB, R9 290X 4GB, R9 Fury X 4GB, GTX 1080 8GB, GTX1080 Ti 11GB
MB History (Click to show)
ECS KN1 Extreme -> ASUS P5Q-E -> GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD7 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD4 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H -> ASRock Z77E-ITX

Chimp Challenge Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

ZealotKi11er is offline  
post #130 of 151 Old 08-24-2016, 11:15 AM
self deprecating narcissist
 
bigjdubb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZealotKi11er View Post

Well I do not think it's possible since that's the problem RX 480 had.

The RX480 wasn't designed with the intention of having a switchable power source between the slot and pci-e cables. With the wattage numbers they are talking about and the trend towards lower powered GPU's the power will not need to be shared, it can be one or the other.

bigjdubb is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off