[TH] PCI Express 4.0 Brings 16 GT/s And At Least 300 Watts At The Slot - Page 6 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #51 of 151 Old 08-21-2016, 04:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KyadCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6,877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by PontiacGTX View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyadCK View Post

75W can be done using the V12 lines you see here at 15w per pin. They need to make 20-40 of these pins, which could be done by expanding the slot to the "back" without breaking physical compatibility, or by adding an extension similar to PCI-x, or simply by re-purposing pins and deciding what is used based on startup chatter like most cards currently do.
1) AMD has no such solution.
2) The entire point of using PCI-e is that it is universal, like USB.
3) Absolutely no one but IBM supports NVLink, and even then only on custom chips.
4) AMD will never support NVLink.
5) Intel will never support NVLink.
6) PCI-e and NVLink are not compatible with one another, and can not be used in each other's slots unless the card supports both.
7) Even if two cards support NVLink, it will not be usable in a PCI-e slot as the PCI-e controller will have no idea what to do with it, forcing them to run in PCI-e mode anyway.
8) Adding NVLink takes die space that could otherwise be used for other things, and they will not sacrifice PCI-e lanes, thus breaking compatibility with every other add-in card ever made, for NVLink except on custom order.
9) Bandwidth doesn't mean anything on it's own.

NVLink is not a standard. It is a custom order. Only PowerPC is currently even capable of supporting it, and even then you need a special order chip and MB to use it.
I thought the AMD coherent interconnect fabric was for communication between CPU and PCie
I guess the writer misunderstood it, and it was just for Hypertransport
http://wccftech.com/amd-coherent-interconnect-fabric-gpus-cpus-apus/

If AMD wants an internal solution for their APUs and SuperComputers, they will run into similar problems.

1) No one uses AMD for real SuperComputers, they use Intel/IBM. Zen may help change it, but their server share is nonexistent.
2) Intel will never support it.
3) IBM probably will support it... on custom chips.
4) Same comparability concerns with PCI-e as NVLink.

AMD has an advantage in that it can actually make CPUs, GPUs, APUs, Chipsets, and does custom chips all the time as part of their day to day.
AMD has a disadvantage in that they don't actually exist as a brand in Datacenters.
KyadCK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #52 of 151 Old 08-21-2016, 05:23 PM
 
BobiBolivia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
AMD has to include this in AM4 platform. Just sayin'.

Think twice. /// Always opened for normal argumenting, manufacturers-independent... yeah, that's me. thumb.gif
BobiBolivia is offline  
post #53 of 151 Old 08-21-2016, 05:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 44,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1787
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobiBolivia View Post

AMD has to include this in AM4 platform. Just sayin'.

Let them get PCIE 3.0 first. Also adding PCIE 4.0 is not that big of a deal if you have a good CPU. Zen+ will probably have PCIE 4.0.

CPU History (Click to show)
CPU -> Sempron 2400+, Athlon 64 3700+, Core 2 Q6600, A8-3870K, Core 2 Q9550, Core 2 QX9770, Core i7 920, Core i5 2500K, Core i5 3570K, Phenom II X4 955, Core i7 3770K.
GPU History (Click to show)
FX 5200 128MB, 9800 Pro 128MB, 6800GS 256MB, 7600GT 256MB, HD 4850 512MB, HD 4870 1GB, 2x HD 4870 1GB, GTX280 1GB, HD 5850 1GB, GTX470 1.25GB, GTX580 1.5GB, HD 6950 2GB, HD 6950 2GB + HD 6970 2GB, HD 6990 2GB, HD 7970 3GB, 2 x HD 7970 3GB,R9 290 4GB, R9 290X 4GB, R9 Fury X 4GB, GTX 1080 8GB, GTX1080 Ti 11GB
MB History (Click to show)
ECS KN1 Extreme -> ASUS P5Q-E -> GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD7 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD4 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H -> ASRock Z77E-ITX

Chimp Challenge Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

ZealotKi11er is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #54 of 151 Old 08-21-2016, 06:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 215
how are they going to provide 300W onto the PCI-e?

the current 24-pin (the extra 4pin to be exact) that provides the power to the current PCI-e slots can't provide 300W by itself, let alone to all PCI-e slots.

trolling an adult is very dangerous, don't try it at home nor at work. you don't want to play tag with a rabid man.

Last edited by mark haflich; 07-03-2014 at 06:58 AM.
epic1337 is offline  
post #55 of 151 Old 08-21-2016, 06:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 280
JackCY is offline  
post #56 of 151 Old 08-21-2016, 06:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackCY View Post

I have not seen the power figures when checking PCIe 4, this news is a few days old. 300W from a slot? RIP motherboards.

yeah, and imagine 4slots of PCI-e 4.0, 1200watts from where? and through the motherboard no less.

trolling an adult is very dangerous, don't try it at home nor at work. you don't want to play tag with a rabid man.
epic1337 is offline  
post #57 of 151 Old 08-21-2016, 06:11 PM
 
HMBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
you can basically have a decent graphics card using just x1, pretty cool.

HMBR is offline  
post #58 of 151 Old 08-21-2016, 06:52 PM
 
BobiBolivia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZealotKi11er View Post

Let them get PCIE 3.0 first. Also adding PCIE 4.0 is not that big of a deal if you have a good CPU. Zen+ will probably have PCIE 4.0.

AMD already has PCIe 3.0 in FM2+ motherboards.
I don't see any good reason for them to not step up their game and already implement 4.0 with backwards compatibility to 3.0.
thumb.gif

Think twice. /// Always opened for normal argumenting, manufacturers-independent... yeah, that's me. thumb.gif
BobiBolivia is offline  
post #59 of 151 Old 08-21-2016, 06:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 8,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by epic1337 View Post

yeah, and imagine 4slots of PCI-e 4.0, 1200watts from where? and through the motherboard no less.

No current gen consumer setup today will draw more than 700w from the wall. There's simply no way you can do that feasibly unless you're benchmarking 4-way SLI or Crossfire with really really power hungry cards, and no one does that anyway.

This is merely providing the means by which you can transfer power through a slot. Hell, laptop MXM cards can handle up to around 150w from the board. o_o this isn't anything super shocking, more along the lines of: "About time. You're late."

Awesome Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by frickfrock99 go_quote.gif

I'm not worried in the least. I haven't taken anti-biotics in 12 years and I constantly lick my hands to build disease resistance.

My immune system is impenetrable.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crockturtle566 go_quote.gif

Windows XP is like a boss in a game that can heal it self. IT WON'T DIE!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaiber go_quote.gif

If you watch Jaws in reverse, it's about this shark that throws up so many people they had to open a beach because of it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tw34k go_quote.gif

Hey cutie, wanna meet my friend BIOS ? It stands for Basic, input, outpu..SLAP!!

Giggidy.
Imglidinhere is online now  
post #60 of 151 Old 08-21-2016, 07:02 PM
Graphics Card Aficionado
 
twitchyzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
can Titan Pascal even saturate pci-e 2.0 x16? I'm not talking about someone with 3-4 video cards. Single card setup.

I'm all for progress but let's at least see a benefit from pci-e 3.0 first before creating new standards?

Nvidia Surround Gaming
My PC Hardware Upgrade CyclesWarning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
CPU: Athlon 1.3GHz | Core 2 Duo OC'd 2.0GHz | Core i5-3570K OC'd 4.8GHz
RAM: 2x256MB DDR-333MHz | 2x1GB DDR2-667MHz -> 2x2GB DDR2-800MHz | 4x4GB OC'd DDR3-2133MHz
GPU: GeForce2 MX 64MB -> Radeon 9600 Pro 256MB | Radeon X1950 Pro 256MB | GeForce GTX 670 FTW 2GB SLI OC'd
twitchyzero is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off