PROBLEMS Reaching 4GHz with E8400 - Page 4 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 97 Old 02-28-2008, 02:09 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Shreveport, LA
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Is it my RAM that is making Orthos fail or is it the CPU?
Infinitepyro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 97 Old 02-28-2008, 02:46 PM
Game Programmer
 
lordikon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 12,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 829
Run a program called MemTest, if that test doesn't fail, then it isn't your RAM. Make sure your NB voltage is up a little as well. Mine is at 1.46. Don't go above 1.5v.


Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant  15 Million+ Folding at Home points 

lordikon is offline  
post #33 of 97 Old 02-28-2008, 02:52 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Shreveport, LA
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
ok now i am little confused on that NB voltage, is that MCP Voltage or SPP Voltage?
Infinitepyro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 97 Old 02-28-2008, 02:54 PM
Game Programmer
 
lordikon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 12,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 829
It should be MCP


Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant  15 Million+ Folding at Home points 

lordikon is offline  
post #35 of 97 Old 02-28-2008, 03:01 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Athens
Posts: 1,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Guys i was reading in forums in my country that people have problems getting stable o/c-ings with some n-Vidia boards. Could it be related to the board or is it a coincidence??

yannis7777 is offline  
post #36 of 97 Old 02-28-2008, 03:09 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Shreveport, LA
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Thanks lordkin you been quite the help i'm gonna got try this setup:

FSB-1600
MCP Volts- 1.32v
RAM- 800
RAM V- AUTO
Infinitepyro is offline  
post #37 of 97 Old 02-28-2008, 03:17 PM
WaterCooler
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 346
In addition to memtest, another easy way to rule out memory as well as FSB/NB timing problems is to drop the cpu multiplier to 7x and run orthos using the same FSB setting it failed on in one minute at 9x. If it runs fine with same FSB/mem setting but decreased multiplier, it is likely the cpu.

opt33 is offline  
post #38 of 97 Old 02-28-2008, 03:21 PM
Infraction Attraction
 
NCspecV81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 8,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by Infinitepyro View Post
ok now i am little confused on that NB voltage, is that MCP Voltage or SPP Voltage?

it's SPP.


here is what I would start out with as your settings and assuming the 780i has a large vdroop and drop like the 680i please set these as bios settings.

CPU Volt - 1.4125
SPP Volt - 1.55
MCP Volt - 1.5
SPP > MCP - 1.4v
DRAM Volt - 2.1

First try a somewhat lower FSB of 9 x 400

IF that passes go to 9 x 450 and see what happens. You may want to try 9 x 425 before that however.

Also I'm going off memory, but is there an MCH voltage? OR SB PLL voltage? you may want to increase that to atleast 1.55-6 if so.

I'm about positive that is the MCP voltage (SB PLL). so Ignore that last comment.

Another note - if you have a SB Core Voltage - don't go too far over 1.1v

Aswell you may want to consider running small fft's in orthos to stress test the cpu only. I'd say 30 minutes of small fft's is good enough to try the next higher step in fsb or lowering a tick in voltage.

NCspecV81 is offline  
post #39 of 97 Old 02-28-2008, 03:22 PM
733mhz
 
The_Black_Knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belvidere, IL
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Don't run your mem voltage on auto, if it's the Ocz SLI PC26400(800mhz) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227198 it should be at 2.1v, maybe why you are failing orthos

The_Black_Knight is offline  
post #40 of 97 Old 02-28-2008, 03:24 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Shreveport, LA
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Thanks Black Knight and NCspecV81 appreciate it!
Infinitepyro is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off