Need Help/Advice! (Q660) - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 12-14-2008, 10:50 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Lord Kram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chesham Buckinghamshire
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I seem to have a bit of a problem with weird temp readings....
Ive got an abit ip35 pro xe board and I had some problems to start with when I first tried installing the freezer 7 cooler to the MB, as the plastic pins bent back, so I couldnt fix it, and in the end had to use the stock intel heatsink
Am currently running at stock speed (2.4ghz) but am having a few issues with temperature readings etc
I dont bother going by the bios readings as ive read with this MB that they arent correct, in windows though I am getting an idle temp using real temp of around 39-40 on each core, but if i run prime 95 or run a power hungry game, a the temps shoot up rapidly around to 90ish and drop back down just as quick after I close the program/game
Surely this cant be right? ive been leaving the side of the case off as well, and even felt the heatsink and it doesnt feel hot, i think its mounted properly as I had trouble fixing this to the MB as well. am worried in taking it off as well in case it wont mount again!
Anyone know why? could it be a bad chip?
Ive got a 550w psu, and im running 2x nvidia 8600gts cards

Lord Kram is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 12-14-2008, 11:01 AM
I'm SAILING! Ooh Shinies!
 
error10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 13,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1516
90 is pretty high for the stock cooler at stock speed. Are you sure all four pins are in all the way? Those things are a royal pain. Which is one reason why I only use bolt-through.

Is the CPU fan control enabled in the BIOS?

I will not be pushed, filed, stamped, indexed, briefed, debriefed, or numbered! My life is my own.
I did error10's Windows Challenge and I now am an MCSE: Minesweeper Consultant and Solitaire Expert! graduated.gif
Sorry, I'm unable to provide technical support in private messages.

Chimp Challenge Participant  6 Million+ Folding at Home points 

error10 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 12-14-2008, 11:01 AM
Grumpy
 
joemaniaci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 8,801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 776
It doesnt feel hot because it doesnt seem like any heat is being transferred into it, that and the thermal compound on the stock cooler is horrible.

Go pick up some OC freeze if you can, and if not, you can get as5 everywhere and try to reseat it.

joemaniaci is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 12-14-2008, 11:10 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Lord Kram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chesham Buckinghamshire
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I did originally want to try and use the ac freezer 7 pro, but couldnt get it fitted in the board, and now i dont think i will as all pins are pushed back:



Also is it possible that it isnt seated correctly due to my idle temps at around 40, and then shooting up to 80-90 because its creating more heat due to usage?
Is it worth trying to resit the stock? or should i try the ac again?

Edit: I have got some as5 as well....

Lord Kram is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 12-14-2008, 12:25 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 1,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Ok, what you need to do, is twist the black thing, and then pull, it should come off. There should be a little arrow, but for me, its to the left.r


Click to see epic quotes! (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pir go_quote.gif
Don't you have an AMD pen lying around somewhere? They write a bit slower but at least they always do.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hephasteus go_quote.gif
CPU's used to have to do more work, they were fighting off wolves with flyswatters, today they are swatting at flys with bazookas.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathris go_quote.gif
OSX User: Oh look funny dog pictures, I'm going to download them!
"Funny Dog Pictures requires that you type your password"
OSX User: Hurr Durr, OK!.



Join the deaf club...
sailerboy is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 12-14-2008, 08:37 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Lord Kram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chesham Buckinghamshire
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Any ideas how I can get the ac7 hs fixed in though? i wont currently the way the plastic pins are!
Tried bending them with a screwdriver but it wont work

Lord Kram is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 12-15-2008, 07:05 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Lord Kram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chesham Buckinghamshire
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
No worries, I managed to sort it!
I took off the heatsink and tried to mount the ac freezer 7 back on again, and this time ive managed to mount it properly!
Idle temps are now around 26, and on full load under prime 95 they are only going upto 45 max!!

Lord Kram is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off