Sooo.. What's Core 2 Duo? - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 27 Old 10-17-2006, 04:53 AM
Administrator
 
The_Manual's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chester, United Kingdom
Posts: 6,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 809
Quote:
It's also hella fast at floating point operations. My San Diego at 3.1 Ghz SHOULD beat a stock E6300, but I think the E6300 smokes my super pi 1M time (floating point) by a couple seconds.
That is because Core 2 Duo contains an additional FPU processing unit and an increase in SIMD instruction lane length.

In SuperPI a large use SSE Integer functions are used.
In Core 2 Duo the processing length of these co-processors is 128 bit compared to 64 bit in equivalent AMD processors and Netburst architecture processors.
SSE instructions are 128 bit in length. Therefore until Core 2 Duo it took two cycles to process each simple instruction. Now with Core 2 Duo they can process a single operation for SIMD per cycle.

So looking at it logically Core 2 Duo E6300 should take out an AMD processor at 3.1GHz easily at FPU-SSE processing
immy and kontemptJC like this.


Chimp Challenge Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

The_Manual is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 27 Old 10-17-2006, 04:55 AM
 
NrGx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Namrac
Really? I figured you'd be in the low 20s... my 1M time at 3.1 is in my sig.
Good point. But then again, that is some AWESOME ocing you have going on. When my DDR2-900 gets here (sig), i should be able to push fiurther. I just like the 1:1 ratio

Ryzen 5 1600 (3.6 Ghz, 1.2v) | Asus B350-F ROG STRIX | Team Dark 16 GB DDR4-3000 (2933 Mhz, CL16, 1.35v) | GTX1060 3GB
NrGx is offline  
post #13 of 27 Old 10-17-2006, 04:56 AM
Back From The Dead
 
Namrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 10,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 701
Dang it, Manual, I wanted to rep you for those last two information-packed posts, and then I remembered... you at least need a rep button, even if it doesn't do anything.

20110813 - RIP

Take me out into the black, tell them I ain't coming back.
Burn the land and boil the sea, you can't take the sky from me.
Namrac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 27 Old 10-17-2006, 05:07 AM
Moderator
 
gonX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Odense, Denmark
Posts: 28,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Namrac
Dang it, Manual, I wanted to rep you for those last two information-packed posts, and then I remembered... you at least need a rep button, even if it doesn't do anything.
I'd be nice to ya
Rep first post
Rep second post

Chimp Challenge Participant 

gonX is offline  
post #15 of 27 Old 10-17-2006, 05:07 AM
Administrator
 
The_Manual's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chester, United Kingdom
Posts: 6,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 809
lol they don't let Director's get anymore rep

@ pauldovi.
Mini corrections, apart from that nice info

Quote:
Core 2 Duo has a 17 stage pipeline. This is much shorter than Pentium's (41?) and larger than Core Duo's. This allows for more efficiency than Pentium and higher clocks than Core Duo.
Core 2 Duo has a 14 stage pipeline
Pentium 4 Northwood = 20
Pentium 4 Presler/Prescott/Prescott 2M = 31

The efficiency of this processor due to pipeline stages is in relation to the onboard branch predictor.
You can have a very short pipeline architecture, however, if the branch predictor is poor the processor will perform like a 40 stage pipeline processor

Quote:
Care to provide proof of this statement....
There is no proof, the answer is wrong. Simple
You can never quote a value for operations as they will always change. It depends exactly what you are doing with the processor.
The 6 > 9 > 12 does show the equivalent increase in operations however there are no numbers that could be used.
This all depends on the instructions i.e. you could have three complex instructions for Core to process. AMD will do this faster so the operations count of an AMD processor will be greater than Core 2 Duo. Thankfully this is very rare though


Chimp Challenge Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

The_Manual is offline  
post #16 of 27 Old 10-17-2006, 07:17 AM
OVERCLOCK IT OR DIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Namrac
Dang it, Manual, I wanted to rep you for those last two information-packed posts, and then I remembered... you at least need a rep button, even if it doesn't do anything.
The_Manual's Rep Button

I use AMD, Intel, ATI, Nvidia, Mac OS, Windows, Debian, and Unix. There is no right or wrong way to love computers.

Chimp Challenge Participant 

Modki is offline  
post #17 of 27 Old 10-17-2006, 07:20 AM
Console Gamer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
When is core 2 quad coming out? I want that..

(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Rabid Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(") signature to help him gain world domination.
cigar.gif Stay High! buttkick.gif

gunner2.gifgunner.gif

kontemptJC is offline  
post #18 of 27 Old 10-17-2006, 07:25 AM
Moderator
 
gonX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Odense, Denmark
Posts: 28,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1156
gonX is offline  
post #19 of 27 Old 10-17-2006, 07:38 AM
OVERCLOCK IT OR DIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonX
Umm... I already did it.
I'm still waking up

I use AMD, Intel, ATI, Nvidia, Mac OS, Windows, Debian, and Unix. There is no right or wrong way to love computers.

Chimp Challenge Participant 

Modki is offline  
post #20 of 27 Old 10-17-2006, 05:48 PM - Thread Starter
Long live the ROBOT ARMy!
 
bentrinh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 432
So it's like this:

Older intel: 6 Operations per Cycle
AMD: 9 Operations per Cycle
Core 2: 12 Operations per Cycle

Correct?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheInformationator 
We're talking about bentrinh here. He is frozen in an infinitely bored state.
bentrinh is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off