I have the E8400! Woo-hoo!! - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 19 Old 04-11-2008, 08:18 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
5CheeseLasagna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldog22 View Post
1.225v is default vcore I think

Try 3.65 (405x9) on stock voltage first, I don't know how your motherboard overclocks it.

I actually undervolted mine and overclocked it to 3.7GHz, see sig


Worry about the vcore more than the temps on this processor.
Well, I just looked at CoreTemp, and the VID is 1.1125. The box says "1.25 max". So, I guess I'd better pay attention to the box. Thanks for the advice about worrying about the vcore more than the temps. That will help a great deal.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrackClocker View Post
Lasagna how is the performance compared to the e2180, i might be upgrading to the e7200 when it comes out, but so far the e2180 is a beast for me and wasting more money might not be viable.
Oh, I don't know what the e7200 is. It looks like it's just a chipset, according to Intel.com. As for the performance: I had the e2180 at 2.95GHz. My e8400 is at stock (yep, 3.0GHz), but it already feels much faster. But of course, it depends on what you're using your system for. I'll tell you this much: I don't need a quad core, so I'm 100% satisfied with this chip so far, and I've only been using it for like 2 hours now. But it does feel like the system is having an easier time keeping up with me.
Quote:
Originally Posted by blued View Post
A 3-4 degree variation between cores is typical with 45nm processors, for many the variation is much bigger. No point in reseating your HS.
Oh, thank you for being here to say that. You saved me more physical labor.
5CheeseLasagna is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 19 Old 04-11-2008, 08:24 PM
Professional GTA 4 Modder
 
G|F.E.A.D|Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Flagstaff AZ
Posts: 13,809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 844
Send a message via MSN to G|F.E.A.D|Killa
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5CheeseLasagna View Post
Well, I just looked at CoreTemp, and the VID is 1.1125. The box says "1.25 max". So, I guess I'd better pay attention to the box. Thanks for the advice about worrying about the vcore more than the temps. That will help a great deal.

Oh, I don't know what the e7200 is. It looks like it's just a chipset, according to Intel.com. As for the performance: I had the e2180 at 2.95GHz. My e8400 is at stock (yep, 3.0GHz), but it already feels much faster. But of course, it depends on what you're using your system for. I'll tell you this much: I don't need a quad core, so I'm 100% satisfied with this chip so far, and I've only been using it for like 2 hours now. But it does feel like the system is having an easier time keeping up with me.

Oh, thank you for being here to say that. You saved me more physical labor.
intel says the absolute max is 1.45 but oh well run it above that for benching. i have mine at 3.6 at 1.215 vcore right now and temps are 4C off between the cores. and yes this processor rocks.

G|F.E.A.D|Killa is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 04-11-2008, 08:27 PM
2.4ghz
 
555thz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrackClocker View Post
Lasagna how is the performance compared to the e2180, i might be upgrading to the e7200 when it comes out, but so far the e2180 is a beast for me and wasting more money might not be viable.
Nice getting 3.7 on a $70 chip whats ur stock voltage and overclocked voltage?
555thz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 19 Old 04-11-2008, 10:05 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
5CheeseLasagna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 110
I'm at 3.6GHz with the vcore on Auto, so it went to 1.32v. I tried lowering it, but it became unstable. Either that's the way this particular chip (batch) is, or it's something else. But I'll be happy with it as long as my voltages don't go too high. I know I should be very careful with the voltages.

What's the maximum voltage I should use anyway? Isn't it 1.36v?

And should I disable Virtualization Technology?
5CheeseLasagna is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 04-11-2008, 10:08 PM
4.0ghz
 
shawnjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
I wouldn't go higher than 1.35v for everyday use. And set vCore manually, not on auto.

quote:

"Intel says max VID for an e8400 is 1.3625. The absolute max voltage for an e8400 is 1.45V according to Intel and that the chip will almost certainly be damaged above that value."
shawnjo is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 04-11-2008, 10:15 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
5CheeseLasagna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnjo View Post
I wouldn't go higher than 1.35v for everyday use. And set vCore manually, not on auto.

quote:

"Intel says max VID for an e8400 is 1.3625. The absolute max voltage for an e8400 is 1.45V according to Intel and that the chip will almost certainly be damaged above that value."
Cool, thank you, Shawnjo! I tried to go to http://processorfinder.intel.com/Default.aspx, but it seems to be down.
5CheeseLasagna is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 04-11-2008, 10:25 PM
4.0ghz
 
shawnjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5CheeseLasagna View Post
Cool, thank you, Shawnjo! I tried to go to http://processorfinder.intel.com/Default.aspx, but it seems to be down.
same. I wanted to post a link so everyone could see.

Maybe tomorrow.
shawnjo is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 04-11-2008, 10:31 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
5CheeseLasagna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 110
K, I'm currently at 3.8GHz (475MHz x 8). I had to increase the vcore to 1.36. I also increased the FSB to 1.5v, NB to 1.5v, and SB to 1.525v. It feels stable right now, but of course I'll do a stress test in a little bit. The memory is all manually set to stock: 2.1v, 800MHz, 4 5 4 11.

It feels like this chip doesn't want to go much faster than 3.6, or 3.7 without a big vcore increase. Now I think I know why so many e8400 owners are at 3.6GHz!
5CheeseLasagna is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 04-11-2008, 10:54 PM
4.0ghz
 
SUPER PISSED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Bad luck. My e8400 only demands more voltage after 4.2Ghz. Though to this day I haven't ever given it more than 1.28v.

Maybe I just got good luck.
SUPER PISSED is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off