Overclocking the CPU with software (asus striker) - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 07-22-2007, 11:51 PM - Thread Starter
Y3K
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ontario- M.O.N
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was wondering if and or what overclocking software is available for the Asus striker extreme or what supports it?

-Straight to the moon...

Y3K is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 07-23-2007, 01:30 AM
4.0ghz
 
Mad_Handlez89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK Scotland
Posts: 6,956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 768
Erm, you have the Asus Striker Extreme which is one of the BEST LGA 775 Intel boards avalible just now.

It has a BIO's that is superior to ANY other mobo in the market - If you use sotware to OC you become an idiot

When you start up the rig press "Del" to open the BIO's and use that to OC

Mad_Handlez89 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 07-23-2007, 01:37 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Santa Barbara
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Its better to just do it in BIOS. Software can screw stuff up.

chailvr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 07-23-2007, 02:28 AM
4.0ghz
 
da9pwnsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 76
LOL ocing w software
da9pwnsu is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 07-23-2007, 02:52 AM - Thread Starter
Y3K
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ontario- M.O.N
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hum, already did, but, I cant get past 2.8* GHZ on all cores without it going blue screen and reseting.
So i tried using the Nvidia settings within windows and still no luck, NOW after i did this Battlefield 2 and 2142 CTD (Crash To Desktop), for no reason, i will be playing for like 20 miniutes and BAM! CTD...now i have an other problem to deal with...

-Straight to the moon...

Y3K is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 07-23-2007, 02:52 AM
4.0ghz
 
Fr0sty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 95
if you mess up in the bios.. the bios just clear itself of the previous setting and you go back to stock... so take your time to oc in bios but it aint hard.... nad yeahh you do have some supreme hardware so learn to deal with it



Quote:
Originally Posted by scollins go_quote.gif
the thing about nda club, is that you don't talk about nda club.
Fr0sty is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 07-23-2007, 03:03 AM
Carcharodon Astra
 
t4ct1c47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Staffordshire, UK
Posts: 9,606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by Y3K View Post
Hum, already did, but, I cant get past 2.8* GHZ on all cores without it going blue screen and reseting.
So i tried using the Nvidia settings within windows and still no luck, NOW after i did this Battlefield 2 and 2142 CTD (Crash To Desktop), for no reason, i will be playing for like 20 miniutes and BAM! CTD...now i have an other problem to deal with...
That's why you stress test. To be honest, the P5N32-E SLi and Asus Striker Extreme don't overclock well with Quads, at least if you're trying to run high FSB. You'd be better off trying to get your FSB up to about 300, but use the unlocked multiplier on your CPU to raise clock speed instead.

Make sure to pay attention to your voltages. VTT voltage should be maxed out to 1.55v and you'll likely need to raise NorthBridge and SouthBridge voltages to 1.55v too. Pay close attention to your temperatures when raiseing chipset voltages aswell. You may want to read Robilar's P5N32-E SLi overclocking Guide stickie, in the Intel motherboard's section.

Don't consider software for overclocking your CPU.
Ellipsis and EAT like this.

1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

t4ct1c47 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 08-10-2007, 04:08 AM
EAT
733mhz
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Asus Striker Extreme don't overclock well with Quads, at least if you're trying to run high FSB. You'd be better off trying to get your FSB up to about 300, but use the unlocked multplier on your CPU to raise clock speed instead.
Any idea what speeds people have gotten up to on both fsb/procs on say a striker with q6700 2.66s?

EAT is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 08-10-2007, 04:17 AM
2.4ghz
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Y3K View Post
I was wondering if and or what overclocking software is available for the Asus striker extreme or what supports it?
Heres some overclocking "software" for you.

http://www.nvidia.com/docs/CP/45121/...erclocking.pdf

Hope this helps.

Ellipsis is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off