Guide to Overclocking the Core I7 920 or 930 to 4.0ghz - Page 92 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #911 of 1477 Old 08-13-2010, 01:37 AM
1.3ghz
 
pdrider6890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Santa Monica, California
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Could you be crashing in the games because you are maxing your power supply??? Newer GPU's can suck up a lot more power, or is it possible the heat from your GPU is heating up the CPU or RAM causing them to fail?

pdrider6890 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #912 of 1477 Old 08-13-2010, 01:41 AM
WaterCooler
 
Nautilus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Turkey
Posts: 3,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 156
nice guide. subbed.

this is going to be very useful if i ever buy a i7 920 or 930.
Nautilus is offline  
post #913 of 1477 Old 08-13-2010, 02:27 AM
733mhz
 
gobbo353's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: AUS
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdrider6890 View Post
Could you be crashing in the games because you are maxing your power supply??? Newer GPU's can suck up a lot more power, or is it possible the heat from your GPU is heating up the CPU or RAM causing them to fail?
Actually to iNZoW
Besides the above, I'd raise my PCIE to 103, ICH to 1.24 and IOH/ICH I/O Voltage 1.54 or1.58

Have you tested your system with 3DMark Vantage or 06..? This will test your system similarly as to when playing BFBC2 for example, as Prime etc doesn't ones GPU/CPU/MEM concurrently..

It could be driver related also.. FOr instance i've reverted to CCC 10.5 hotfix as with more recent versions my FPS dropped by half and i was getting random crashes to desktop.

gobbo353 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #914 of 1477 Old 08-13-2010, 09:21 AM
Commodore 64
 
r80x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm currently at 3.8 and making stability tests in prime. I'm having a hard time getting it stabil and have to up the vcore all the time, currently at 1.216.
I would really want to get to around 3.8-4.0 with as low vcore as possible so that i have low temps and just a nice clock. I dont need a +4.0 just somewhere around 4.0.

My Bios is BLCK 181
ratio 21
Vcore 1.216
Speedstep disabled
turbo disabled
Dram DDR3 1451
Timing 8-8-8-24
DDR Bus voltage 1.66
Load Line Calibration enabled
PCIE 100
CPU and PCIE spread spectrum are disabled.

All other voltage setting and stuff are on AUTO because im not sure what to set them to.
Anyone have some advise on what settings to use for 3.8-4.0 with low vcore?

r80x is offline  
post #915 of 1477 Old 08-13-2010, 10:59 AM
1.3ghz
 
pdrider6890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Santa Monica, California
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by r80x View Post
I'm currently at 3.8 and making stability tests in prime. I'm having a hard time getting it stabil and have to up the vcore all the time, currently at 1.216.
I would really want to get to around 3.8-4.0 with as low vcore as possible so that i have low temps and just a nice clock. I dont need a +4.0 just somewhere around 4.0.

My Bios is BLCK 181
ratio 21
Vcore 1.216
Speedstep disabled
turbo disabled
Dram DDR3 1451
Timing 8-8-8-24
DDR Bus voltage 1.66
Load Line Calibration enabled
PCIE 100
CPU and PCIE spread spectrum are disabled.

All other voltage setting and stuff are on AUTO because im not sure what to set them to.
Anyone have some advise on what settings to use for 3.8-4.0 with low vcore?
Up the Vcore a little bit, or stay where you are at if you are unwilling to do so...

pdrider6890 is offline  
post #916 of 1477 Old 08-13-2010, 11:29 AM
4.0ghz
 
kneeki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by r80x View Post
I'm currently at 3.8 and making stability tests in prime. I'm having a hard time getting it stabil and have to up the vcore all the time, currently at 1.216.
I would really want to get to around 3.8-4.0 with as low vcore as possible so that i have low temps and just a nice clock. I dont need a +4.0 just somewhere around 4.0.

My Bios is BLCK 181
ratio 21
Vcore 1.216
Speedstep disabled
turbo disabled
Dram DDR3 1451
Timing 8-8-8-24
DDR Bus voltage 1.66
Load Line Calibration enabled
PCIE 100
CPU and PCIE spread spectrum are disabled.

All other voltage setting and stuff are on AUTO because im not sure what to set them to.
Anyone have some advise on what settings to use for 3.8-4.0 with low vcore?
What is your VTT and QPI voltage?
kneeki is offline  
post #917 of 1477 Old 08-13-2010, 12:34 PM
Commodore 64
 
r80x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by kneeki View Post
What is your VTT and QPI voltage?
They're on AUTO so i suspect that they are on default.

r80x is offline  
post #918 of 1477 Old 08-13-2010, 05:17 PM
733mhz
 
gobbo353's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: AUS
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by r80x View Post
I'm currently at 3.8 and making stability tests in prime. I'm having a hard time getting it stabil and have to up the vcore all the time, currently at 1.216.
I would really want to get to around 3.8-4.0 with as low vcore as possible so that i have low temps and just a nice clock. I dont need a +4.0 just somewhere around 4.0.

My Bios is BLCK 181
ratio 21
Vcore 1.216
Speedstep disabled
turbo disabled
Dram DDR3 1451
Timing 8-8-8-24
DDR Bus voltage 1.66
Load Line Calibration enabled
PCIE 100
CPU and PCIE spread spectrum are disabled.

All other voltage setting and stuff are on AUTO because im not sure what to set them to.
Anyone have some advise on what settings to use for 3.8-4.0 with low vcore?
G'Day..

Yes up your Vcore to 1.25 or 1.28.. It's not uncommon to require 1.28 LLC1 to hit 3.8-4g so just go with the flow..

Otherwise or in any event if you would add your system specs to your sig it would make analysis easier and much more reliable..

gobbo353 is offline  
post #919 of 1477 Old 08-14-2010, 12:37 AM
1.3ghz
 
FrozenW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Send a message via MSN to FrozenW Send a message via Skype™ to FrozenW
FrozenW is offline  
post #920 of 1477 Old 08-14-2010, 04:26 AM
333mhz
 
M_T_M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have motherboard EVGA Classified X58 and cpu i7 920. Now I want to know what the settings should be changed to stable for 4.0ghz? What voltage should be raised? Please help
M_T_M is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off