[Official] The Sandy Stable Club **Guides, Voltages, Temps & BIOS Templates** Inc SPREADSHEET - Page 801 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8001 of 10702 Old 03-24-2012, 06:37 PM
 
Circlemage8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by killerhonky View Post

This doesn't add up.... Your minimum temps are an hour before your max temps... almost as if you only stressed for an hour of the twenty... thumbsdownsmileyanim.gif
EDIT: Twelve, rather. Jebus, time to sleep and stop staring at my own prime95.

Look closely at the times. The test started at 20:09. The low times are from 20:04 and the test finished at 08:00 the next day. Nothing wrong there. Assuming he hit his max temp early.
ElDictator likes this.
Circlemage8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8002 of 10702 Old 03-24-2012, 07:52 PM
Programmer
 
killerhonky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Oh! Holy apologies batman. I need to get out of the matrix for a while and nap.

Ohai.
killerhonky is offline  
post #8003 of 10702 Old 03-24-2012, 09:35 PM
PC Gamer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by AeroZ View Post

What do you mean by raise load voltage? Extreme setting might do that yeah, but Ultra High?
To overcome the problem with undervolted idle vcore you can use offset vcore to set idle voltage and Additional Turbo voltage for load vcore. (IF you have those settings for your mobo ofcourse)

That doesn't really apply to my clocks right now. High LLC gives me a vcore under load that does not require me to lower my offset. I can use +0.005 or +0.010 and run 4900 or 5000MHz with a voltage between 1.33-1.36v, max load temps are good, it's stable and my idle is not undervolted.

At those speeds Ultra High LLC gives me load vcore of 1.35-1.38v and that's too high. So Additional Turbo Voltage is not going to help me. It will only come into use when:

1. I need a vcore that is higher than the VID showing at my current speed and don't want to raise LLC.
2. I want to raise my load vcore but not my idle voltage, which a + offset will do.
samwiches is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8004 of 10702 Old 03-25-2012, 01:56 AM
Commodore 64
 
Fixedreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
just picked up a 2500K, I was prime'ing 4.8 for a couple hours with only 1.368 volts under load (BIOS set to 1.375)

it's strange though because anything over that (4.9-5) the second core fails in under a minute while the others keep chugging away.

I haven't touched any PLL/VTT settings yet so I'm wondering if it has to do with any other settings i'm missing.

I did a search in this epic thread but didn't find much on single cores failing, any advice?

Fixedreality is offline  
post #8005 of 10702 Old 03-25-2012, 02:05 AM
PC Gamer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 43
It just doesn't matter which core fails, or if it's always the same core---it's an error and it's not stable.

That's better than a BSOD, though. If you can consistently get it to error then it might mean you're closer to a stable setup than if you were crashing. But there's no telling, really. Just have to try the next setting (vcore, PLL, VTT).
samwiches is offline  
post #8006 of 10702 Old 03-25-2012, 02:29 AM
Commodore 64
 
Fixedreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwiches View Post

It just doesn't matter which core fails, or if it's always the same core---it's an error and it's not stable.
That's better than a BSOD, though. If you can consistently get it to error then it might mean you're closer to a stable setup than if you were crashing. But there's no telling, really. Just have to try the next setting (vcore, PLL, VTT).

I'm starting to think that core doesnt like going past 4.8, it errors out almost instantly regardless of voltage but it will prime away at 4.8 with only 1.368V

I don't know doh.gif
Fixedreality is offline  
post #8007 of 10702 Old 03-25-2012, 02:38 AM
PC Gamer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Well there is no way to use that seemingly specific problem to target anything, as far as BIOS settings. Everyone has a core that does that, or a core that tends to run a couple degrees hotter or cooler than the rest. You just have to treat one as all and move on.

And don't think that Prime is still going after an error---you are stressing only on three cores after one fails.
samwiches is offline  
post #8008 of 10702 Old 03-25-2012, 02:46 AM
Intel Overclocker
 
gc86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NorCal/SF Bay Area
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwiches View Post

Well there is no way to use that seemingly specific problem to target anything, as far as BIOS settings. Everyone has a core that does that, or a core that tends to run a couple degrees hotter or cooler than the rest. You just have to treat one as all and move on.
And don't think that Prime is still going after an error---you are stressing only on three cores after one fails.

I find it really strange how that core behaves. I don't want to push 1.5v just to see if it will stabilize at 5Ghz although from tweaking PLL and VTT I'm getting the same results, instant failure regardless of settings past 4.8

edit: random but I was signed into a account I don't use. fixedreality/gc86 same person

gc86 is offline  
post #8009 of 10702 Old 03-25-2012, 04:52 AM
 
AeroZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Estonia
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwiches View Post

That doesn't really apply to my clocks right now. High LLC gives me a vcore under load that does not require me to lower my offset. I can use +0.005 or +0.010 and run 4900 or 5000MHz with a voltage between 1.33-1.36v, max load temps are good, it's stable and my idle is not undervolted.
At those speeds Ultra High LLC gives me load vcore of 1.35-1.38v and that's too high. So Additional Turbo Voltage is not going to help me. It will only come into use when:
1. I need a vcore that is higher than the VID showing at my current speed and don't want to raise LLC.
2. I want to raise my load vcore but not my idle voltage, which a + offset will do.
With +0.005 or +0.010v you probably have pretty high idle vcore. I use -0.065v for idle (around 0.936v in my case).
AeroZ is offline  
post #8010 of 10702 Old 03-25-2012, 05:23 AM
If it isnt Dutch it aint much !
 
Farih's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dutchland
Posts: 4,813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by gc86 View Post

I find it really strange how that core behaves. I don't want to push 1.5v just to see if it will stabilize at 5Ghz although from tweaking PLL and VTT I'm getting the same results, instant failure regardless of settings past 4.8
edit: random but I was signed into a account I don't use. fixedreality/gc86 same person

Sometimes you just hit a wall..
With my previous 2600K i could OC to 4,8ghz on 1.4V but couldnt even get 4,9ghz stable with up to 1.5V
Btw, 4,8ghz is nothing to complain about really wink.gif

2nd PC >>> Intel I5-4690K @ 4,6ghz - 16GB 2133mhz - R9 290X
3rd PC >>> FX-6300 @ 4,5ghz - 8GB 1866mhz - GTX960
4th PC >>> Dual Core E5700 - 2GB 800mhz - HD6670
5th PC >>> AMD AM1 5350 - 4GB DDR3 - 3,1TB storage
Farih is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off