need help overclocking my liquid cooled xeon w3565 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 06-14-2016, 09:28 PM - Thread Starter
 
kaitlin4599's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
ok so i have an HP Z400 desktop and im looking to overclock my xeon w3565 cpu its liquid cooled with a closed loop cpu cooler. obviously my bios has overclocking locked so what are my options and for those who ask its the same as an i7-960 and heres some links to overclocking results for my cpu

http://hwbot.org/hardware/processor/xeon_w3565/

HP Z400 workstation with a GTX 750Ti
kaitlin4599 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 06-14-2016, 09:45 PM
Overclocker
 
MasterFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Well if your BIOS has locked overclocking, you are out of luck? Since I would assume that means no changing the BCLK (and maybe the multiplier). So if that is not possible then I guess that is that.

You could see if there's similar motherboards from the same manufacturer that do have overclocking enabled and you could possibly flash your motherboards BIOS with a BIOS from one of these other motherboards. But I wouldn't hedge any bets on that working, not to mention if it doesn't, you end up with a borked BIOS and will have to replace it physically on the motherboard.

I'm old school... Because it was done right the first time.

MasterFire is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 06-14-2016, 10:06 PM - Thread Starter
 
kaitlin4599's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
are there any xeon or i7 boards that support my cpu and let me overclock

HP Z400 workstation with a GTX 750Ti
kaitlin4599 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 06-14-2016, 10:15 PM
WaterCooler
 
Glends's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Norway
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Most of the Top X58 boards support them.

Glends is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 06-14-2016, 10:18 PM - Thread Starter
 
kaitlin4599's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
so im guessing i would just google x58 motherboard then buy one that is in my price range

HP Z400 workstation with a GTX 750Ti
kaitlin4599 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 06-15-2016, 10:22 AM
Overclocker
 
MasterFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 84
It should yes, but if you want some certainty you could come back in here and ask.

I'm old school... Because it was done right the first time.

MasterFire is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off