Remote Control - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 01-29-2015, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
Folding Fanatic
 
tmontney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Looking for a remote control for a PC. All I find so far are Media Center remotes, and I'm unsure if you can use them for regular operations. For example, I can use the hotkeys on my keyboard to play/pause iTunes or the current video player. I'd like a remote control to do the same.

exclamation.gif Want to get started on folding, but don't know how? Check out this guide! exclamation.gif
If you have good hardware, you should be folding. Don't be surprised if I ask you to fold thumb.gif
I fold for my Grandpa who died on 4/22/13 because of Alzheimer's.
tmontney is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 01-29-2015, 03:25 PM
Overclocker
 
Cavey00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Well, the ones that work with Media Center also work with XBMC, PowerDVD as well as Zune. I haven't tried it with anything outside of that though but if I think about it I'll give it a whirl tonight. It doesn't work with Netflix streaming in a browser but that's not really a media player.

I don't have iTunes installed anywhere and refuse to do so. Can't help you there.
Cavey00 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 01-29-2015, 05:07 PM
Console Gamer
 
pe4nut666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montague Prince Edward Island
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
i dont know if this helps but i use a xbox one remote and flirc usb to control my htpc you can program the flirc to map your key shortcuts
pe4nut666 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 02-04-2015, 08:49 PM
333mhz
 
senslessenigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: DFW
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
You might also consider a Logitech k400. They're cheap, small, and do everything a remote can't. Between that and a logiteh harmony I can do anything I need to on my htpc without too much hassle.
tmontney likes this.

Corsair Carbide Series [400R/500R] Owners Club
senslessenigma is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 02-05-2015, 11:54 AM
 
RogueRage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
When I am not using my cideko keyboard and mouse, I use a logitech harmony remote with the flirc receiver to operate functions for my XBMC and media center. I also use the software EventGhost to translate what keys are pressed/received from the remote and then perform a given function.

If you install eventghost you can pretty much control anything but this will require some effort to setup your given task.
RogueRage is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 02-07-2015, 02:58 PM - Thread Starter
Folding Fanatic
 
tmontney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 9
I'll look into the k400.

exclamation.gif Want to get started on folding, but don't know how? Check out this guide! exclamation.gif
If you have good hardware, you should be folding. Don't be surprised if I ask you to fold thumb.gif
I fold for my Grandpa who died on 4/22/13 because of Alzheimer's.
tmontney is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 02-07-2015, 05:51 PM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
cones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I believe the FLIRC emulates keyboard keys. So that might be the most "compatible" with programs.
cones is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 02-27-2015, 03:46 PM
 
Fluxmaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by senslessenigma View Post

You might also consider a Logitech k400. They're cheap, small, and do everything a remote can't. Between that and a logiteh harmony I can do anything I need to on my htpc without too much hassle.

I second this

I have Amazon Prime and picked up the k400 on sale one day as an impulse buy for $20 and I actually really like it. I have had it since Dec 2013 and still haven't needed to change the batteries. One thing I really like is the size of it. It's smaller than a full size keyboard, but it's big enough to type on. I considered a diNovo Mini, but they cost way more and are tiny.
senslessenigma likes this.
Fluxmaven is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 11-11-2015, 08:12 PM
 
sojufeeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Dinovo Mini is good Alternative for remote.
sojufeeler is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 11-13-2015, 05:40 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I went down this road but now just use my HTPC to stream.. no more dvr/live tv.. the flirc is hands down the best and easiest option.. add a harmony remote ftw.

bfedorov11 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off