Trying to learn about OCing - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 04-22-2008, 04:31 PM - Thread Starter
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So i've been reading a lot around the forums lately just trying to pick up as much OC info as i can before i get my system set up next week. I just wanted to make sure that some of the words i'm seeing are being associated with the proper definitions...

so vdroop is when the voltage you put into the bios for the cpu is different when you are actually in the OS right?

and VID is the supposed maximum voltage your cpu is recommended to be at?? this one i'm not sure on...but i'm hoping i'm right

And i'm also still confused on the idea of a 1:1 between fsb and ram..if someone could clarify that it would be incredibly helpful.

Thanks!

R2D2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 04-22-2008, 04:35 PM
a.k.a. TutenStain
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by R2D2 View Post
So i've been reading a lot around the forums lately just trying to pick up as much OC info as i can before i get my system set up next week. I just wanted to make sure that some of the words i'm seeing are being associated with the proper definitions...

so vdroop is when the voltage you put into the bios for the cpu is different when you are actually in the OS right?

and VID is the supposed maximum voltage your cpu is recommended to be at?? this one i'm not sure on...but i'm hoping i'm right

And i'm also still confused on the idea of a 1:1 between fsb and ram..if someone could clarify that it would be incredibly helpful.

Thanks!
VID=The default CPU V for your stock clock.

Please ignor my spelling and grammar!
FAQ:s


I reject your reality and substitute my own. -Adam Savage

Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant 

i_ame_killer_2 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 04-22-2008, 04:42 PM
2.4ghz
 
Schroedinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
What he said.

Also, FSB is quad channel, while memory is dual channel. So FSB=1333 really means 333x4, while DDR2 667 really means 333. Since both are running channels at 333 Mhz, that's a 1:1 ratio. The same would occur at FSB 1600(divided by four!)= 400, DDR2 800 (divided by two!) = 400.

The VID "range" for your CPU is generally a good indicator of what safe voltages are, although it isn't a perfect guide. The VID for your individual CPU is the volts that Intel tested your processor stock clocked at.

"The internet is text for people who can't read." -Andrew Eldritch

Schroedinger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 04-22-2008, 04:42 PM
 
gibsonnova74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 257
killer is right about the vid. as for the 1:1 ratio, its not that big of a deal really. but basically you run your cpu at the same speed as your ram. here is an example: cpu running a multi of 9 and a speed of 400 gets you a speed of 3.6, and if your running ddr2 ram, most run at 800mhz, it would be 400x2 = 800. so you see the cpu is running at 400, and the ram is running at 400(because its ddr2). i know i didn't explain it very well, but thats the basic idea.

10 Million+ Folding at Home points 

gibsonnova74 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 04-22-2008, 04:42 PM
333mhz
 
Stewpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Wrong about vdroop, what you described is vdrop.
http://www.overclock.net/intel-mothe...op-vdroop.html

Stewpot is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 04-22-2008, 05:39 PM - Thread Starter
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I just got my Q6600 in the mail yesteday and the VID (i think) says 1.35V max...is that good or bad?

R2D2 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 04-22-2008, 05:41 PM
 
gibsonnova74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 257
you see your vid in cpuz. download cpuz, and you will see VID right in the middle. is that where you got it from?

edit: i just looked on the box, it has the 1.35v max on it. thats not your vid.

10 Million+ Folding at Home points 

gibsonnova74 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 04-22-2008, 06:49 PM
4.0ghz
 
x2s3w4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 4,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Actually Core Temp is the one to find VID not CPUz. Look here.
http://www.overclock.net/downloads/1...core-temp.html


R2D2 likes this.
x2s3w4 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 04-22-2008, 06:54 PM
 
mcogan10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chestnut Hill, MA
Posts: 4,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 221
when your box says max of 1.35v, that means that is the max STOCK voltage...there is nothing "stock" about overclocking. for 65nm core2's, the popular guideline is to keep the CPU voltage below 1.5v. For 45nm, I would keep the voltage under 1.4v, as I've heard reports of 8400's dying in a few weeks of being kept at voltages over 1.4v for 24/7 use.
R2D2 likes this.

AI am 75% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?


3.6G on an AF7 biggrin.gifproof.gif

Windows 7Fan Club


mcogan10 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 04-22-2008, 07:08 PM
 
gibsonnova74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by x2s3w4 View Post
Actually Core Temp is the one to find VID not CPUz. Look here.
http://www.overclock.net/downloads/1...core-temp.html


yeah, thanks, i got the 2 mixed up. lol, trying to multitask!
R2D2 likes this.

10 Million+ Folding at Home points 

gibsonnova74 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off