SKYNET 1.0 Gaming PC [1st Build] - Page 13 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 184 Old 10-12-2012, 12:40 PM
I don't understand the point of brand favoritism.
 
Ironman517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 5,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 437
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLFCOUNSELOR View Post

My parts are officially here. I really don't want to mess anything up so is there a step by step process I should follow?
I'm still at work but I just saw UPS is out there with the last orders. I haven't had a chance to look inside of everything but does it bring general instructions or do you need to follow other instructions found somewhere else?
First, get rid of all static electricity in your system, simply, just touch something metal.

Assemble it on a table on top of your motherboard box to make sure everything is in working order before you put it in your case.

Put it in the case, hide the cables behind the back of the mobo tray. Grab some zip ties, etc...

If you have a SSD, make sure you follow this SSD guide

Software Engineer in Satellite CommunicationsFaceepalm Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathelm go_quote.gif

Office + 3 monitors = more than 8gb.
rolleyes.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paratrooper1n0 go_quote.gif

A PC from 2000 can play Crysis at 20FPS. Playable.
Apparently 20 FPS is playable kookoo.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by DinaAngel go_quote.gif

how come i get 30 more fps with 16 gb than 8gb?
Aparently un-used ram can give you a 30 FPS boost! doh.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by fr0st. go_quote.gif

Your motherboard burst into flames.

No, you cannot use it.
Clubs/Validations (Click to show)
Ironman517 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 184 Old 10-12-2012, 04:26 PM
WaterCooler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pasco, WA
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLFCOUNSELOR View Post

My parts are officially here. I really don't want to mess anything up so is there a step by step process I should follow?
I'm still at work but I just saw UPS is out there with the last orders. I haven't had a chance to look inside of everything but does it bring general instructions or do you need to follow other instructions found somewhere else?

A common mistake for a first time builder is to forget to install the motherboard risers so the board does not short out. There are numerous guides on here that will give you step by step instructions on a build. Look at a few of the build threads to see how people went about their build, most will have a ton of pictures. There is also a hide your cabling thread so people can show pictures of their tricks to hide cables.

For now you can just build your system and enjoy your new toy. There is always times to tweak things later. You'll find out how addicting and satisfying it is to build your own setup.

Mercyflush64 is offline  
post #123 of 184 Old 10-13-2012, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter
First Time Build
 
WOLFCOUNSELOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have everything put together but I have no idea how to tell if the power supply is getting power at all or how to test out the build without putting everything into the case. I was watching a video on it but all he does is tap two pins with a screw driver which I don't think my mother board has. I have the Asrock B75 pro 3.

WOLFCOUNSELOR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #124 of 184 Old 10-13-2012, 02:18 PM - Thread Starter
First Time Build
 
WOLFCOUNSELOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
vu7ate3u.jpg


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

WOLFCOUNSELOR is offline  
post #125 of 184 Old 10-13-2012, 02:50 PM
WaterCooler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pasco, WA
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
What he did was jump the power connector that would go to your case on/off button. If everything went together smoothly and you didn't have to force any connections to fit I would just go ahead and complete your build. Just take your time and go over all of your connections, especially from the case to the m/b to make sure the +/- are correct and you should be just fine. If things don't start up just go over every connection, it is almost always something little you over looked vs. a bad part.

One thing most people will advise you on after seeing that picture is as soon as you can replace that stock cooler on your cpu. They are loud and don't cool very well under load. A decent after market cooler can run you $30-70 but is well worth it and can knock 10c off of your temp easily. Just remember that not all of them will come with a fan so you need to check on if you have to add one to the purchase.

Mercyflush64 is offline  
post #126 of 184 Old 10-13-2012, 02:55 PM
Commodore 64
 
axium's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLFCOUNSELOR View Post

vu7ate3u.jpg


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
The cooler master hyper 212+ is seriously the best $20 investment I have ever made on my pc. Get that if you have room for it to fit

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

axium is offline  
post #127 of 184 Old 10-13-2012, 03:10 PM - Thread Starter
First Time Build
 
WOLFCOUNSELOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Which build tutorials do you recommend for putting everything in the case?

WOLFCOUNSELOR is offline  
post #128 of 184 Old 10-13-2012, 03:58 PM - Thread Starter
First Time Build
 
WOLFCOUNSELOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by axium View Post

The cooler master hyper 212+ is seriously the best $20 investment I have ever made on my pc. Get that if you have room for it to fit
Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Do I really need this if I am not planning on overclocking?

WOLFCOUNSELOR is offline  
post #129 of 184 Old 10-13-2012, 04:27 PM
WaterCooler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pasco, WA
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
The cooler you keep your system the longer your cpu will last. That is why people water cool and hide their cabling to increase airflow etc. You will not need it right away but once winter is over I would advise it as you are in Florida and it gets warm and humid. You have time before you need to worry about it. By then you will know a ton about your system and your own particular needs. Visit the different forums here and learn all you can.

Mercyflush64 is offline  
post #130 of 184 Old 10-13-2012, 07:18 PM - Thread Starter
First Time Build
 
WOLFCOUNSELOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My video card fan is extremely loud. Is that normal?

Sent from my PG86100 using Tapatalk 2


WOLFCOUNSELOR is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off