i5 2500K thermal paste or heatsink? Cooling question! - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 74 Old 10-06-2011, 09:57 AM
Iconoclast
 
Blameless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 29,120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3129
Quote:
Originally Posted by hahysera View Post
Non ononononon lol. It instantly shoots to 73*C i have to turn it off or it will completely melt my CPU. I bet it would go to 100*C+ if I left Prime95 open for an hour.
Unlikely.

The CPU should reach maximum temp within a few minutes, and within a few seconds should be only a few C below it.

Going to 73C near instantly is not at all unusual.

...rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law,' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the right of an individual. -- Thomas Jefferson
Blameless is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 74 Old 10-06-2011, 10:02 AM
-Power is YOU-
 
munaim1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: .:.
Posts: 10,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 910
Apologies for the late reply, your above screenshot is looing good, temps are nice and low.

You can go ahead and start overclocking that baby, I woudl recommend that you leave the RAM at stock and concenttrate on the cpu.

first and foremost, find the right LLC settings, you can do that by just leaving the mulitplier as it is and set the voltage to manual 1.25v and the LLC settings to level 2.

The aim of it is to try and find the correct level to eliminate vdroop as much as possible so the voltage under load is similar to what you set it to in the BIOS.

Run the cpu under load and post a screen shot of what your load voltage is.
munaim1 is offline  
post #13 of 74 Old 10-06-2011, 10:18 AM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
hahysera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: CANADA
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Send a message via Skype™ to hahysera
Quote:
Originally Posted by munaim1 View Post
Apologies for the late reply, your above screenshot is looing good, temps are nice and low.

You can go ahead and start overclocking that baby, I woudl recommend that you leave the RAM at stock and concenttrate on the cpu.

first and foremost, find the right LLC settings, you can do that by just leaving the mulitplier as it is and set the voltage to manual 1.25v and the LLC settings to level 2.

The aim of it is to try and find the correct level to eliminate vdroop as much as possible so the voltage under load is similar to what you set it to in the BIOS.

Run the cpu under load and post a screen shot of what your load voltage is.
Ok 5 mins LLC at level 2, 1.25V set in bios fixed. Seems like level 2 is good no?

Everything else is stock.

Is 5 mins enough to get a decently accurate temp?


[RIOT]di5posal - Battlefield 3
hahysera is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 74 Old 10-06-2011, 10:47 AM
munaim1 is offline  
post #15 of 74 Old 10-06-2011, 10:55 AM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
hahysera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: CANADA
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Send a message via Skype™ to hahysera
No the voltage usually stay either 1.256 or 1.248 back and fourth

Doesnt go higher

[RIOT]di5posal - Battlefield 3
hahysera is offline  
post #16 of 74 Old 10-06-2011, 10:58 AM
-Power is YOU-
 
munaim1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: .:.
Posts: 10,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 910
munaim1 is offline  
post #17 of 74 Old 10-06-2011, 11:01 AM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
hahysera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: CANADA
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Send a message via Skype™ to hahysera
.//.

[RIOT]di5posal - Battlefield 3
hahysera is offline  
post #18 of 74 Old 10-06-2011, 11:08 AM
-Power is YOU-
 
munaim1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: .:.
Posts: 10,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by hahysera View Post
I just bought the comp. I havnt updated the bios or anything. I'm not rlly comfortable updating it I dont rlly know what Im doing.
No worries, I'll direct you on how to do that safely.

Clearing the CMOS will be a good place to start before you update the BIOS, once you obtain the correct BIOS reversion from here. Donwload the "instant flash" one, there will be a utility in the BIOS that will allow you to update the BIOS.

you can view the instructions on how to update the bios in that same page using the button.

Once you have updated the BIOS report back. Also it's a good idea to clear the CMOS again after you update the BIOS.

This is how I clear the CMOS:

unplug power cord
press the power button to release any excess current from the rig
take the CMOS battery out for a couple minutes and pop it back in
attach the power cable and start the rig.

That will surely clear the CMOS, I don't usually like working with the small jumpers, I find this easier to do.
munaim1 is offline  
post #19 of 74 Old 10-06-2011, 11:11 AM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
hahysera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: CANADA
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Send a message via Skype™ to hahysera
.//.

[RIOT]di5posal - Battlefield 3
hahysera is offline  
post #20 of 74 Old 10-06-2011, 11:12 AM
-Power is YOU-
 
munaim1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: .:.
Posts: 10,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by hahysera View Post
What does updating the bios do exactly? Just so I know
BIOS updates usually have, bug fixes etc and some allow for more stability than other's.

I usually say the same thing but only for older sockets, with new sockets the BIOS isn't mature enough, therefore there will always be bug fixes etc.
munaim1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off