~ Official i7 950 Overclockers Club ~ (Read First Post) - Page 5 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41 of 2861 Old 10-29-2010, 05:01 PM - Thread Starter
List Keeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Great Southern Underland
Posts: 12,925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geemaa View Post
Any way we can see some bios settings? I want to OC mine, but I never did it before and lack experience. I've been reading and can't seem to find a good guide. Right now mine is at 3.3 just using the auto setting from the motherboard.

edit: Up to 3.7 running prime for a few hours to see if its stable, workin my way up to 4.0
http://www.clunk.org.uk/forums/overc...beginners.html

Also Clunk.org.uk do reviews of motherboards, and if there is a review of your mobo, then they will have a section on overclocking it. (Hope its ok to mention other sites here.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawk-nVidia View Post
We have nearly the same rigs Alancsalt
Yep.
alancsalt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 2861 Old 10-29-2010, 11:49 PM
333mhz
 
=DMG-42='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
So I have 4.439GHz stable. The vCore had to be obnoxiously high at 1.480v and my memory is running 1.7v. HT is still on, and my multiplier is still 23. I keep wondering if I lowered my RAM voltage if it would be more stable and I might be able to punch the 4.5ghz speed. What d'ya thing?

sneaky.gif: : The Official Corsair H50/H70 Hydro Series Club : : sneaky.gif
=DMG-42= is offline  
post #43 of 2861 Old 10-29-2010, 11:59 PM
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Wewt

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1455453

Batch: 3O16B003, HT: ON, Vcore 1.28, 4.01 ghz



**-~ i7 950 Overclockers Club ~-**
Geemaa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44 of 2861 Old 10-30-2010, 12:01 AM - Thread Starter
List Keeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Great Southern Underland
Posts: 12,925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by =DMG-42= View Post
So I have 4.439GHz stable. The vCore had to be obnoxiously high at 1.480v and my memory is running 1.7v. HT is still on, and my multiplier is still 23. I keep wondering if I lowered my RAM voltage if it would be more stable and I might be able to punch the 4.5ghz speed. What d'ya thing?
With 12GB of ram, and on air. Which stability test? 1.7v on the ram - does it say that in a monitoring prog? I thought 1.65v was supposedly the safe limit, but what's "safe" mean anyway with overclocking?

You can only try.

Got a CPU-Z validation?
alancsalt is offline  
post #45 of 2861 Old 10-30-2010, 12:06 AM
333mhz
 
=DMG-42='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Yep. Here: http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1455482

I just feel like normally it's the RAM holding the 4.5ghz back, I had the same issue with my e8200 till I knocked the ram voltage down and suddenly 4.13ghz was stable as heck. Might as well give it a try.

BTW how is that H50? I want to pick one up from microcenter while they're on sale since this fan is so damn loud I'd rather stick my ear next to a jet engine while listening to loud opera.

sneaky.gif: : The Official Corsair H50/H70 Hydro Series Club : : sneaky.gif
=DMG-42= is offline  
post #46 of 2861 Old 10-30-2010, 12:24 AM - Thread Starter
List Keeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Great Southern Underland
Posts: 12,925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 296
At the moment ambients are 20°C to 26°C and tending hotter for Southern Summer. Prime95 pushing me to 76°C with 4.2GHz/1.312v bios. I have Ultra Kaze 3000 on my H50, exhaust mode, with 1" shroud/spacer. I'm considering Swiftech H2O-220 Apex Ultima XT, and daydreaming about a Hailea HC-500A phase water chiller, which costs AU$589.50 here.

I think the H50/H70 slightly better than good air.
alancsalt is offline  
post #47 of 2861 Old 10-30-2010, 01:52 AM
Intel Overclocker
 
fliq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: The Interwebs
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Add Me! I'll grab a screenshot in a few, gotta 950 @ 4025 with 1.225vCore 9+ hours stable.
alancsalt likes this.


1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

fliq is offline  
post #48 of 2861 Old 10-30-2010, 10:54 AM
4.0ghz
 
Hawk-nVidia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Location: Location:
Posts: 2,240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Just sold my old megashadow and slapped this H50 on rofl.
temps are crap but i have no TIM on -_-
will put some MX3 on and pop it back to 4.4Ghz
Hawk-nVidia is offline  
post #49 of 2861 Old 10-30-2010, 04:26 PM - Thread Starter
List Keeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Great Southern Underland
Posts: 12,925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 296
alancsalt is offline  
post #50 of 2861 Old 10-30-2010, 10:51 PM - Thread Starter
List Keeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Great Southern Underland
Posts: 12,925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 296
alancsalt is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off