Running other apps while stress testing?? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 03-30-2008, 09:08 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Fred Factor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Hey Guys,

Am I able to run other programs while stress testing with Prime95???
ie. Internet Explorer, ripping cd's etc...

Fred Factor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 03-30-2008, 09:09 PM
 
mcogan10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chestnut Hill, MA
Posts: 4,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 221
no...everything runs ultra slow.

AI am 75% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?


3.6G on an AF7 biggrin.gifproof.gif

Windows 7Fan Club


mcogan10 is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 03-30-2008, 09:09 PM
I'm no longer an Asushole
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Here nor there
Posts: 25,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred Factor View Post
Hey Guys,

Am I able to run other programs while stress testing with Prime95???
ie. Internet Explorer, ripping cd's etc...
Sure, but beware you may lose valuable data if you have a crash.

Chimp Challenge Championship Team  Chimp Challenge Participant  6 Million+ Folding at Home points 

grunion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 Old 03-30-2008, 09:11 PM
CarForum.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: /dev/sda
Posts: 7,526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcogan10 View Post
no...everything runs ultra slow.
Not for me...

O_o

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chat
catmmm: my rack would love to play with your rack...
lhowatt: does it fit well on your desk?
catmmm: lhowatt: yeah it fits
catmmm: lhowatt: I kinda have a big desk though
Retrospekt is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 03-30-2008, 09:13 PM
 
spice003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrospekt View Post
Not for me...

O_o
same here


FLAC > Mavrick Audio Tube Magic D1 > > DT990 250 ohm

 


5 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge Participant 

spice003 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 03-30-2008, 09:14 PM
 
mcogan10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chestnut Hill, MA
Posts: 4,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by spice003 View Post
same here
always does for me.

AI am 75% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?


3.6G on an AF7 biggrin.gifproof.gif

Windows 7Fan Club


mcogan10 is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 03-30-2008, 09:14 PM
4387 point(s) total
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 65,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4426
Stuff has always run for me fine (albeit slowly).... Athlon, Athlon X2, Core 2 Duo.

To answer most of your questions: (1) a fridge cannot cool a PC (2) 64-bit OS for over 3.4GB (3) If a PCIe card fits, it should work (4) Resolution, not screen size (5) Report, not respond to Spam (6) Single-Rail/Non-Modular PSUs are not always better than Multi-Rail/Modular (7) Sequential does not matter as much as random for OS drives (8) Requirements come before hardware for servers

DuckieHo is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 03-30-2008, 09:23 PM
 
mica3speedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
it depends on what priority you run the testing apps at. I run orthos at priority 9 and most things run fine, but opening folders in windows has a delay as well as starting apps. But once open, they run fine.


Chimp Challenge Participant  25 Million+ Folding at Home points  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant 

mica3speedy is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 03-30-2008, 09:25 PM
4387 point(s) total
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 65,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4426
Quote:
Originally Posted by mica3speedy View Post
it depends on what priority you run the testing apps at. I run orthos at priority 9 and most things run fine, but opening folders in windows has a delay as well as starting apps. But once open, they run fine.
Orthos sets its priority to low (at least in Vista).

To answer most of your questions: (1) a fridge cannot cool a PC (2) 64-bit OS for over 3.4GB (3) If a PCIe card fits, it should work (4) Resolution, not screen size (5) Report, not respond to Spam (6) Single-Rail/Non-Modular PSUs are not always better than Multi-Rail/Modular (7) Sequential does not matter as much as random for OS drives (8) Requirements come before hardware for servers

DuckieHo is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 03-30-2008, 09:26 PM
CarForum.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: /dev/sda
Posts: 7,526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuckieHo View Post
Orthos sets its priority to low (at least in Vista).
Maybe that's why mcoogan is having problems, he's living in the past. (xp)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chat
catmmm: my rack would love to play with your rack...
lhowatt: does it fit well on your desk?
catmmm: lhowatt: yeah it fits
catmmm: lhowatt: I kinda have a big desk though
Retrospekt is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off