Question: OC a P4HT Prescott (775) on a MSI MS-7036 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 12-24-2006, 02:51 AM - Thread Starter
ESX
Commodore 64
 
ESX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Im suspecting that I cant overclock at all, because I havent found any options for OCing in the BIOS.
So the question is, How do I overclock my system? (If possible of course)
ESX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 12-25-2006, 01:40 AM - Thread Starter
ESX
Commodore 64
 
ESX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Well, got the answer from MSI today, and thats what they said:
Quote:
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for contacting MSI Technical Support.

Please make sure your components are able to tolerate such abnormal setting, while doing overclocking. Any attempt to operate beyond product specifications is not recommended. We do not guarantee the damages or risks caused by inadequate operation or beyond product specifications.

End users can overclock the processor (only if the processor supports so) by specifying the CPU ratio (clock multiplier) in this field. It is available only when Set CPU
Ratio (bios setup->Frequency/Voltage Control) is set to [Manual]. Setting options: Min: [8], Max:[50].

Best regards,
MSI Technical Support Team
Thats an option I do not have, so maybe its the CPU and not the motherboard.
ESX is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 12-25-2006, 01:49 AM
Rest in Paradise Syr
 
FearSC549's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 5,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Some mobo don't called it the "OC settings..". They call it the change FSB frequency(something like that), I believe it is around 140MHz(for your CPU)....Make that thing higher, few MHz at a time....that's called overclocking.
FearSC549 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 12-25-2006, 03:49 AM - Thread Starter
ESX
Commodore 64
 
ESX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
The FSB is 200, with the multiplier as 15.
And the BIOS doesnt even have that setting.
ESX is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 12-25-2006, 04:25 AM
333mhz
 
DOM_ATI_X800XL_PCI-E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
whats your chip on the board

DOM_ATI_X800XL_PCI-E is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 12-25-2006, 04:26 AM
born to folk
 
Niko-Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Norwich (UK)
Posts: 5,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Can you raise the FSB? If so, that is overclocking

By the power of truth, I, while living, have conquered the universe.
Niko-Time is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 12-25-2006, 05:47 AM - Thread Starter
ESX
Commodore 64
 
ESX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I cant raise the FSB through BIOS.
And the chipset is i915P/i915G, the southbridge is 82801FB (ICH6).
ESX is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 12-25-2006, 05:52 AM
733mhz
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Puyallup, Whashington
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
is there a auto/manual setting in your bios for clock frequency. Did you buy your CPU in a retail box, or was it in oem packaging(brown box)?

STINGER WATER BLOCKS

OVERcaseCLOCKERmodderGAMERbuilderGENIOUSmaniac:got proof:

Quote:
Originally Posted by RonindeBeatrice go_quote.gif
"I'm about as expert as a palsy victim performing brain surgery with a pipewrench."
SHP_HAWK is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 12-25-2006, 05:57 AM - Thread Starter
ESX
Commodore 64
 
ESX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHP_HAWK View Post
is there a auto/manual setting in your bios for clock frequency. Did you buy your CPU in a retail box, or was it in oem packaging(brown box)?
If I knew, I'd tell you. I got my PC for my birthday, so it was preassembled.
Heres a CPUZ Validator link if you need it: http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=149833
ESX is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 12-25-2006, 07:50 AM
733mhz
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Puyallup, Whashington
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
I can't tell from the cpu-z info, but if it is an OEM chip the FSB could be locked. Meaning that it can't be overclocked. Retail chips have the FSB unlocked. In order to determine this you'll have to get the Sspec # off of the chip. It is usally 5 characters. Go to this link, and put in the Sspec #, and it will tell you. http://processorfinder.intel.com/default.aspx

STINGER WATER BLOCKS

OVERcaseCLOCKERmodderGAMERbuilderGENIOUSmaniac:got proof:

Quote:
Originally Posted by RonindeBeatrice go_quote.gif
"I'm about as expert as a palsy victim performing brain surgery with a pipewrench."
SHP_HAWK is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off