AMD shares info on 65nm transition - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 05-01-2006, 04:31 AM - Thread Starter
The Educator
 
Inspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nottingham, England
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 535
Quote:
During the meetings held in Japan, AMD representatives gave the audience to understand that the transition to 0.065micron process was sticking to their schedule. In the second half of 2006 Fab 36 will start manufacturing 0.065micron processors, and the corresponding products will be officially announced in Q1 2007. The new production technology will be using Germanium (SiGe).
Source- X-bit labs
Inspire is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 05-01-2006, 04:33 AM
Back From The Dead
 
Namrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 10,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 701
Wait... Doesn't Germanium melt at room temperature?

20110813 - RIP

Take me out into the black, tell them I ain't coming back.
Burn the land and boil the sea, you can't take the sky from me.
Namrac is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 05-01-2006, 04:43 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 225
aparently not
Quote:
The element is a gray-white metalloid, and in its pure state is crystalline and brittle, retaining its lustre in air at room temperature. It is a very important semiconductor material

-|SiS , VIA chipset? Using Clockgen? Then check this FAQ out!|-

mootin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 05-01-2006, 04:45 AM
Back From The Dead
 
Namrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 10,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 701
Hmmm... then what am I thinking of... It's one of the ones that starts with a "G"... now I'm curious...

Edit: Gallium!
Anyway, AMD + 65nm = uber overclocks.

20110813 - RIP

Take me out into the black, tell them I ain't coming back.
Burn the land and boil the sea, you can't take the sky from me.
Namrac is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 05-01-2006, 04:46 AM
4.0ghz
 
Negotiator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Playing in the band GLAY
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 43
gallium

"I can't carry a conversation when I'm alone with Hisashi. That cool Hisashi becomes shy. Probably we become too conscious of each other because we're similar."

Negotiator is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 05-01-2006, 11:04 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
All these changes in amd cpus make me want to wait to upgrade. I was gonna wait for AM2, but now should I wait for 65nm?

StepsAscend is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 05-01-2006, 06:03 PM
Audiophile
 
Remonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 5,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Well if you're waiting for these 65nm chips, which are just being ANNOUNCED in Q1 2007, just build yourself a rig right now and then get another when those are out, your rig isn't exactly gonna be leading the charge into 2007, know what I mean?

Remonster is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 05-01-2006, 07:37 PM
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think 65nm process tech. would be included in the AM2 socket because it's the new technology and since that's their only choice, it could be a different socket depending how the AM2 performs when they ships, but definately not socket 939, so either way, wait til AM2 comes out and you'll probably hear more about the 65nm fab. process. Then you'll be able to decide weather to upgrade or not.
ken225 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 05-01-2006, 07:41 PM
4.0ghz
 
Jori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 8,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 406
AM2 is going to be 90 nm at launch and eventually 65nm. The AM2 processor revisions are also able to support DDR3.. AMD is thinking ahead.

Jori is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 05-01-2006, 07:47 PM
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wonders if DDR3 will gets to 750MHz (1500MHz)? I mean the 3200 Asus chip boards (the one I have) claims that HT could get overclock to 1500MHz (even though I don't see how because I'm not able to get to it). Of course, once DDR3 is out the standards would be different anyways, and the 3.0 HT thing sounds convincing.
ken225 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off