Overclocking Intel Quad 6700 - Page 3 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 35 Old 06-24-2008, 03:59 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England
Posts: 2,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by arcoldwell View Post
golden to attempt the OCing again you mean? wish it didnt make a reallly wierd 200 degree jump for like a milisecond it messes up the max reading... is that normal?
ive noticed HWMonitor do it ith my gpu once or twice but not my my cpu

Chimp Challenge Participant 

wiggy2k7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 35 Old 06-24-2008, 04:23 PM
Overclocker in Training
 
arcoldwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: MA, US
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ok so the temps seemed fine so for kicks I tried OCing one more time with some of your advice... this time I set the Vcore to 1.3 and underclocked the memory to 800 cuz it was running at a default of 966, or atleast the bios info said that. I brought it up to 3.2 and the temps seem to be running decent so far. I will run prime for a while and look at it more maybe when I get back from work tomorrow morning but atleast it booted successfully and seems to be running stable so far. I want to test this and hopefully push it to 3.4 or even better 3.6 like most peoples goals have been.

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=380107

Thanks for the help so far. The only other question I had was if it would be better to lower my multiplayer and raise my bus speed instead of just leaving it at 10x like I did and raising the bus speed. Is it better for the CPU or board or more efficient to use a diff ratio?

arcoldwell is offline  
post #23 of 35 Old 06-24-2008, 05:35 PM
 
Moheevi_chess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I'm currently running stress tests for my Q6700 at 3.5Ghz with 1.43 vcore. Heat is my biggest problem right now. It's running at 59*C on the large FFT test after 20 mins. My VID is 1.325, at I could run 3.2Ghz stable with 1.35 vcore. Huge jump from 3.2 to 3.5


1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Moheevi_chess is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 35 Old 06-24-2008, 09:02 PM
3.5ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Yes and the further you push most of the Q6700 the greater the amount of V to MHz gained. I run mine at 3.96 and it requires 1.7V to do that and be prime stable if I go to 4.1 GHz it requires 1.85V the Q6700 really do not seem to have any real limit to the it, it just takes balls and allot of V to get them there.

A Little Common Sense Goes A Long Way

Grandpa_01 is offline  
post #25 of 35 Old 06-25-2008, 06:26 AM
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UKSHIRE
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I can confirm this , my q6700 oem with a vid of 1.2625v
is stable at 10x360fsb with 1.3875v
I know have it stable at 10 x 365 at 1.4125v

I am now trying it at 370 x 10 at 1.4375v ( i have vcore load line calibration so volts only see a 0.005 vdroop)

temps are high at 61c at 18c ambient with water ....

I doubt you would get that high on air thou

killbot is offline  
post #26 of 35 Old 06-25-2008, 07:11 AM
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UKSHIRE
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
upto 1.45 now to get 370 x 10, I was hoping for a little better from this cpu

killbot is offline  
post #27 of 35 Old 06-25-2008, 07:38 AM
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UKSHIRE
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
this is weird it is just crashing 14 mins into occt I am now upto 1.4625v

it was stable at 365 x 10 with a vcore of 1.4125v this seems like I have hit the limit of my chip unless I have hit a hole....................

this sucks

at 1.4625 vcore on occt my temps are up to 66c at 20c ambient ,
on water for fecks sake ???????

is that high for this sort of vcore on a water rig??

I just don't get it ....people are qouting the same for aircooled
and hardley anybody quotes AMbient !!!!!!

this q6700 seems to run real hot

FFS >end of rant

killbot is offline  
post #28 of 35 Old 06-25-2008, 07:43 AM
2.4ghz
 
Rev1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 73
I also have a hard time reaching 3.6GHz stable on Prime or OCCT ... I've tried 1.4875V on my board, but that's way more Vcore than I would like, for now I'm on 3.40 (340x10)...

My vid is 1.3125V, what's yours?
Rev1 is offline  
post #29 of 35 Old 06-25-2008, 07:48 AM
Overclocker in Training
 
arcoldwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: MA, US
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Again my question is.... is it better or more stable if you lower the multiplier and raise the bus... or does the ratio not matter as long as the Vcore is raised correctly and the temp will be the same and stuff?

arcoldwell is offline  
post #30 of 35 Old 06-25-2008, 08:13 AM
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UKSHIRE
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
hey Rev .......sorry for the rant , was just going off on one

my vid is 1.2625v

as far as the multiplier goes some say you get more out of the whole system if you have a higher front side bus

ie you work the north bridge harder and the cpu less
ok if you have a good mobo and ram mix but the cpu still needs volts to work with those higher frequencies

killbot is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off