i just got dished out a bet fire the missles!! - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 10-04-2006, 09:43 PM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
my friend just bet me that i have until apr 2007 to build a computer

and i dunno what to do now

should i wait for quad core? ( kentsfield doesnt seem to be true quadcore)
should a i get a 6700?


(im gonna watercool that maybe rock on!!!)

i havent seen a mobo with 1066 yet i see alot of the 800 rams going especially
OCZ since they appear to be sensational overclockers

i have many questions but they dont seem to fit so i rounded them down

will post a/the potential build/s soon

burntheskies is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 10-04-2006, 10:56 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rocky Mountains baby!!
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by burntheskies
( kentsfield doesnt seem to be true quadcore)
It has 4 operational cores what more does there have to be?? Its not like the older PD EE chips with dual cores and HT, the Kentsfield is a quad core chip meaning it has 4 differant cores.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Witchfire
Please leave your church-parking-lot morality in check when you post.
PD 940 C1 CPUZ Validated @ 5.207ghz 6th in the world validation!
PD 920 RT CPUZ Validated @ 5.0ghz
PD 920ES 19x258 Validated @ 4.91ghz
PD 830ES Validated @ 4.55ghz
P4 Extreme Edition ES 3.73 Validated @ 4.41ghz
PD 820ES CPUZ Validated @ 4.3ghz
Adeoliver is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 10-04-2006, 11:03 PM
I can purchase now?
 
legoman786's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 10,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 364
The Core 2 Quad (Kentsfield) is a true 4 core CPU. I dont know what you are smoking, but it seems to be working.

I would personally get the E6600 (or the next up) and good RAM. If money is no object, then go for the Kentsfield.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syrillian go_quote.gif
The persistance of a human may never win against the persistance of time, but the fruits of the labors are wonderous to behold, even in our brevity.
⚜ R.I.P Syrillian ⚜
8/13/2011
legoman786 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 10-05-2006, 12:55 AM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Kentsfield isn't a true quad-core CPU in the sense that there won't be four cores on a single die. Instead, it'll be two dies, stuck together on the same packaging. Each core will have 2MiB of cache to play with. The QX6700 will have a TDP of 130W (eek), although the tamer parts will be closer to 100W.

http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=6820

can someone burn that section of the intarnet plz :_< so kentsfield is the wrong tag and i read the article wrong

....


right?

burntheskies is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 10-05-2006, 01:08 AM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
sounds good

im bettin on a e6700 c2d and like 2 gigs of ram minimum

the video card isnt a big deal since i rly just waitin till directx10 comes out
and need a foothold.

the mobo would be nice if it had raid support

i been hearing about thish wicked dfi board supposed to spank the asus gigabyte ordeal something decently fierce.

burntheskies is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 10-05-2006, 12:16 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rocky Mountains baby!!
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by legoman786
The Core 2 Quad (Kentsfield) is a true 4 core CPU. I dont know what you are smoking, but it seems to be working.

I would personally get the E6600 (or the next up) and good RAM. If money is no object, then go for the Kentsfield.
That statement is BS, there are 4 cores in the chip reguardless how you look at it, each dual core portion will have a 4mb shared cache not 2mb per core like the old netburst chips. If there is 4 cores inside 1 chip then that makes it a quad core chip no matter how they put it together, also the quad will have twice the operating power of a conroe because it is 2 conroes built into one chip. The question that should be asked is which one can you afford.
Either way you go you will notice a huge increase in performance over what you have now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Witchfire
Please leave your church-parking-lot morality in check when you post.
PD 940 C1 CPUZ Validated @ 5.207ghz 6th in the world validation!
PD 920 RT CPUZ Validated @ 5.0ghz
PD 920ES 19x258 Validated @ 4.91ghz
PD 830ES Validated @ 4.55ghz
P4 Extreme Edition ES 3.73 Validated @ 4.41ghz
PD 820ES CPUZ Validated @ 4.3ghz
Adeoliver is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 10-05-2006, 03:04 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 84
What it will do is perform faster than the current dual core chips. It is not a quad core cpu in the true sense though, and this is what is coming from both companies next year.

Two dual core chips cannot communicate as efficiently through a pcb as four cores on one die.

Whether the true quad core architectures "Barcelona" and "Yorkfield" will have the performance that you would expect remains to be seen

Edit: yorkfield not yorktown
Mister Crowley is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 10-05-2006, 03:10 PM
4.0ghz
 
selectodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Your friend *bet* you? What the hell does that mean?

selectodude is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 10-05-2006, 03:14 PM
..the party can start now
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Windsor, Ontario
Posts: 8,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 589
ya ***? What's that mean? a bet? Do you get money if you build it?

Sideburns is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 10-06-2006, 01:32 AM
 
Radeon915's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Derp
Posts: 1,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by selectodude
Your friend *bet* you? What the hell does that mean?
I was wondering the same thing...

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobotDevil666 go_quote.gif

MS is probing around checking how big of a gerbil they can ram up desktop user butt before he notices he's being royally screwed.

Chimp Challenge Participant  1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Radeon915 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off