New Build - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 04-13-2008, 02:00 PM - Thread Starter
733mhz
 
fived's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Just got done with my build yesterday.. Specs are in sig. Im just trying to get to 3.0-3.2ghz stable and safe. I heard you can get the e6750 to 3.0 without touching the voltage. Im new to this and Ive been reading some threads but still confused. What all should I adjust in bios to get a stable 3.2ghz or less? Thanks guys

fived is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 04-13-2008, 02:06 PM
Back on the Air
 
losttsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 7,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 607
For 3.0 GHz, adjust the frontside bus MHz so that FSB MHz x Multiplier = 3000 MHz
losttsol is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 04-13-2008, 02:29 PM - Thread Starter
733mhz
 
fived's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Should I just go right ahead and do that then run Prime95 for like 7-8hrs or do it slow and up by like 10s, test, up 10, test, etc..?

fived is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 Old 04-13-2008, 02:45 PM
Back on the Air
 
losttsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 7,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 607
If you heard you can do 3.0GHz on stock voltage with that chip then go ahead and run Prime95 like you said. Also, watch your CPU temperatures by downloaing Core Temp.
Run that while you're testing.
losttsol is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 04-13-2008, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter
733mhz
 
fived's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
What about my ram.. is it going to hold me back? 2x2gb of gskill ddr2 800s. Their stock timed at 5-5-5-15..should I leave that alone or change it?

fived is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 04-13-2008, 03:57 PM
Back on the Air
 
losttsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 7,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 607
It won't hurt you at that low of an FSB. Set your multiplier at 8 and your FSB at 375. That will give you the CPU @ 3.0GHz and your RAM will be running at 750MHz(2 x 375 FSB) which is under it's rating of 800MHz. With that board you also need to disable C1E, EIST, and Thermal Halt in your BIOS. Your RAM should be set to manual and a 2.0 divider which is actually a 1:1 ratio.
losttsol is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 04-13-2008, 04:10 PM - Thread Starter
733mhz
 
fived's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Ight sweet, thanks bro. If for some reason it doesn't boot do I just go back into bios and change everything to default? When/if it does boot how long should I run Prime95 for? 8hrs sound good? Also which test do I run it under?

fived is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 04-13-2008, 04:16 PM
Back on the Air
 
losttsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 7,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 607
I had that board and it would shut down and return to BIOS on a bad OC with the same settings unless you really OC'd it too hard. Then it might reset itself. Worse case is if the BIOS won't even come back up and then you have to clear CMOS which involves shorting the CMOS terminals or taking out the battery for a couple of minutes.

Run the small FFT's test on Prime95. 8 hours should be plenty to test that overclock for stability. I only test for 24 hours when I know I'm nearing the edge of the system's potential. Try to keep your temps under 65C on either of the cores. Under 60C would be ideal.
losttsol is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 04-13-2008, 04:18 PM - Thread Starter
733mhz
 
fived's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
K sweet thanks alot bro. Im about to do that now and then run out and get Crysis. My temps are at 30/25 right now stock! So I think at 3.0ghz I should def. stay under 60.

fived is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 04-13-2008, 04:25 PM
Back on the Air
 
losttsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 7,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 607
Very good. Crysis will definitely play well on your system with that card.
losttsol is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off