Want to run my Q9300 at 3,00Ghz - Page 3 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 26 Old 05-12-2008, 08:33 AM
3.5ghz
 
teK0wnzU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Idaho, USA
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
For the Q9300 people, what TIM (Thermal Interface Material) are you using between your CPU and HS&F? I'm using Ceramique By AS. It is doing a good job now that I found out the trick. It gets better as it heats and cools. SO I have been Stress testing then letting it cool down and then turning off the puter. Idle temps have gone down 4C. I'm not sure it that works for other TIM's but might want to try it.

Because an Amen a day keeps the Devil away. ~JML
You can fool some people all the time, all people sometimes, but never everyone every time.
I Fold, Ik vouw, Tiklop ko, Je fois, Ich falte, אני לקפל, 私は展開, 난 배, Я раз, I veces!
..::|Q9300 Club|::..
..: Given all things probable, what is the probability something not probable will happen? ~JML :..

teK0wnzU is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 26 Old 05-12-2008, 08:40 AM
Still Standing
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 37°782'Nx122°506'W
Posts: 19,910
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2560
Quote:
Originally Posted by teK0wnzU View Post
For the Q9300 people, what TIM (Thermal Interface Material) are you using between your CPU and HS&F? I'm using Ceramique By AS. It is doing a good job now that I found out the trick. It gets better as it heats and cools. SO I have been Stress testing then letting it cool down and then turning off the puter. Idle temps have gone down 4C. I'm not sure it that works for other TIM's but might want to try it.
Yes. You are correct.

Thermal-cycling will see the TIM-seal cure. From what I have experienced this is pretty much universal with TIM's. (AS5)

Temps generally will lower 2-5C

Non-lapped surfaces take about 95 hours of thermal-cycling. Lapped surfaces can take up to 200 hours of thermal-cycling.

Custom Case building, dream and build

Custom Cases: Obsidian Silence, Silentium, Halcyon, Anvil, Indigo
Case Mods: Liquid Chameleon, LC-Lan Box


"Semper Fidelis"

Overclock.net Mod of the Month 0910  Overclock.net Mod Of The Month 2008-02 (Feb)  Overclock.net Mod Of The Month 2008-05 (May)  4 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Syrillian is offline  
post #23 of 26 Old 05-12-2008, 08:57 AM
4.0ghz
 
TriBeCa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Ok, I'm stable at 3.375 GHz and 1.3125 vcore. You can see the screenshot in the q9300 and 45nm club threads. I'm gonna keep the system here for 24/7 use.

And to answer the TIM question, I use AS5. Also used it on the NB, SB, and mosfets on the abit ip35 pro. Still waiting for it to burn in... I guess I'm gonna have to find some time when the machine can be off to give it some time cool.

Check out The Swap Meet
A place to exchange spare parts you don't need for ones you do!


ASUS P8P67-M Pro OCing Guide

Pictorial Lapping Guide--Check this out if you're thinking of lapping an HSF and/or IHS!!

ASUS P5N-E OCing Guide

"Incorrect using it may cause your system broken. For power End-User use only!"
-Gigabyte MB manual (8I865GME-775-RH-Rev2.0)

Chimp Challenge Participant  1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

TriBeCa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 26 Old 05-12-2008, 09:04 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
platt63's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Hague
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Now I see, my system is less than two weeks old so I could give it some more time to burn in my TIM. My system was build for me so I don't know what paste they used.

platt63 is offline  
post #25 of 26 Old 05-12-2008, 09:19 AM
Still Standing
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 37°782'Nx122°506'W
Posts: 19,910
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2560
platt63, if you are inclined you could re-seat just for the peace-of-mind.

If I get me mitts on a system, that is generally one of the first things I do... just so I know.

Custom Case building, dream and build

Custom Cases: Obsidian Silence, Silentium, Halcyon, Anvil, Indigo
Case Mods: Liquid Chameleon, LC-Lan Box


"Semper Fidelis"

Overclock.net Mod of the Month 0910  Overclock.net Mod Of The Month 2008-02 (Feb)  Overclock.net Mod Of The Month 2008-05 (May)  4 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Syrillian is offline  
post #26 of 26 Old 05-12-2008, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
platt63's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Hague
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Syrillian View Post
platt63, if you are inclined you could re-seat just for the peace-of-mind.

If I get me mitts on a system, that is generally one of the first things I do... just so I know.
Hi Syrillian,

I would love to do that to be sure it's done well but I wouldn't know how.
I have never done it before. I've looked in my case and wondered how I could possibly do a re-seat.
Does it mean I have to disconnect every wire and take the MB out? I guess so because the Scythe is huge and I can't hardly see how it is connected to my processor.
So for the time being I will leave it until I can find a good instruction for my Asus P5E in combination with the Scythe Infinity.
Or I must find a guy here in The Hague who can help me.
Thanks for your tip!

Philip

platt63 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off