I have a HP pavilion a730n - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 04-17-2006, 08:22 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
nate310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
what type of motherboard should i get to replace the current one without having to get everything brand new. i just bought 1gb ddr dim ram ,a x-fi sound card and a geoforce 6800 pci express x16 card i'd hate to have to start from total scratch. but i would really like to over clock this 3.0 lga775 processor. any response good or bad would be most appreciated.

nate310 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 04-17-2006, 08:25 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sea-Town (seattle)
Posts: 1,405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Send a message via AIM to suthernkid
Hey nate310 welcome to the forums

But first i have to ask your price range and for you to fill out your specs by going to user cp at the top of the page and then i can help you, need to know details, and if you dont know your processor and memory you should run cpu-z and that will give you some info

so i need ta know how much your willing to spend so i can show you a great mobo, it looks like our computers are kind of similair except youll probably have a much better mobo no matter what lol
nate310 likes this.

suthernkid is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 04-17-2006, 09:21 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
nate310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by nate310
what type of motherboard should i get to replace the current one without having to get everything brand new. i just bought 1gb ddr dim ram ,a x-fi sound card and a geoforce 6800 pci express x16 card i'd hate to have to start from total scratch. but i would really like to over clock this 3.0 lga775 processor. any response good or bad would be most appreciated.
what should i do now. rang between $100- $200 i saw some asus mobo's but i wasn't sure which one would fit in my case. i know i need a new power supply too but i can get one of those for like 40bucks on ebay.

nate310 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 24 Old 04-17-2006, 09:27 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sea-Town (seattle)
Posts: 1,405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Send a message via AIM to suthernkid
be carefull which psu you get because if you dont get a good one and especially with the 6800gs it will give under all that pressure hah
(i know from experience) id get one 450w to 600w
your kinda in the dilemma im in also though..unless you get new ram your money will kind of be wasted to tell you the truth because the good oc'ers in the mobo category like the asus p5wd2's use ddr800 and one of those it what id reccomend..but if you dont want to change ram ill do my absolute best and look for you right now!

suthernkid is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 04-17-2006, 09:30 PM
4.0ghz
 
Compfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: bratford, Ontario
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Send a message via MSN to Compfreak
welcome to the forums

Quote:
Originally Posted by nate310
i can get one of those for like 40bucks on ebay.
bad idea id spend the money on a power supply more then on a motherboard u said 100-200$

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153028

theres a psu id reccomend (sry for bad spelling) or theres this one

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153023

now to deal with the motherboard issue your case is a standard ATX case so id recommend this motherboard

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131578

and if your dont like that motherboard this is another great choice

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130537

92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy and paste this.


Second Rig:
Althon64 3000+ @2.7Ghz
MSI K8N NEO4 Platinum S939
OCZ Platinum 2X512 @ DDR600 3,3,3,5 1T
WD 200Gig Sata-II 16MB L2Catch
MSI 2X6600GT GDDR3 @ 625|1250 in SLI
SafePower 550W 24A with Dual 80MM
XP-90+120mm 104CFM+ 2X120mm+2X92mm
Compfreak is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 04-17-2006, 09:35 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
nate310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by nate310
what should i do now. rang between $100- $200 i saw some asus mobo's but i wasn't sure which one would fit in my case. i know i need a new power supply too but i can get one of those for like 40bucks on ebay.
i was just basically tryin to fix this one up a bit at as little cost as i could. i just bought this ram so i hate to replace it. i wish i had thought about that before i bought it. yeah i've been hard searching and come up nada. yeah i also found a 600w that would fit in my tower but i just haven't gotten it yet because i just don't know what kinda motherboard to get.

nate310 is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 04-17-2006, 09:36 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sea-Town (seattle)
Posts: 1,405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Send a message via AIM to suthernkid
i dont know about those mobos compfreak

i think he can do better than that, plus those are mobos with ddr 667 we dont know if he wants to even change yet, and for a psu i reccomend either my enermax noistaker 535watt or the sunbeam nuuo 550w

suthernkid is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 04-17-2006, 09:39 PM
4.0ghz
 
Compfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: bratford, Ontario
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Send a message via MSN to Compfreak
i chose those power supplys because of there 12V rail there both above 18A so its all good a 6800 doesnt need that much power

92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy and paste this.


Second Rig:
Althon64 3000+ @2.7Ghz
MSI K8N NEO4 Platinum S939
OCZ Platinum 2X512 @ DDR600 3,3,3,5 1T
WD 200Gig Sata-II 16MB L2Catch
MSI 2X6600GT GDDR3 @ 625|1250 in SLI
SafePower 550W 24A with Dual 80MM
XP-90+120mm 104CFM+ 2X120mm+2X92mm
Compfreak is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 04-17-2006, 09:39 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sea-Town (seattle)
Posts: 1,405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Send a message via AIM to suthernkid
are you serious? a 6800gs blew out my old psu! and it was 400w

also to nate310..im looking for the best one as we speak, but i have to say its a bad thing you just bought the ram but im telling you man to get a good motherboard with a new chipset and a good overclocker you need some new ram to go with your mobo is it do-able?

suthernkid is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 04-17-2006, 09:46 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
nate310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by nate310
i was just basically tryin to fix this one up a bit at as little cost as i could. i just bought this ram so i hate to replace it. i wish i had thought about that before i bought it. yeah i've been hard searching and come up nada. yeah i also found a 600w that would fit in my tower but i just haven't gotten it yet because i just don't know what kinda motherboard to get.

i like the last motherboard on his list but i'd have to buy all new ram i really wish i'd waited on that oh and on the power supply it didn't list the dimensions of it. well i'm kinda on a budget. i could probably sell that ram on ebay or something but i just really hat to although i know that your 100% right. after i began looking myself i found not one i liked with the kinda ram i had. i'd really like one with a nvida nforce chipset i heard lots of good things about those

nate310 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off