The i5-760 OC Club - Page 137 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1361 of 1926 Old 11-29-2011, 07:29 AM
S02
Commodore 64
 
S02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
78pwnt, if you use stock volts, you won't get much of an increase, you can do it though. The ram speed might not be ideal though.

Trebor31, what is your imc on? Because the extra bclck is extra ram speed, which requires the imc, if you have it on auto, then ensure it isn't much higher than 1.3v.

S02 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1362 of 1926 Old 11-29-2011, 05:43 PM
 
Jodiuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Yippee! I made it to 3.6 Ghz under a 125 watt max power envelope! Pretty happy, but curious to see if I can push a little more wo/ busting that wide open. biggrin.gif So far temps look to be under 60C load in a Fractal Design Define R3 w/ an internal exhaust 580 during BF3! I think I would be comfy with 70C load though...also wonder if it would improve the gameplay experience any.

BF3UltraPresetGTX580.jpg

thumb.gif
Jodiuh is offline  
post #1363 of 1926 Old 12-02-2011, 01:10 AM
S02
Commodore 64
 
S02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
It could improve gameplay, but that game is mainly about gpu.

Also, if you stress tested it might get to 70 with those settings, I wouldn't count playing a game as stress testing, specially not for stability.

S02 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1364 of 1926 Old 12-02-2011, 04:09 AM
 
Jodiuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Believe it or not, but linx is only 1 C higher than BF3.

thumb.gif
Jodiuh is offline  
post #1365 of 1926 Old 12-07-2011, 11:21 PM
333mhz
 
dVeLoPe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
i kinda miss mine 4.0 @ 1.176 volts awaiting a power supply and ram then im putting it on the stock intel cooler and deciding is the best air cooler for under 50$ lol

dVeLoPe is offline  
post #1366 of 1926 Old 12-08-2011, 01:58 AM
 
Jodiuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
I got my VenX from Ewiz for $50 shipped last year. They had deals on it every month back then. Although, you probably don't need more than that $25 Coolermaster Hyper 212, lol.

thumb.gif
Jodiuh is offline  
post #1367 of 1926 Old 12-16-2011, 07:39 PM
733mhz
 
Hamburglar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I am scratching my head at this one...

Here are the computer specs:

i5 760
Asus P7P55D-E
4gb GSkill DDR3 1600mhz
Corsair 650w PSU
Hyper 212 cooler
9500gt

I have been trying to overclock this setup for the last couple of days and it has me going through loops. Probably due to the fact that I am pretty green at overclocking, but know just enough to get in trouble.

So to the story... I started out at 3.2ghz (160 x 20) / 1.2 vcore / 1.125 IMC and was getting an average of 59 seconds / 44 gflops with IBT on high, 50 passes.

If I even bump the BCLK a couple digits it goes down quite a bit to like 29 or so gflops and takes about 110 seconds. Jacking up the vcore and IMC do nothing to change this, but do seem to make it worse I have had it as high as 1.3 vcore / 1.25 IMC which should be more than plenty for 3.4 ghz from the googling I have done.

Speed Step / C States disabled

All voltages set: 1.2 vcore / 1.125 IMC / 1.8 PLL / 1.5 DRAM

Memory: x8 9-9-9-24 1.5 (1280mhz)


Any ideas?

Hamburglar is offline  
post #1368 of 1926 Old 12-18-2011, 08:43 AM
S02
Commodore 64
 
S02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
1.125 imc seems way too low.

S02 is offline  
post #1369 of 1926 Old 12-18-2011, 08:46 AM
S02
Commodore 64
 
S02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Might also be faulty ram.

Or it can't take those clocks seeing as they're 1066 stock. Ah sorry that is your old rig(edit).

Hmm, maybe test it with something other than Intel burn test, because that isn't right at all.

S02 is offline  
post #1370 of 1926 Old 12-18-2011, 11:30 AM
733mhz
 
Hamburglar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by S02 View Post

1.125 imc seems way too low.
Quote:
Originally Posted by S02 View Post

Might also be faulty ram.
Or it can't take those clocks seeing as they're 1066 stock. Ah sorry that is your old rig(edit).
Hmm, maybe test it with something other than Intel burn test, because that isn't right at all.

Even at the 3.2ghz I have run the voltages up to 1.25 cpu and 1.2 imc and everything remained the same I have tried that at different frequencies as well going up to 3.6ghz. On several occasions increasing the voltages have made the gflops worse ??

I am going to run memtest now for a bit to check the memory though and will report back on what is happening with that.

Here are some screen shots of some testing I have done in the meantime though. There were several runs for each frequency and all the results are typical of what can be found in theses singular screen shots. I didn't have any stability issues up until the 3.6 at which point I had to increase the vcore a little and sent it through 4 more sessions of IBT at 5 passes each. The part that gets me throughout the testing is that the gflops never change even thought the frequency does?

3.2
efea027a.jpg
3.3
cd14cf7f.jpg
3.4
3ca57a20.jpg
3.5
12338aaa.jpg
3.6
e4c52430.jpg



Hamburglar is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off