Intel 3930k overclocking help needed! - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 08-28-2016, 04:06 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys.

I have been trying to simply have my 3930k over clock to 4GHz and it simply won't do it unless I raise the vcore to like 1.38 or something like that and i'm just heavily confused as to why because it used to be able to do 4GHz at a lower voltage and now it requires higher voltage? i'm kinda new to overclocking a bit. and sometimes I get a overclocking failed press f1 message when I reboot but not all the time. its like my cpu is very random. please help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 08-29-2016, 09:42 PM
Graphics Card Aficionado

Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnance24 View Post

Hey guys.

I have been trying to simply have my 3930k over clock to 4GHz and it simply won't do it unless I raise the vcore to like 1.38 or something like that and i'm just heavily confused as to why because it used to be able to do 4GHz at a lower voltage and now it requires higher voltage? i'm kinda new to overclocking a bit. and sometimes I get a overclocking failed press f1 message when I reboot but not all the time. its like my cpu is very random. please help!

What cooling are you using? Motherboard?

1.38v is not all that uncommon. If it did 4.0GHz at lower voltage than it could be that your CPU is degrading.

Overclocking failed is a common thing if you are holding the power button to shut the computer off. If you are shutting down through windows then you have something unstable.

post #3 of 8 Old 08-30-2016, 04:37 AM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagamus NM View Post

What cooling are you using? Motherboard?

1.38v is not all that uncommon. If it did 4.0GHz at lower voltage than it could be that your CPU is degrading.