XFX's 58i "Extreme Overclocking" Mobo Is Impossible To Overclock On? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-09-2010, 11:24 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Mpyra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hello,
i am trying to overclock my i7 on this motherboard and i have not found a guide which is in any way helpful in overclocking with it's bios, here i will provide pictures. You should note that there is no way to change the DRAM frequency at all anywhere in the BIOS:

There are two main sections that i figure may be relevant to overclocking, the first is the appropiately titled "Overclocking" section:

Top Half:





Lower Half:






The next is the "Advanced" section, which opens up to give you a choice of subsections:





Here is the CPU subsection:





Here is the Chipset subsection:



Mpyra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-09-2010, 12:20 PM
2.4ghz
 
BodyShield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
What happens if you scroll through the options on the option that says "Memory Frequency - Auto". If it has a manual setting you should be able to set your memory specs there, right? Just curious.
BodyShield is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-09-2010, 01:34 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Mpyra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by BodyShield View Post
What happens if you scroll through the options on the option that says "Memory Frequency - Auto". If it has a manual setting you should be able to set your memory specs there, right? Just curious.
Yes, you are right, i was expecting it to calculate for me and show me in MHz what my frequency would be, but instead i get a multiplier:



Which is fine, except that there are a number of other problems.

As it is right now it won't let me change the Ratio CMOS Setting (20), so everything has to be multiplied by 20.

At 200x20, cpu voltage at 1.35 and ram multiplier at 6 and ram volts on auto i can get to the windows 7 boot screen before the swirly graphics, then it just pauses.

When i set the cpu voltage to 1.30 it stops just before it gets to the windows 7 boot screen.

With the ram multiplier at 8 and voltage on auto it doesn't even get to the BIOS.

I could try VTT, but there are some other things i'd like to be able to control, such as the Ratio CMOS Setting as well as the QPI, i can't find anywhere to control it's multiplier, i just have an option to set it at 4800 and 6400 in the overclocking section, i have the same option in the advanced chipset option subsection, but above it there is another option:



I read somehwere that getting the QPI as low as possible was important, but i have no way of controlling it's multiplier and i don't know what the low speed high speed thing is.

I can also set QPI to auto.

Okay, i'm going to try CPU voltage at 1.35 and VTT at 1.40 and ram multiplier at 6, but i think i realy need a way to unlcok the Ratio CMOS setting and QPI ratio.

Mpyra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 06-09-2010, 02:37 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Mpyra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Watercool-xpurt View Post
up your cpu voltage past 1.35V. you want qpi low IF your going for extreme oc, otherwise no full speed is fine. your rm multi's are just like any other board, 2:12=12X 2:10=10X so on and so fourth. still it seems xfx really dropped the ball here. but before your go changing vtt and all that, try going to 1.4v cpu voltage see if you get wondows.
Did not work, have you got any other ideas?

Mpyra is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-09-2010, 03:15 PM
Overclocker
 
veblen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Empire State
Posts: 1,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Did you try Slow Mode on QPI Links Speed? That's the only way I've managed to overclock my i7 - am still trying to figure out overclocking on the i7. I tried raising recommended voltages to their maximum safe levels but was unable to even post (at a measly overclock of 160 BCLK) until I realized I hadn't tried Slow Mode - and it worked!


Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  50 Million+ Folding at Home points 

veblen is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-10-2010, 02:43 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Mpyra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by veblen View Post
Did you try Slow Mode on QPI Links Speed? That's the only way I've managed to overclock my i7 - am still trying to figure out overclocking on the i7. I tried raising recommended voltages to their maximum safe levels but was unable to even post (at a measly overclock of 160 BCLK) until I realized I hadn't tried Slow Mode - and it worked!
Wow, thanks i'll try that out, i have actually achived overclocks of 80 bclk with 1.25 vcore 1.1 vtt and 200 bclk with 1.375 vcore and 1.275 vtt. but i feel these voltages are too high, hopefully qpi slow mode will make a difference.

The other thing is, in order to achieve these overclocks i've had to set my ram multiplier to 6, i use 1600 mhz ram, but it's underclocked to 1200 with a 6 mutiplier, it simply won't get to bios screen with multiplier 8 even with dimm voltage at 1.65.

Thanks again

Mpyra is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 06-12-2010, 04:42 PM
2.4ghz
 
BodyShield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Also, you should be able to change all of your timings and other options in the DRAM parameter settings option in your BIOS and the memory core clock should be changeable in the UnCore clock options. UnCore stands for unified core clock and is the clock controller for HT settings and memory controller.
BodyShield is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off