My i7 3930k just died :( (*UPDATE*: IT'S ALIVE!) - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 59 Old 04-13-2013, 11:51 AM
1.7ghz
 
Rucka315's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I bet the owner of that cpu overclocked the hell out of it with crazy volts and then sold it because he saw it was starting to degrade. That's my guess personally i would never buy a used CPU i would rather pay full price for a brand new one. Its just a crappy situation to be in and i feel sorry for you.
Rucka315 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 59 Old 04-13-2013, 11:55 AM
BOOM goes the dynamite :D
 
driftingforlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Gloucester, UK
Posts: 4,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Thats sucks frown.gif

Car: 2007 Fiesta ST - Many many mods, to have ITB's at some point.
driftingforlife is offline  
post #13 of 59 Old 04-13-2013, 11:56 AM
 
giadone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
so the problem start when you have plug the new videocard. i suppose your psu is blow up .Have you try a different one?
giadone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 59 Old 04-13-2013, 11:56 AM
I forgot...
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Nard
Posts: 8,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 436
Is the red memory LED lit on the board when you try to start it up?

EDIT: I see it in the OP. Thats can be a good sign of a dead Asus board, I have a P8P67 Pro in the closet that does the same crap, CBA to send it in though it will probably come back more damaged than it left.

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalrulz go_quote.gif

Quick question though, how is having steel armor in skyrim like having an ipad in world war 2? If the U.S stormed normandy with ipads i'm pretty sure we would all be speaking german about now.

7 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Scorpion49 is offline  
post #15 of 59 Old 04-13-2013, 02:12 PM
1.7ghz
 
Rucka315's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Are you kidding me you actually think its the psu or motherboard?? This is def a CPU issue the infinite loop is 9/10 a CPU issue. I've had 3 or 4 CPUs die on me and every time it does the infinite loop.
Rucka315 is offline  
post #16 of 59 Old 04-13-2013, 02:18 PM
 
 
MrTOOSHORT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location:  Edmonton
Posts: 12,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1495
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rucka315 View Post

Are you kidding me you actually think its the psu or motherboard?? This is def a CPU issue the infinite loop is 9/10 a CPU issue. I've had 3 or 4 CPUs die on me and every time it does the infinite loop.

You need to take better care of your cpus then.

3dmark11   GTX480 GTX570 7970GTX680GTX690TITANGTX780TITITAN XGTX1080TITAN X (P)
MrTOOSHORT is online now  
post #17 of 59 Old 04-13-2013, 02:41 PM
 
xarot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 45
My 3960X is missing a capacitor from the bottom of the CPU, and my failing pump in my Swiftech H220 has heated it up to shutdown temperature a few times, and it is still alive. It would sound a bit strange if yours died suddendly with such low volts.

At this point, it's hard to make conclusions, without another motherboard, CPU or RAM. Can you take it to a local PC shop to test with? thumb.gif

i9-7980XE / Asus Rampage VI Extreme / Corsair Dominator Platinum 64 GB 3200 MHz CL16-18-18/ Asus Strix 1080TI SLI / Intel 750 NVME / Samsung 1TB / Corsair AX1500i / Phanteks Enthoo Primo / Asus PG279Q
xarot is offline  
post #18 of 59 Old 04-13-2013, 02:47 PM - Thread Starter
Battlefield 1 Ready
 
kcuestag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 16,530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Well I tested everything out of the case on top of the motherboard BIOS and still won't work.

If the motherboard worked correctly, and it had no CPU attached, it should still "boot" and spin the fans right? Because it doesn't, so I believe it may be board after all....

PS: I bent a pin accidentally when testing, but I think I "un-bent" it back properly.

The "NoMoreUpgradesUntilXmasPC" Build Log


GPU's: HD5850 > HD5970 > 2x HD6970 > 2x GTX580 > 3x GTX580 >
> 2x GTX680 > 2x HD7970 > R9 290X > 2x R9 290 > GTX970 > 2x R9 290X >
> GTX980Ti > 2x GTX980Ti > 2x GTX1080 > 2x GTX 1080 Ti






Overclock.net - 2010 Foldathon Participant  Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant  Foldathon Folder - 2012 Participant  Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  10 Million+ Folding at Home points 

kcuestag is offline  
post #19 of 59 Old 04-13-2013, 05:28 PM
Amiga 500
 
Wam7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Sorry to hear that. Out of interest what voltages were you using for 4.7Ghz and did the previous owner tell you what Vcore he was using?

Wam7 is offline  
post #20 of 59 Old 04-13-2013, 05:30 PM - Thread Starter
Battlefield 1 Ready
 
kcuestag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 16,530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wam7 View Post

Sorry to hear that. Out of interest what voltages were you using for 4.7Ghz and did the previous owner tell you what Vcore he was using?

I was using 1.38v for 4.7GHz previous owner was using 1.22-1.24 for 4.4GHz.

I'm still not sure if it's the CPU or the board, so I will let a friend test my CPU on his board and see if it works.

The "NoMoreUpgradesUntilXmasPC" Build Log


GPU's: HD5850 > HD5970 > 2x HD6970 > 2x GTX580 > 3x GTX580 >
> 2x GTX680 > 2x HD7970 > R9 290X > 2x R9 290 > GTX970 > 2x R9 290X >
> GTX980Ti > 2x GTX980Ti > 2x GTX1080 > 2x GTX 1080 Ti






Overclock.net - 2010 Foldathon Participant  Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant  Foldathon Folder - 2012 Participant  Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  10 Million+ Folding at Home points 

kcuestag is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off