[Official] Ivy Bridge Owners Thread - Page 298 - Overclock.net

View Poll Results: Which Ivy Bridge CPU did you buy?
i5 3570k 692 50.55%
i7 3770k 586 42.80%
Other 91 6.65%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 1369. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2971 of 7362 Old 08-14-2012, 01:29 PM
Fan Man
 
Otterclock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swag View Post

Thanks.
Wow, this is just sad. I thought Ivy Bridge could handle higher RAM, guess not. I think I'm going to stay with my RAM then instead of upgrading and overclocking.

I don't believe that is what was stated.

Otterclock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2972 of 7362 Old 08-14-2012, 01:29 PM
PC Gamer
 
Aparition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,733
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 247
And that is why the Samsung 8gig 1600 low profile DDR3 kit is EPIC.
Easily runs 1866 with less than 1.5v. biggrin.gif
Aparition is offline  
post #2973 of 7362 Old 08-14-2012, 01:34 PM - Thread Starter
Weeaboo
 
Swag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Calgary in the Land of Moose
Posts: 4,955
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolhandluke41 View Post

are you kidding me,did you even read what i posted ? lol
since Ivy supports 2400/2600/2666/2800 ...show me one set of RAM 2400 and up that is rated 1.5v LMAO

I kept re-reading it again and what I got from it was that I want to stay within Intel's standard. That's what I'm saying, I want 2400 RAM or something like that but I really don't want to go over Intel's standard on RAM.
Swag is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2974 of 7362 Old 08-14-2012, 01:45 PM
Handsome.
 
DaClownie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Taunton, MA
Posts: 5,636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Send a message via AIM to DaClownie Send a message via MSN to DaClownie Send a message via Yahoo to DaClownie Send a message via Skype™ to DaClownie
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swag View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolhandluke41 View Post

are you kidding me,did you even read what i posted ? lol
since Ivy supports 2400/2600/2666/2800 ...show me one set of RAM 2400 and up that is rated 1.5v LMAO

I kept re-reading it again and what I got from it was that I want to stay within Intel's standard. That's what I'm saying, I want 2400 RAM or something like that but I really don't want to go over Intel's standard on RAM.

G.SKILL in the same breath said that the same standard has been in place for a couple generations now, of not to exceed 1.5v, and to use DDR3-1600mhz kits... OH BY THE WAY we sell epic high speed kits that blow the doors off of intel's standard.

They also mentioned that intel doesn't allow overclocking,but their processors commonly run faster (4.6GHz). G. SKILL essentially said to man up and buy some high end RAM.

R.I.P. Syrillian - August 13, 2011
Amazing during your time here on earth, but your calling in heaven must be extraordinary.


About drbaltazar's translated posts:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Strat79 go_quote.gif

i like the!new GPU from AMD!this discovery( could mean !alot ! i like grapes!
DaClownie is offline  
post #2975 of 7362 Old 08-14-2012, 01:47 PM
Fan Man
 
Otterclock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swag View Post

I kept re-reading it again and what I got from it was that I want to stay within Intel's standard. That's what I'm saying, I want 2400 RAM or something like that but I really don't want to go over Intel's standard on RAM.

http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/gaming/gaming-computers/core-i5-processor-memory-datasheet.html

Otterclock is offline  
post #2976 of 7362 Old 08-14-2012, 02:15 PM
PC Gamer
 
AbdullahG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 1,613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Should I undervolt my RAM? It's running at 1333MHz (suppose to run at 1600MHz, but it isn't supported to run at it's advertised speed on my board), so is it possible for me to undervolt it from 165V to 1.5V?

Nevermind, it's already running at 1.5V.
AbdullahG is offline  
post #2977 of 7362 Old 08-14-2012, 02:15 PM
Ram molester
 
coolhandluke41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 6,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swag View Post

I kept re-reading it again and what I got from it was that I want to stay within Intel's standard. That's what I'm saying, I want 2400 RAM or something like that but I really don't want to go over Intel's standard on RAM.

1.65v is perfectly safe for 24/7 on all the new gen. CPU's (some guys run close to 2.0v for benching on air => you will fry your RAM before your damage your CPU )
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?280903-SuperPi32m-5Ghz-Ivy-All-Out-Challenge!&p=5125733&viewfull=1#post5125733

EDIT; here bro
http://click.intel.com/tuningplan/default.aspx

Ivy Bridge moment.. (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoGuru go_quote.gif

...that is pretty much how it would go for me. Freeze that motha #^$% and and say F)ck the review tongue.gif

coolhandluke41 is offline  
post #2978 of 7362 Old 08-14-2012, 02:19 PM
First Time Build
 
Khaled G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Send a message via Skype™ to Khaled G
Bumped to 41x multiplier, 1.2209v Core, Temps are 71~75 (Lower than stock). I'm about to try to raise to 42x, I haven't tested stability yet. Am I walking on the right path?

Pffffffft (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khaled G go_quote.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJEEGG2211 go_quote.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by umeng2002 go_quote.gif

All the Russian porn sites will be quivering with fear rolleyes.gif

Browsing Russian porn sites....

Woah... They do have those buttons.

How did you know that? biggrin.giftongue.gif

lachen.gif

Khaled G is offline  
post #2979 of 7362 Old 08-14-2012, 02:24 PM
PC Gamer
 
SirWooties's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: California, USA
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I'm upgrading to intel next month. I've heard theres some sort of heat problems with ivy? Some sort of crappy ihs issue where its glued on with crappy thermal paste? Should I just get a 2500k instead and wait for a revision of ivy down the line? Help a noob out please

SirWooties is offline  
post #2980 of 7362 Old 08-14-2012, 02:33 PM
PC Gamer
 
AbdullahG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 1,613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirWooties View Post

I'm upgrading to intel next month. I've heard theres some sort of heat problems with ivy? Some sort of crappy ihs issue where its glued on with crappy thermal paste? Should I just get a 2500k instead and wait for a revision of ivy down the line? Help a noob out please
Ivy Bridge will run quite hot if you don't have decent cooling (Ivy Bridge and stock cooler do not mix) and if you will overclock considerably high. Each chip is different, and will require different voltage to run at a different speeds, so it's a gamble. My CPU barely passes 60C under load with an ambient of 22C @ 4.2GHz with 1.192V. Doesn't seem too hot. I say go with the i5 3570K.
AbdullahG is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off