CPU trouble going from stock to H80i - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 13 Old 08-04-2013, 01:00 AM - Thread Starter
 
Storic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by TLM-610 View Post

I thought this was a third gen chip until I looked at your setup in the signature. Have you tried other stress testing apps like LinX or prime to verify that the problem you are experiencing isn't software related?

No, have only tried AIDA64, since that was the one recommended in this guide http://youtu.be/1DqIG_89Mcs?t=26m55s
They said that we should really not use Prime with haswell..
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuckyStarV View Post

Seems weird that your OC is unstable if the only change you made was to get a better cooler and temps are even lower than before. I would recheck the cold plate contact as well as making sure you don't apply too much pressure on the cpu when you're screwing in the cooler.

Could the pressure cause this effect? May be that I put on to much pressure. Will try to release some of the pressure.
But is away on a trip now, so not able to check it out before tuesday at the earliest.

-=Storic=-
Storic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 13 Old 08-05-2013, 02:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
abhijitkalyane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How do you check the CPU temperature? The Corsair Link utility used to configure the H80i by default shows the Coolant (liquid) temperature. If you are checking this then there is a possibility that the cooler is not properly mounted on the CPU. You can verify this by checking the actual CPU temperature (available within Corsair Link as a separate configurable monitoring parameter or another utility like Speccy or RealTemp). If you see a large difference in temperatures of the coolant and the CPU then it means that you may either need to tighten the cooler block or remove the cooling block and remount with new thermal grease.

I'm not sure if you are aware of this (I was not, when I first used my H80i), but by default Corsair Link uses the coolant temperature to vary its radiator fan speed. You can change that to make it so that the radiator fan speed varies based on the CPU temperature, which I think makes more sense.

Hope this helps and all the best!
abhijitkalyane is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 08-06-2013, 02:18 AM - Thread Starter
 
Storic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by t0tum View Post

Don't run 4.0 at such high vcore. Some chips/boards cant handle overvolting well and need some tweaking to get stable oc.
Try to run 4.0 at 1.1 vcore. If it stable, raise to 4.1 without changing vcore unless you start getting 101 bsod's.

I tuned down the voltage to 1,175V @ 4.0GHz, and now AIDA64 has been running for 50min and still going strong. So maybe there is something to what you said! smile.gif
That is 40 minutes more than on the higher voltage.

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhijitkalyane View Post

How do you check the CPU temperature? The Corsair Link utility used to configure the H80i by default shows the Coolant (liquid) temperature. If you are checking this then there is a possibility that the cooler is not properly mounted on the CPU. You can verify this by checking the actual CPU temperature (available within Corsair Link as a separate configurable monitoring parameter or another utility like Speccy or RealTemp). If you see a large difference in temperatures of the coolant and the CPU then it means that you may either need to tighten the cooler block or remove the cooling block and remount with new thermal grease.

I'm not sure if you are aware of this (I was not, when I first used my H80i), but by default Corsair Link uses the coolant temperature to vary its radiator fan speed. You can change that to make it so that the radiator fan speed varies based on the CPU temperature, which I think makes more sense.

Hope this helps and all the best!

Have noticed that the Corsair Link is running the fans according to the coolant temperature. Have not figured out how to change that yet.
And off course I'm using RealTemp and CoreTemp to monitor the temperatures. wink.gif

-=Storic=-
Storic is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off