Question: Asus striker 680I and QX9770 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 03-23-2008, 09:32 AM - Thread Starter
Y3K
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ontario- M.O.N
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Send a message via MSN to Y3K
I was just wondering, i have a question. I have the Asus Striker extreme mobo. Now, if i did i BIOS update, from what i understand it supports the 45nm CPUS.

I have currently the QX6700 Step B3... and now, would it be worth while to upgrade to a QX9770? and does the motherboard i have even support it?

Does anyone have a reference or page i can look at regarding performance differences with the quad cores?

-Straight to the moon...

Y3K is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 03-23-2008, 09:53 AM
4.0ghz
 
Arjy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Send a message via AIM to Arjy
I thought 680is only had bios updates to support wolfdale 45nms, not yorkfeilds, thought I'm not entirely sure on that.
Arjy is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 03-23-2008, 09:54 AM - Thread Starter
Y3K
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ontario- M.O.N
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Send a message via MSN to Y3K
Bump?? anyone?

-Straight to the moon...

Y3K is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 Old 03-23-2008, 09:55 AM - Thread Starter
Y3K
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ontario- M.O.N
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Send a message via MSN to Y3K
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arjy View Post
I thought 680is only had bios updates to support wolfdale 45nms, not yorkfeilds, thought I'm not entirely sure on that.
Hum... see im not sure either..

-Straight to the moon...

Y3K is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 03-23-2008, 10:06 AM
PeaPoD Farmer
 
franz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 2,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 300
This is the ASUS CPU support list for your Striker. It doesn't show support for the QX9770 at this time. Not sure about the future.
franz is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 03-23-2008, 10:06 AM
Tablet Guru
 
Robilar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 20,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 674
The answer is no for now. The 680i boards are supposedly having bios revisions that will allow support at stock for 45nm quads but no overclocking. These bios have not be released yet.

Robilar is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 03-23-2008, 10:07 AM
Can't fly straight and level
 
Penicilyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: St John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 10,152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 978
I would say no it's not worth the upgrade. The only real upgrades you could do to that system, I don't know why you would, would to use better GPUs

Penicilyn is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 03-23-2008, 10:14 AM
4.0ghz
 
linskingdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In Office
Posts: 14,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3468
Asus striker doesn't support 45nm Quad. It has been taken off the list for few months already. It's not worth the upgrade. Your rig is great. Just save money for next big upgrade.
linskingdom is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 03-23-2008, 10:15 AM
Tablet Guru
 
Robilar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 20,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 674
The QX9650 works on the striker but at stock only.

Robilar is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 03-23-2008, 11:02 AM - Thread Starter
Y3K
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ontario- M.O.N
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Send a message via MSN to Y3K
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robilar View Post
The QX9650 works on the striker but at stock only.
Well, I know the bug with the Quad cores overlocking with the 680I isnt all that great anyways. But, its good to know that it supports it. Either way its good to know. also, does the 680I support Tri-SLI?

-Straight to the moon...

Y3K is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off