E8400, new to overclocking, looking for some help. - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 04-22-2008, 05:37 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi there everyone. I'm fairly new to overclocking. The last time I tried it was on a AMD Thunderbird and basically fried it (on that CPU, you had to make a marking on the CPU itself with a pencil.. that's where I messed up). With that said, I get a little nervous messing with this stuff.

I just bought a E8400 (retail, batch Q748A211) a couple weeks ago and I'm still running it at stock speeds.

I'm not looking to go crazy, I just want to overclock it a bit on stock cooling (maybe 3.6?). My problem is that I really don't know what settings need to be enabled/disabled/changed in the bios, and what to change them to.

Could someone give me a few pointers?

I've read a lot of overclocking guides.. but can't seem to make heads or tails.

My other specs:
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L
RAM: OCZ Platinum Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000)

I'm worried I may have made a bad purchase with the ram.. I can't seem to get it OC'd to 1066mhz stable. I knew I should have just bought 1066 to begin with.. but I was on a relatively tight budget.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks
wierdo124 likes this.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 04-22-2008, 06:19 PM
4.0ghz

Liked: 389
There is nothing wrong with that RAM.
Depending on your E8400 you may be able to hit 3.6 at stock voltage. Try setting the FSB at 400. Don't do anything else. Leave everything else at stock except set your RAM voltage to 2.1 volts.
If that doesn't work you'll have to start bumping up the voltage a little at a time. Start there.
post #3 of 8 Old 04-22-2008, 06:33 PM
How Hard Can It Be?

Liked: 442
Yeah, pump the FSB to 400 and then slowly move the CPU speed up.

Take me down to the paradise city where the grass is green and the girls are pretty.

Quote: