The Intel Devil's Canyon Owners Club - Page 2061 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #20601 of 22605 Old 06-01-2016, 06:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mouacyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0tsl33p14 View Post

Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
How is the ram OC going? I just started playing around and sure haven't my legs yet.

gskill sniper 1866mhz 9-10-9-28 T1 @ 1.53
seems to be my stable default

2000mhz 9-10-9-28 T1 @ 1.68
can boot Windows but gets squirrelly in Edge and during resets

How high ram voltage can the 4690k/4790k handle, is that a known value?

src: http://overclocking.guide/ddr3-ram-myths-enlightened/
There are members on here who run up to 1.8v for 24/7. I have to assume they are using water cooling or fans. I am running 1.725v, with fans for 6 months+ now. JEDEC standard requires chips to operate at up to 1.975v.

GPU: GF2GTS 9700Pro 6600GT 8800GT GTX460 GTX570 GTX660(SLI) GTX980Ti 750Ti 1080Ti
CPU: 486DX2 P133 CyrixMII200 PII266 PIII550 XP2200+ XP3200+ Q6600 2100T 3770 4770K X5470 4790K 5775C 1660V2
RAM: 16GHYK0 32GBXVLP 32GTridentX
D3: g3ntooman#1708
post-flame-small.gifI have a 771 CPU in my 775 Motherboard! post-flame-small.gif
mouacyk is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20602 of 22605 Old 06-01-2016, 11:05 PM
 
MIXEDGREENS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0tsl33p14 View Post

How is the ram OC going? I just started playing around and sure haven't my legs yet.

gskill sniper 1866mhz 9-10-9-28 T1 @ 1.53
seems to be my stable default

2000mhz 9-10-9-28 T1 @ 1.68
can boot Windows but gets squirrelly in Edge and during resets

How high ram voltage can the 4690k/4790k handle, is that a known value?

It's brutal. I've discovered a couple tricks to narrow things down a little bit, but they're just enough to avoid completely losing my mind.

Moving vSA up in lockstep with vRing keeps the memory copy errors at bay. Doing all voltages in increments of 8mv. I might be crazy but it seems like the cpu likes ring and sa offsets to be evenly divisible into the vcore offset.

Keep finding islands of bootability with these rules with longer bouts of stability. If I manage to stabilize this it's going to be at or right around my cpu's depressing typical 1.35v for 46x.
g0tsl33p14 likes this.
MIXEDGREENS is offline  
post #20603 of 22605 Old 06-02-2016, 06:39 AM
 
g0tsl33p14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by MIXEDGREENS View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by g0tsl33p14 View Post

How is the ram OC going? I just started playing around and sure haven't my legs yet.

gskill sniper 1866mhz 9-10-9-28 T1 @ 1.53
seems to be my stable default

2000mhz 9-10-9-28 T1 @ 1.68
can boot Windows but gets squirrelly in Edge and during resets

How high ram voltage can the 4690k/4790k handle, is that a known value?

It's brutal. I've discovered a couple tricks to narrow things down a little bit, but they're just enough to avoid completely losing my mind.

Hahaha, thank you, + rep.

Want to buy my 4690k that does 4.8ghz @1.32 plus hasn't been tried higher? Stock sticker shock price though, semper fi
g0tsl33p14 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20604 of 22605 Old 06-02-2016, 06:45 AM
 
fyzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0tsl33p14 View Post

Hahaha, thank you, + rep.

Want to buy my 4690k that does 4.8ghz @1.32 plus hasn't been tried higher? Stock sticker shock price though, semper fi
You have a 4690K that does 4.8 at 1.32v? Nice. My 4690k runs 4.8 at 1.33v stable and 4.9 around 1.4v.
fyzzz is offline  
post #20605 of 22605 Old 06-02-2016, 07:24 AM
 
bluej511's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: France/Armenia/US/Lebanon
Posts: 4,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by fyzzz View Post

You have a 4690K that does 4.8 at 1.32v? Nice. My 4690k runs 4.8 at 1.33v stable and 4.9 around 1.4v.

Mine does it at 1.3 4.8 but going to try 1.3 4.9 or 5.0 see if she can get it that high. My temps were still below 60°C.
bluej511 is offline  
post #20606 of 22605 Old 06-02-2016, 10:38 AM
 
g0tsl33p14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by fyzzz View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by g0tsl33p14 View Post

Hahaha, thank you, + rep.

Want to buy my 4690k that does 4.8ghz @1.32 plus hasn't been tried higher? Stock sticker shock price though, semper fi
You have a 4690K that does 4.8 at 1.32v? Nice. My 4690k runs 4.8 at 1.33v stable and 4.9 around 1.4v.

Well I am sort of cheating the numbers there. That is according to HWMonitor, and my BIOS settings.

I am set at x47 multiplier however HWMonitor shows breaking 4.823ghz under load, so the voltage likely has slight spikes I don't know how to read yet. Either way I am happy at my numbers. There is a screenshot of those numbers in my rig builder post from the rig running Source Engine stuff.
g0tsl33p14 is offline  
post #20607 of 22605 Old 06-02-2016, 02:00 PM
WaterCooler
 
mandrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Live Oak, FL
Posts: 5,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 170
After delidding my 4790K and going through several die pastes with what was evidently a bad batch of CL Ultra, I went back again and repasted the die with CL Pro and the temps are looking good, the required vcore is down as well for 4.8-4.9.

This cpu has always run 4.7 at a decently low vcore, but now it extends up to 4.9. For 4.9 I can set vcore 1.32/ Vccin 1.90/ Vring 1.10. Max vcore under load for 4.9 is 1.344v.
So I'm pretty happy with it now that the TIM is straightened out.

Here's a 5.0 validation while running x264: http://valid.x86.fr/bxgc3q

Guess I'll go ahead and try and sell the 4790K/UD5H/4x4GB 2400 RAM and get ready for Kaby Lake. thumb.gif

Maximus VIII Hero/6700K delidded w/CLP @ 4.8/Corsair LPX 4x4GB 2666 OC'd @ 3200/PCS 390X w/EK blockMain Rig specs (Click to show)
White Case Labs SM8 w/dual pedestals-Custom top extension
Rigid acrylic tubing/Dual D5's-MCP35x2
3x480mm-1x240mm Radiators
All psu wiring & sleeving by myself
2xAquaero 5 Pro's w/c - 1xFC8 for light panel & various led's
PowerColor PCS 390X w/EK block
6700K/Maximus VIII Hero/Corsair 4x4GB RAM
Build Logs (Click to show)Validations (Click to show)
mandrix is offline  
post #20608 of 22605 Old 06-02-2016, 04:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by mandrix View Post

Guess I'll go ahead and try and sell the 4790K/UD5H/4x4GB 2400 RAM and get ready for Kaby Lake. thumb.gif
Zen baby wink.gif
JackCY is online now  
post #20609 of 22605 Old 06-02-2016, 05:58 PM
 
MIXEDGREENS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0tsl33p14 View Post

Hahaha, thank you, + rep.

Want to buy my 4690k that does 4.8ghz @1.32 plus hasn't been tried higher? Stock sticker shock price though, semper fi

Lawd no. If I get completely sick of this chip, I'll just pump a couple volts into the cache and swap for another with Intel. The upside to having a literal bottom bin chip is I can't get a worse replacement.
MIXEDGREENS is offline  
post #20610 of 22605 Old 06-03-2016, 08:27 AM
WaterCooler
 
mandrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Live Oak, FL
Posts: 5,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackCY View Post

Zen baby wink.gif
Blasphemy! lol.

Maximus VIII Hero/6700K delidded w/CLP @ 4.8/Corsair LPX 4x4GB 2666 OC'd @ 3200/PCS 390X w/EK blockMain Rig specs (Click to show)
White Case Labs SM8 w/dual pedestals-Custom top extension
Rigid acrylic tubing/Dual D5's-MCP35x2
3x480mm-1x240mm Radiators
All psu wiring & sleeving by myself
2xAquaero 5 Pro's w/c - 1xFC8 for light panel & various led's
PowerColor PCS 390X w/EK block
6700K/Maximus VIII Hero/Corsair 4x4GB RAM
Build Logs (Click to show)Validations (Click to show)
mandrix is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off