LG 4K Oled55c6p Owners Thread! - Page 12 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #111 of 291 Old 07-28-2016, 12:29 PM
PC Gamer
 
Ambush083's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by danycyo View Post

I purchased a display port to HDMI 2.0 adapter from 3d club so I can run 4k at 4096x2160 @ 60hz.

Is there any benefit to running 4096x2160 versus just running 3840x2160? Is there a performance increase or is it just for more pixels? I currently have too much input lag to play most games. Recently I've been playing The Division. It looks great on the C6P, but it's hardly playable because of the delay. I wonder if 4096x2160 would change this at all. I'm stuck at work right now so I can't test it. I'm directly connecting my TV (VIA 4K compatible HDMI cable) to my video card. I have tested using the Game picture mode and setting the icon for the HDMI interface to PC. I didn't notice any difference in lag though. doh.gif

Ambush083 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #112 of 291 Old 07-28-2016, 07:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CallsignVega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 7,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 519
The panel is 3840x2160, no point in running it at 4096x2160 as either you will have black bars or it will fuzz the picture.

I would not run this display with uncapped FPS and V-Sync on. 60 FPS/ Hz V-Sync puts the display over the edge on acceptable input lag.

I run V-Sync on with a global FPS cap of 59 FPS. This keeps the screen from tearing and removes the V-Sync input lag. Then it remains in the ~32 ms "acceptable" range. Letting your FPS run at 60 bumped up against V-Sync frame timing adds another 16-32 ms on top of that.

CallsignVega is offline  
post #113 of 291 Old 07-29-2016, 01:34 AM
 
danycyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
TBH while gaming I wouldn't run 4096x2160 unless you have beasts of GPU's. The benefit of that 3d club adapter is that it allows me to run 60hz at 4096x2160. I run my desktop and enjoy looking at my 4k images at 60hz. I watch movies and they look good but I believe that they are still limited to 30hz. Before I purchased the adapter and the hdmi 2.0 cable I was only able to run 4096x2160 @ 30hz and it was extremely sluggish to do daily tasks. I found myself running the television at 1920x1080 just so it wouldn't be as slow. Buying the cables really has made me enjoy my TV experience much more. I don't have black bars either just a full screen picture but like I said I don't game at that resolution at least not yet smile.gif I run my PC on the PC mode setting and I don't have any fuzzy images. I view websites and text with perfect clarity. The other advantage is the responsiveness it provides. I can run resolutions like 2560x1440 and 3200x1800, 3840x2160, and 4096x2160 all @ 60 hz which is a game changer.

I was extremely disappointed when I first bought the television and didn't have the correct cables because of how sluggish it was. I mean 1920x1080 still looked good but nowhere near as good as gaming on those higher resolutions. The response time is much improved as well. If you own this television take my word for it spend the extra $25 bucks and buy the adapter especially if your GPU's don't have an hdmi 2.0 port. You won't be disappointed. thumb.gif

Windows 10 Professional: Intel Core i7 4930K@ 4.8GHz @1.43V Noctua D14 Cooler. Asus Rampage IV Extreme w/ G.Skill PC3-17000 32 GB 2133 MHz @ 9-11-10-24-1T w/ Samsung 850 pro 256gb, Samsung 840 Evo SSD 512gb, Samsung 830 Pro 512gb, Samsung 750GB, Toshiba 4TB, WD 2TB, and a Seagate 1TB external. EVGA FTW3 1080TI (24/7- 2050/6075) powered by Corsair1200i PSU inside a NZXT 810 case surrounded by RGB lighting and Noctua/NZXT cooling fans. Berodynamic DT990 250ohm headphones w/ Fiio E10 amp. Display: LG 55" C6 OLED
danycyo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #114 of 291 Old 07-29-2016, 05:47 AM
Commodore 64
 
WetMacula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Vega, what are you using to globally limit FPS to 59? I see an option in RivaTuner.
WetMacula is offline  
post #115 of 291 Old 07-29-2016, 07:20 AM - Thread Starter
 
gavros777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by CallsignVega View Post

The panel is 3840x2160, no point in running it at 4096x2160 as either you will have black bars or it will fuzz the picture.

I would not run this display with uncapped FPS and V-Sync on. 60 FPS/ Hz V-Sync puts the display over the edge on acceptable input lag.

I run V-Sync on with a global FPS cap of 59 FPS. This keeps the screen from tearing and removes the V-Sync input lag. Then it remains in the ~32 ms "acceptable" range. Letting your FPS run at 60 bumped up against V-Sync frame timing adds another 16-32 ms on top of that.

Are you using pc mode?
Because without it you dont really get 444 chroma and with pc mode on the input lag is reported to be 48ms.
gavros777 is offline  
post #116 of 291 Old 07-29-2016, 09:55 PM
Commodore 64
 
WetMacula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
https://imgur.com/a/EuPWW
photos of my setup.

Anyone know if it's possible to disable automatic brightness level? Service menu option?
WetMacula is offline  
post #117 of 291 Old 07-30-2016, 07:45 AM
 
zipeldiablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Finally ordered mine yesterday ! o/
Will take approximatly 12days to have it, damn i cannot wait !

Any advice guys? Like if i need some special cable or something to hook it up?
Settings on it?
Anything?
I will run it with an sli of gtx 980ti btw, don't know if that matters
Quote:
Originally Posted by WetMacula View Post

https://imgur.com/a/EuPWW
photos of my setup.

Never heard of madvr, seems like a nice tool, do you manage to have proper 4k upscaling with it for your 720 and 1080p content?

zipeldiablo is offline  
post #118 of 291 Old 07-30-2016, 12:06 PM
Commodore 64
 
WetMacula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Sure. Read this:
https://wiki.mikejung.biz/MadVR

The main forum is on Doom9.

Buy 18gbps amazon basic hdmi cables. Cheap and they work. I also bought better 3D glasses and an antenna.
WetMacula is offline  
post #119 of 291 Old 07-30-2016, 06:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CallsignVega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 7,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by WetMacula View Post

Vega, what are you using to globally limit FPS to 59? I see an option in RivaTuner.

Yes, RivaTuner statistics server.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gavros777 View Post

Are you using pc mode?
Because without it you dont really get 444 chroma and with pc mode on the input lag is reported to be 48ms.

I use PC input setting with Game mode for 4:4:4 which gives ~32ms input lag.

CallsignVega is offline  
post #120 of 291 Old 07-30-2016, 06:45 PM
Commodore 64
 
WetMacula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by zipeldiablo View Post

Finally ordered mine yesterday ! o/
Will take approximatly 12days to have it, damn i cannot wait !

Any advice guys? Like if i need some special cable or something to hook it up?
Settings on it?
Anything?
I will run it with an sli of gtx 980ti btw, don't know if that matters
Never heard of madvr, seems like a nice tool, do you manage to have proper 4k upscaling with it for your 720 and 1080p content?

You also might want to pickup a 3 year square trade warranty from Costco. It costs $89 and takes affect after LG's one year.
WetMacula is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off