What is the difference btween Pentium D and the Pentium Dual Core? - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 16 Old 04-07-2008, 05:14 AM
4.0ghz
 
LaoFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5CheeseLasagna View Post
Yep, it's a Conroe alright! Conroe=Core2 Duo.


Yes.
i second that.
LaoFX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 16 Old 04-07-2008, 05:16 AM
Forum Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England,UK
Posts: 61,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlin View Post
For gaming, do you think the e2180 will outdo the d930?
IMO yes. The Core architecture has some great benefits in gaming and general multimedia...I have not checked both items side by side but I am willing to best the Core 2 will have the same if not larger L2 cache...I best check lol.

Nope I am incorrect. Sorry

Welcome to Overclock
grouphug.gif Fold for the Cause, Fold for the People grouphug.gif
 
 
 

Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  100 Million+ Folding at Home points  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

ENTERPRISE is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 04-07-2008, 05:22 AM
4.0ghz
 
5CheeseLasagna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Just in case there's any question: Here's my CPU-Z Validation showing that the e2180 is indeed a Conroe.

And here are all the Conroe's at NewEgg.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...63&name=Conroe

Edit: it's funny to me how the e2180 goes by Allendale, but it's really a Conroe.
5CheeseLasagna is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 16 Old 04-07-2008, 05:35 AM
4.0ghz
 
linskingdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In Office
Posts: 14,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3468
E2xxx (1mb cache) and E4xxx (2mb cache) are Allendale. They have 800Mhz fsb. Conroe such as E6xxx has 1066 or 1333 fsb with 2 or 4mb cache.
linskingdom is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 04-07-2008, 06:09 AM
4.0ghz
 
5CheeseLasagna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 110
But CPU-Z says my e2180 is a Conroe.
5CheeseLasagna is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 04-07-2008, 06:35 AM
4.0ghz
 
linskingdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In Office
Posts: 14,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3468
Yes. All my E2180 and E2160 show as Conroe. Conroe (Not the Conroe-X/L) and Allendale are the same chip except the L2 cache, fsb and Allendale doesn't support Intel virtualization extension (E2xx0, E4x00 and E8190 doesn't support Intel virtualization extension)
linskingdom is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off