First time building system and OC'ing. Questions for you. - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 11-20-2006, 01:37 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
stanglx302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: S.E. Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 130
This is my first time building my own system and first time OC'ing and I want to make sure I have this correct. So far I was able to adjust my FSB from 200 MHz to 225MHz (CPU went from 3000MHz to 3375MHz). I have run the mem test program with every little increase I make and I have no errors, even if I let it run all night.

So basically, can I just keep bumping the FSB a little at a time as long as I watch the temps under load and I pass mem test?

What would be a realistic goal to get out of this P4 3.0MHz Prescott cpu? (without going to any kind of special cooling)
ThaLoveDocta likes this.

stanglx302 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 11-20-2006, 01:47 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Send a message via MSN to ThaLoveDocta Send a message via Skype™ to ThaLoveDocta
ok just to clarify for you, memtest is testing your memory not your CPU, so you'll wanna run a program like Prime 95 to stress your CPU.
Have you been bumping your memory at the same time? or is it set to auto?
keep an eye on that as well...
also remember to lock your PCI and PCI-e to 33 and 100 MHz respectively.
finally if your OC fails and you are still with reasonable temerature ranges (under full prime 95 load) then up your Vcore a notch. then try again.
Your MoBo will be the real OC bottleneck here
Depending on your cooling setup and chip type, you could potentially hit 4 GHz or more with that chip! probly 3.7 ish with that MoBo YAYY!
Feel free to ask more questions!

Edit: just outta curiosity, how are you using DDR2 with that setup? that seems a little confusing to me.

ThaLoveDocta is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 11-20-2006, 01:51 AM
Over the Pond...
 
MjrTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 3,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Send a message via MSN to MjrTom
Download CPU-Z

On the first tab (CPU) you will find a stepping code. If you could tell us what that is as this dictates the overclocking performance
ThaLoveDocta likes this.

post-flame-small.gifP4: 3600MHz - P4 2.4c Gallatin Core - ABIT IC7 - 1GB BH-5 - 2.5-3-2-6 2.8vpost-flame-small.gif
post-flame-small.gifAMD64: 3105MHz Opty 165 CCBBE - DFI SLI-D - Mushkin Redline @DDR518 3-3-2-8 SuperPi 1M= 27.540 secs post-flame-small.gif
post-flame-small.gif2nd Rig:AOpen EZ462 SFF - AMD 3700+ - 6800GT 256MB - 2x512MB (BH-5) - 120MB SATA DM9+ - NEC SATA DVD/RWpost-flame-small.gif
post-flame-small.gif3rd Rig:Toshiba Satelite L30 - Intel Celeron-M 440 (1.86GHz 1MB L2) - Super Talent 2GB PC2 4200 (5-5-5-15) - Toshiba 60GB 5400rpm SATA II (PMR Drive) - ATI X200M - Vista Home Basicpost-flame-small.gif
1.536 TB of HDD Storage and climbing....
MjrTom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 11-20-2006, 01:54 AM
Retired
 
tubnotub1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Send a message via MSN to tubnotub1
The stepping information that CPU-Z will give you is rarely ever helpful, though you can find the revision number from CPU-Z. If you want to find out what your stepping is you will need too take off the HSF and look at the IHS, that is the only way to my knowledge to find out your stepping.

Originally Posted by Fishie36:
"Wow there's a lot of pwnage going on. But I still don't know how to do it."
Originally Posted by TransfuSe:
"I had a wet dream about his rig once. I woke up and I was stuck to my bed."
Originally Posted by Fatal05:
"In 'collage', people tend to use their BIOS."
tubnotub1 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 11-20-2006, 01:55 AM
Over the Pond...
 
MjrTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 3,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Send a message via MSN to MjrTom
Well revision code, my apologies Getting my terminology mixed up between Intel and AMD

post-flame-small.gifP4: 3600MHz - P4 2.4c Gallatin Core - ABIT IC7 - 1GB BH-5 - 2.5-3-2-6 2.8vpost-flame-small.gif
post-flame-small.gifAMD64: 3105MHz Opty 165 CCBBE - DFI SLI-D - Mushkin Redline @DDR518 3-3-2-8 SuperPi 1M= 27.540 secs post-flame-small.gif
post-flame-small.gif2nd Rig:AOpen EZ462 SFF - AMD 3700+ - 6800GT 256MB - 2x512MB (BH-5) - 120MB SATA DM9+ - NEC SATA DVD/RWpost-flame-small.gif
post-flame-small.gif3rd Rig:Toshiba Satelite L30 - Intel Celeron-M 440 (1.86GHz 1MB L2) - Super Talent 2GB PC2 4200 (5-5-5-15) - Toshiba 60GB 5400rpm SATA II (PMR Drive) - ATI X200M - Vista Home Basicpost-flame-small.gif
1.536 TB of HDD Storage and climbing....
MjrTom is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 11-20-2006, 01:57 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
stanglx302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: S.E. Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Stepping 9. Revision G1.

I have 2, 1 GB sticks of PC2-4200 ram Installed. My mobo has slots for standard DDR and 240 pin DDR2.

stanglx302 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 11-20-2006, 02:01 AM
Over the Pond...
 
MjrTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 3,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Send a message via MSN to MjrTom
The later steppings perform very well so you should be ok on that front.

What control over voltage do you have? I would just increase the FSB say 10mhz at a time with Prime95 testing after each increase. I recon you should be able to get 3.8GHz out of that chip if your other hardware is upto it

post-flame-small.gifP4: 3600MHz - P4 2.4c Gallatin Core - ABIT IC7 - 1GB BH-5 - 2.5-3-2-6 2.8vpost-flame-small.gif
post-flame-small.gifAMD64: 3105MHz Opty 165 CCBBE - DFI SLI-D - Mushkin Redline @DDR518 3-3-2-8 SuperPi 1M= 27.540 secs post-flame-small.gif
post-flame-small.gif2nd Rig:AOpen EZ462 SFF - AMD 3700+ - 6800GT 256MB - 2x512MB (BH-5) - 120MB SATA DM9+ - NEC SATA DVD/RWpost-flame-small.gif
post-flame-small.gif3rd Rig:Toshiba Satelite L30 - Intel Celeron-M 440 (1.86GHz 1MB L2) - Super Talent 2GB PC2 4200 (5-5-5-15) - Toshiba 60GB 5400rpm SATA II (PMR Drive) - ATI X200M - Vista Home Basicpost-flame-small.gif
1.536 TB of HDD Storage and climbing....
MjrTom is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 11-20-2006, 02:19 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
stanglx302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: S.E. Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 130
MjrTom,
I tried to download Prime 95 from the link you gave me in the other thread and I keep getting an error message. I tried to download the .zip file and the .exe.

My voltage controls are very limited. I think I can only bump up .3 max.

Also, I just did a little more reading on here and discovered something else. In my bios, there is absolutely no way to lock the PCI and AGP MHz. I looked everywhere. I guess I'm stuck at whatever max those can take. Can someone explain this to me a little bit or direct me with a link.

I guess this wasn't a very good choice of a mobo for OC'ing. I bought it 3 weeks ago without reading up on the whole subject first. Oh well, it's my first ever home built system and I guess that's how you learn.

stanglx302 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 11-20-2006, 02:28 AM
Over the Pond...
 
MjrTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 3,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Send a message via MSN to MjrTom
The FSB and the Northbridge are directly linked. The northbrige controls the AGP and PCI bus so if you increase the FSB without locking these down these will also increase by the same factor.

Typically the operating frequencies of these bus run at 66MHz (AGP) and 33MHz for the PCI bus.

Typically 10% error from these figures is acceptable but any more than this and you will run the risk of damaging your hardware.

This equates to about 3.3GHz on your core

post-flame-small.gifP4: 3600MHz - P4 2.4c Gallatin Core - ABIT IC7 - 1GB BH-5 - 2.5-3-2-6 2.8vpost-flame-small.gif
post-flame-small.gifAMD64: 3105MHz Opty 165 CCBBE - DFI SLI-D - Mushkin Redline @DDR518 3-3-2-8 SuperPi 1M= 27.540 secs post-flame-small.gif
post-flame-small.gif2nd Rig:AOpen EZ462 SFF - AMD 3700+ - 6800GT 256MB - 2x512MB (BH-5) - 120MB SATA DM9+ - NEC SATA DVD/RWpost-flame-small.gif
post-flame-small.gif3rd Rig:Toshiba Satelite L30 - Intel Celeron-M 440 (1.86GHz 1MB L2) - Super Talent 2GB PC2 4200 (5-5-5-15) - Toshiba 60GB 5400rpm SATA II (PMR Drive) - ATI X200M - Vista Home Basicpost-flame-small.gif
1.536 TB of HDD Storage and climbing....
MjrTom is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 11-20-2006, 02:42 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
stanglx302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: S.E. Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Thanks again, you have been VERY helpful. I guess I'll just back 'er down to 3300 and be happy with that (for now LOL).

stanglx302 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off