i7 2600K and Maximus IV Extreme Z - Looking for 5.3ghz onwards. Advice appreciated. - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 04-02-2012, 05:51 AM - Thread Starter
WaterCooler
 
Stu-Crossfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Blackpool
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Hi guys,
In my never ending search for speed I am today trying to move upward of 5.2ghz on my i7 2600K.
Sadly, I keep being met with either BSOD 101 or 124.

Settings as follows and working fine for 5.2ghz.
  • Intel Core i7 2600K
  • Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z
  • Samsung 30nm DDR3 running at 2133 9-10-9-27-1T (But dropped back to 1600 for these tests)
  • 3x sapphire 7970HD running at 1200/1600
  • Psu: 1250w
  • Cooling = huge loop with 2 rads, 1 external 1260, temps are not a problem.


I today tried multiple overclocking profiles, but in general it goes like :
  • CPU Level Up : Auto
  • Ai Overclock Tuner : Manual
  • BCLK/PCIE Frq : 100
  • Multiplyer: 53
  • Turbo Ratio : Auto
  • Memory Freq : DDR3-1600Mhz
  • Manual Dram Timings : 10-10-10-30-1T
  • Dram voltage 1.5v (this is 1.3v ram, I use 1.5v at 2133 so know its stable there)


Digi VRM :
  • PWM Mode : Extreme
  • Load-line Calibration : 75%-100%
  • Switching Freq - Manual : 350
  • Phase Control : Extreme
  • Over-Current Prot : 140%
  • Over Temp Prot : disabled


VDRAM, CCSA, VCCIO :
  • VCCIO 1.1v
  • CPU PLL 1.75 - 1.85 tried (normally run 1.75)
  • Full Phase Control : Auto
  • Over-Current Prot : Disabled


CPU Voltage : Offset
Currently stabilises at 5.3ghz with 1.552 volts but in heaven it drops a 101 or 124 error after about 20 stages.

Ideally I would like to get a stable 5.4Ghz overclock if possible. So, unless I have missed something obvious, I may now need to start learning about things I know little about, having never had to play with them. Things such as C states and Skew. Also, i know my offset between VCCIO and Dram volts has exceeded 0.5v so will try tweaking that tonight. Anyone know what happens when its wrong?

Please Note:
This isnt for a 24/7 stable overclock, its used for benching only. 24/7 I runa beautifully setup and stabilised 4.7ghz with 1.41volts vcore. I also accept that the chip simply may not do it... end of.

Twin rad loop with 1260 and 340 rads. // Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z // 3770K De-lidded @ 4.6Ghz // 3x AMD 79790HD in Tri-Fire @ 1260/1900. // 8GB Sammy @ 2400mhz // 2x 240GB Vertex 3's & 1x 512GB Vertex 4 SSD // Enermax Max Revo 1500w PSU
Corsair Obsidian 800D case.
Stu-Crossfire is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 04-02-2012, 08:23 AM
Intel Overclocker
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Personally I would try increasing the PWM switching frequency to reduce ripple under load, but watch the VRM temps, they can get extremely hot. Can you monitor the vcore on another PC using the graphs on RC TweakIt?

Other than that it seems that you need more vcore. C-states are irrelevant when benching. Skews are probably more helpful for increasing BCLK.
ARandomOWL is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 04-02-2012, 08:34 AM - Thread Starter
WaterCooler
 
Stu-Crossfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Blackpool
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by ARandomOWl View Post

Personally I would try increasing the PWM switching frequency to reduce ripple under load, but watch the VRM temps, they can get extremely hot. Can you monitor the vcore on another PC using the graphs on RC TweakIt?
Other than that it seems that you need more vcore. C-states are irrelevant when benching. Skews are probably more helpful for increasing BCLK.

Hi,
Thanks for your reply, have never yet tried RC tweakit so I guess its time I did. Will try and hook it up tonight on my laptop.

What would you advise for the PWM Sw FQ?... areound 500?

Twin rad loop with 1260 and 340 rads. // Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z // 3770K De-lidded @ 4.6Ghz // 3x AMD 79790HD in Tri-Fire @ 1260/1900. // 8GB Sammy @ 2400mhz // 2x 240GB Vertex 3's & 1x 512GB Vertex 4 SSD // Enermax Max Revo 1500w PSU
Corsair Obsidian 800D case.
Stu-Crossfire is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 04-02-2012, 08:38 AM
Intel Overclocker
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu-Crossfire View Post

Hi,
Thanks for your reply, have never yet tried RC tweakit so I guess its time I did. Will try and hook it up tonight on my laptop.
What would you advise for the PWM Sw FQ?... areound 500?

500 is a good start. You will need to watch VRM temps and voltage ripple in order to choose the best value. A higher value should give you less ripple under load but the MOSFET temps will be increased. It is possible to reach a value that is too high where the MOSFET temps are high enough to actually increase the ripple.
ARandomOWL is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 04-02-2012, 09:07 AM
-Power is YOU-
 
munaim1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: .:.
Posts: 10,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 910
If you're going for a benching overclock, you will need to keep in mind your voltage limit. Mine is usually 1.7v under water. I usually set the vcore to around 1.6v to begin with and then slowly start increasing it.

These are my stable settings for a 5.0ghz overclock, you could probably use it as a template for all the other settings except vcore.

Quote:
Originally Posted by munaim1 View Post

After many requests, here are my settings for this particular chip (2500k) - 1.440/1.448v 5GHZ on M4E with new 2105 BIOS:



Maximus IV Extreme 2105 BIOS - 2500k @ 5GHZ (Click to show)

4A8Ye.png

GCl2y.png

NDTTa.png

tPEAy.png

DrVTn.png

1fN6g.png

hDzrF.png

fkKgy.png

FdqxK.png




smile.gif

Also one more thing, I don't use offset voltage for benching, it's usually Ultra high LLC with manual voltage. thumb.gif
munaim1 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 04-02-2012, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
WaterCooler
 
Stu-Crossfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Blackpool
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by ARandomOWl View Post

500 is a good start. You will need to watch VRM temps and voltage ripple in order to choose the best value. A higher value should give you less ripple under load but the MOSFET temps will be increased. It is possible to reach a value that is too high where the MOSFET temps are high enough to actually increase the ripple.

Thanks, will get into it tonight and have a play, see what transpires.
Quote:
Originally Posted by munaim1 View Post

If you're going for a benching overclock, you will need to keep in mind your voltage limit. Mine is usually 1.7v under water. I usually set the vcore to around 1.6v to begin with and then slowly start increasing it.
These are my stable settings for a 5.0ghz overclock, you could probably use it as a template for all the other settings except vcore.
Also one more thing, I don't use offset voltage for benching, it's usually Ultra high LLC with manual voltage. thumb.gif

Hi,
Heading home soon, so will try some more VCCIO and Vcore increases and report back. I have never run one for any period of time above 1.5v so have been a little hesitant to try, but hey, what the hell.

Will try manual voltage too, although I have the OS set to performance so teh core speed never drops, which i assumed would add stability to the clock.

Twin rad loop with 1260 and 340 rads. // Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z // 3770K De-lidded @ 4.6Ghz // 3x AMD 79790HD in Tri-Fire @ 1260/1900. // 8GB Sammy @ 2400mhz // 2x 240GB Vertex 3's & 1x 512GB Vertex 4 SSD // Enermax Max Revo 1500w PSU
Corsair Obsidian 800D case.
Stu-Crossfire is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 04-02-2012, 12:55 PM - Thread Starter
WaterCooler
 
Stu-Crossfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Blackpool
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Thanks guys,
Been tweaking for an hour or so and am now running some benches at 53x100 with 1.57volts vcore and ram back at 2133 with full speed timings and all is looking pretty stable at the moment.

Will keep you informed.

Twin rad loop with 1260 and 340 rads. // Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z // 3770K De-lidded @ 4.6Ghz // 3x AMD 79790HD in Tri-Fire @ 1260/1900. // 8GB Sammy @ 2400mhz // 2x 240GB Vertex 3's & 1x 512GB Vertex 4 SSD // Enermax Max Revo 1500w PSU
Corsair Obsidian 800D case.
Stu-Crossfire is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 04-02-2012, 01:40 PM
Commodore 64
 
jpinard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
I'd like to do the same thing but I'm running 4 sticks of Corsair's latest Dominator's. How much lower should I expect the RAM to run vs. your setup? I"m using the Asus Maximus IV-Z.

Thanks, and I'm glad I found this thread! smile.gif

Intel 920 D0

trying to decide on mobo ---- G.Skill Trident 2000 (6 Gig)Soundblaster X-Fi PCIeNVidia GTX 295
jpinard is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 04-02-2012, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
WaterCooler
 
Stu-Crossfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Blackpool
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpinard View Post

I'd like to do the same thing but I'm running 4 sticks of Corsair's latest Dominator's. How much lower should I expect the RAM to run vs. your setup? I"m using the Asus Maximus IV-Z.
Thanks, and I'm glad I found this thread! smile.gif

Hi,
Do they not come with the recommended settings printed on them mate? They should do.

Twin rad loop with 1260 and 340 rads. // Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z // 3770K De-lidded @ 4.6Ghz // 3x AMD 79790HD in Tri-Fire @ 1260/1900. // 8GB Sammy @ 2400mhz // 2x 240GB Vertex 3's & 1x 512GB Vertex 4 SSD // Enermax Max Revo 1500w PSU
Corsair Obsidian 800D case.
Stu-Crossfire is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 04-02-2012, 09:42 PM
Commodore 64
 
jpinard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu-Crossfire View Post

Hi,
Do they not come with the recommended settings printed on them mate? They should do.

Yes they do have 2133 sats, but they get anywhere near that. I'm running them 1866 right now at 10-10-10-2T frown.gif

Intel 920 D0

trying to decide on mobo ---- G.Skill Trident 2000 (6 Gig)Soundblaster X-Fi PCIeNVidia GTX 295
jpinard is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off