== Haswell-E Overclock Leaderboard & Owners Club == - Page 2026 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #20251 of 22289 Old 08-29-2016, 12:23 AM
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by ht_addict View Post

Please do tell.  Currently have my 5960x running at 4.5Ghz@1.2125v, Cache at 4.4Ghz@1.2125v, Memory at 2400(12-13-13-35-1T)

I think that cache voltage is fine. From what I understand on Haswell-E cache under 1.25v is okay. CPU under 1.3V, cache under 1.25v. I run my cache at about the same voltage for 4.4 on my 5960x. smile.gif

KedarWolf -- i7 8700k@4.9GHZ CPU/4.7MHZ Cache - - CPU Adaptive 1.34v Additional Voltage - - VCCIO 1.2v --- SA 1.2375V ---- G.Skill Ripjaws 5 CL14 3200MHZ 17-17-17-39 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.46v
-- Maximus X Formula motherboard - - Gigabyte 1080 Ti Founders Edition XOC BIOS
- - 512GB 960 Pro M.2 System/Game Drive -- 2TB Western Digital Black storage drive. biggrin.gif
band.gif
KedarWolf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20252 of 22289 Old 08-29-2016, 12:25 AM
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by ht_addict View Post

Please do tell.  Currently have my 5960x running at 4.5Ghz@1.2125v, Cache at 4.4Ghz@1.2125v, Memory at 2400(12-13-13-35-1T)
Try the 2666MHZ divider. It's really strong on 100 strap. On 128GB of Corsair LPX with a bit of voltage and decent System Agent and CPU Input I get 12-12-12-27 1T. typer.gif

KedarWolf -- i7 8700k@4.9GHZ CPU/4.7MHZ Cache - - CPU Adaptive 1.34v Additional Voltage - - VCCIO 1.2v --- SA 1.2375V ---- G.Skill Ripjaws 5 CL14 3200MHZ 17-17-17-39 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.46v
-- Maximus X Formula motherboard - - Gigabyte 1080 Ti Founders Edition XOC BIOS
- - 512GB 960 Pro M.2 System/Game Drive -- 2TB Western Digital Black storage drive. biggrin.gif
band.gif
KedarWolf is offline  
post #20253 of 22289 Old 08-29-2016, 12:52 AM
Networking Nut
 
cookiesowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragingnomad View Post

From what I've read it sounds like you're running your cache a little high. It can cause your CPU to degrade over time. Supposedly it doesn't offer much gains either. I decided to leave my cache at 4.0 with 1.15v. Voltage over that will supposedly cause problems in the long run fwir. That's great you've got your core running at 4.5 with such a low voltage though. I'm still a little fuzzy on RAM ocing still, so would you mind explaining why you're running your RAM at 1T instead of 2T and such a low frequency? What kind of RAM is it?

1.25V is fine, JPM ran this for ages. 4.4 @ 1.25V is a fairly solid chip.

cookiesowns is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20254 of 22289 Old 08-29-2016, 01:31 AM
 
tux1989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by ht_addict View Post

Please do tell.  Currently have my 5960x running at 4.5Ghz@1.2125v, Cache at 4.4Ghz@1.2125v, Memory at 2400(12-13-13-35-1T)

Yes 4.4ghz and core voltage 1.175v Cache is at 4.4 ghz at 1.190v ram is 3200 mhz at 1.45v vccin at 1.93v vccsa 0.910v

tux1989 is offline  
post #20255 of 22289 Old 08-29-2016, 03:52 AM
 
damarad21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragingnomad View Post

Really? I gained 400MB/s RAM speeds by going from 3200 up to 3333. The RAM is great. I'm running 14-14-14-24-2T @ 3333. It seems like I'm not working it to full potential if I can run it at that speed with such tight timings. I'm still only operating at 1.38v I find it hard to believe that upping the frequency to 3733 or 3866 would offer diminishing returns. I have Quad channel RAM and I want to squeeze as much out of it as I can.

Have you noticed any improvement in real applications? I thought it was minimum beyond 2666...
damarad21 is offline  
post #20256 of 22289 Old 08-29-2016, 08:29 AM
 
gunshyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
looking for a little advice. Ive gotten my second hand 4770K to 4.4 with 1.292V stable. At the same Volts i can boot 4.5 into windows but fail x264 within the first loop or 2. My Uncore is currently at 35 with Auto voltage. I dont want to up my core voltage any further due to temps (DH14 air). Being rather new to overclocking what can i do to try and bring stability to 4.5 without raising core voltage.

Hell id even love to bring the volts down for 4.4 but x264 crashes with anything less than 1.292. seems rather high though. any insights or things to try would be greatly appreciated.

edit: i just realized this is Haswell E thread. my bad. Mods can move to the non E thread. Recommendations still welcome though.

gunshyb is offline  
post #20257 of 22289 Old 08-29-2016, 11:57 AM
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 22,977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1227
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookiesowns View Post

1.25V is fine, JPM ran this for ages. 4.4 @ 1.25V is a fairly solid chip.
and it wioll be put back to work as soon as caselabs delivers... been over 2 months already! mad.gif
Jpmboy is offline  
post #20258 of 22289 Old 08-29-2016, 12:19 PM
 
8051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunshyb View Post

looking for a little advice. Ive gotten my second hand 4770K to 4.4 with 1.292V stable. At the same Volts i can boot 4.5 into windows but fail x264 within the first loop or 2. My Uncore is currently at 35 with Auto voltage. I dont want to up my core voltage any further due to temps (DH14 air). Being rather new to overclocking what can i do to try and bring stability to 4.5 without raising core voltage.

Hell id even love to bring the volts down for 4.4 but x264 crashes with anything less than 1.292. seems rather high though. any insights or things to try would be greatly appreciated.

I wish i could get my 5820 to 4.4 GHz w/only 1.292V, I need nearly 1.34V to get to 4450 MHz.

Last edited by gizmo7; 07-03-2014 at 07:30 PM.
8051 is offline  
post #20259 of 22289 Old 08-29-2016, 12:24 PM
 
crimag3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello guys,
i'm new to the community and i need advice. I can buy at very reasonable price a 5960x (my long time dream) but it is an ES version. From what i know it does not have warranty or am wrong ? Can you please tell me the pros and cons of buying such processor.
Thanks in advance !
crimag3 is offline  
post #20260 of 22289 Old 08-29-2016, 12:34 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 2,643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by crimag3 View Post

Hello guys,
i'm new to the community and i need advice. I can buy at very reasonable price a 5960x (my long time dream) but it is an ES version. From what i know it does not have warranty or am wrong ? Can you please tell me the pros and cons of buying such processor.
Thanks in advance !

Hello

ES CPUs do not have a warranty as they are the property of Intel.
Praz is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off