Help Pleaseee =/! Really New to OC'ing - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 15 Old 07-26-2007, 12:16 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
hi im really new to overclocking even though i read the overclocking guide. i have a lot of questions actually heh... before i ask questions have i a E6420 2.13ghz CPU with the p5k asus mobo. I am also running Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit System Builder Version if that helps

1. i see a lot of people talking about idle and load cpu temperature what does that mean? and how can i check mines

2. How can i check my Cpu speed, like if i overclocked it, how can i check what the current speed is(2.13 to 2.5)

3. What are the main programs i need to check and see if my overclocking is right. Like all the programs used for overclocking so i can check CPU speed, Temperature, Stability testing, programs like that.

4. i have CPUz and when i look at my corespeed its at 2.279mhz and it keeps switching between 2.279mhz and 2.280mhz lol i dont really know if thats bad but i dont know can anyone help. sometimes ive seen it go to 3.028 or something like that?

5. What is this 1:1 ratio i see people talking about? how can i change it 1:1 if i havent and how do i check if it is 1:1 lolol =/!

6. I read the guide and it says something about not going over your RAM?(DDR2800 or something) he does mean you actually ram not some ram inside your CPU and if so how can i check to see if my RAM is ddr2800 i lost the packaging to it or does he mean the motherboard RAM or w/e because on my mobo it says DDR2800. I Have the pk5 Series mobo from asus and it has this memory speed boost thingie =/!

7. What are some good Temperatures to keep my CPU at i heard that anything under 50c is good for the CPU and the vcore i should stay with 10% of the stock vcore?