3K, 3D & Video & Audio Editing Workstation - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 11-02-2012, 03:03 PM - Thread Starter
 
ice13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Shabbat Shalom everyone smile.gif

I’m Inon, Full Time Freelance from Tel aviv, Israel.

I’m Working with Maya, Zbrush, RealFlow, After Effects, Avid Media Composer, Avid Pro Tools 10 With Pro Tools Mbox Mini 3.


Approximate Purchase Date: this week

Budget Range: 2500-3500


*************************************************************************************

My configuration:

Intel 3930K : CORE I7, S2011, 3.2GHz

ASUS P9X79

G.SKILL 32GB (4X8GB) DDR3 1600 CL10 - RipjawsZ

PNY-QUADRO 4000 2GB GDDR5

Corsair Obsidian 650D

Seasonic M12II 620W - MODULAR

SCYTHE MUGEN III REVB

OCZ SSD VERTEX4 128GB SATA III (OS)

OCZ SSD VERTEX4 256GB SATA III (After effects Projects)

SEAGATE 3TB SATA3 7200RPM


I'd love to hear your opinion, and get suggestions for changes and improvements
ice13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 11-02-2012, 03:09 PM
Audiophile
 
lostmage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Looks like a good build. The only thing I might do would be to swap out that cooler (which is already a pretty darn good one) with something a bit heftier, like a closed loop water cooler, I.E. an H100, or an NH-D14, so you could pull a good overclock with that 3930k, oh and remember some good thermal compound.
lostmage is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 11-02-2012, 03:51 PM - Thread Starter
 
ice13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
You're right, I'll go with the H100 and Arctic Silver 5

I wonder about a few things:
1. Upgrade to G.Skill Trident X DDR3-2400, Worth the price?
2. Downgrade Corsair Obsidian 650D to Corsair Carbide 400R
3. Seasonic M12II 620W - MODULAR- Is Good Enough for this system?
ice13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 11-02-2012, 04:39 PM
Commodore 64
 
davepk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4

I would go with 2x 256GB vertex4 and combine them in a raid0 for much better performance.

And, if you prefer a separate OS and working drive you can partition the raid0 into 2 drives.

I think you'll find 128GB too small for the OS and all those Apps. SSDs dont like to be filled up and the V4s prefer to be no more than 50% full.

davepk is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 11-02-2012, 05:25 PM - Thread Starter
 
ice13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Good Advice!

http://www.techradar.com/reviews/pc-mac/pc-components/storage/disk-drives-hdd-ssd/ocz-vertex-4-512gb-raid0-1099598/review

There are differences in performance between the 2x 256GB to the 512GB SSD Vertex 4?

Some reviews say To avoid OCZ and buy the Crucial M4 Despite the positive Benchmarkes.
What do you recommend?
ice13 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 11-02-2012, 05:38 PM - Thread Starter
 
ice13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Prices In My Country:
CRUCIAL SSD M4 2x 256GB- 580$
CRUCIAL SSD M4 512GB- 600$
OCZ Vertex 4 2x 256GB - 620$
OCZ Vertex 4 512GB- 750$

If I'm working on Avid Media Composer via SSD drive with files that are located on the same drive, it will hurt the performance?
ice13 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 11-02-2012, 06:56 PM
Audiophile
 
lostmage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by ice13 View Post

You're right, I'll go with the H100 and Arctic Silver 5
I wonder about a few things:
1. Upgrade to G.Skill Trident X DDR3-2400, Worth the price?
2. Downgrade Corsair Obsidian 650D to Corsair Carbide 400R
3. Seasonic M12II 620W - MODULAR- Is Good Enough for this system?

I would go for something like MX-2 at least in place of AS5. AS5 is alright, but there are much better pastes out there. I use MX-2 now for everything cause it dropped my temps by about 5C from AS5 from what I've seen. Also, I use a 4gbx2 kit of Trident X in my rig. Pretty good stuff for the price, especially for an Intel machine. Intel tends to favour freq. over timings, and that ram fits the bill pretty well for the price.

Oh, and Crucial M4s should last you forever. There are faster options out there, but they're well regarded as being incredibly reliable drives.

Edit- Make sure you have enough space for the H100 if you jump for it. It sounds silly, but it's always worth double checking to make sure.
lostmage is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 11-02-2012, 08:54 PM
Commodore 64
 
davepk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
There are any number of other SSDs that would suffice for your needs. I chose the V4 for its exceptional write performance as most newer SSDs already max out 6Gbps SATA3 bandwidth on reads.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ice13 View Post

If I'm working on Avid Media Composer via SSD drive with files that are located on the same drive, it will hurt the performance?

You will have two Intel controlled 6Gbps SATA3 connectors to work with. If you want to maximize the performance you see and use from those ports you will RAID0 2 SSDs from those two ports.

As you can see from that review above RAID0 wont help out that much when dealing with small files like those that make up your windows OS.

However, it will make a huge difference with the larger files you plan to work with.

I doubt your performance will be hurt by having all files (OS + working data) on the same large raid0 drive.

And, even if there is a small performance hit from combining OS and working data it will be more than made up for by the raid0 performance.

With that said, if its a fast working drive you are looking for then you should consider maxing your ram memory to 64GB (8x 8GB) and allocating 48GB to a ram drive. After all thats one of the main benefits of going with the X79 platform.

If a 48GB working drive is big enough for your needs then you might get by with a single 256GB SSD for your OS.Trade the cost of one SSD for the cost of 8x 8GB ram over the 4x 8GB you'd likely get anyway.

You might even go for a single 512GB SSD and 8x 8GB of ram. Then later on if the ram drive proves insufficient you can simply add another SSD for the raid0 setup.

Anyway, food for thought.

davepk is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 11-02-2012, 09:07 PM
 
linuxfueled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Why u be hatin yo?
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Six core CPU for Intel 3930 for your software looks great. Seeing as this is a business build I would stay away from any water cooling (I use it every day for gaming). At some point your water cooling will go bad whether it's a pump or a leak. RAID 0 is a bad idea for critical information such as your livelihood. At least go RAID 0+1 for redundancy or have an external backup. Having used water cooling since 1995, they all fail at some point and you do not want your business effected by this!

Xeon W3520 @4.115 GHz HT on . Water cooled P6T Deluxe 2.0 GTX 970
Xeon w3520 @4.115 GHz HT on Water cooled P6T Green ATI R9 280x
linuxfueled is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 11-02-2012, 11:51 PM - Thread Starter
 
ice13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just to make sure I understand what you mean- Are suggesting to make A RamDisk of 48 And To Makes My edits On it? Like In this Tutorial:
http://www.pcworld.com/article/260918/how_to_supercharge_your_pc_with_a_ram_disk.html?page=2

But Maybe I can install the software on the RamDrive? It will make a difference in performance from the SSD?
I do not care that the boot takes a long time

What About 128GB ram For OS, 256GB FOR Projects?
My OS And Program Files Right now- 108, And I Expects it to be less In the new System because i will install Less Softwares
.
I would love give up on the Water Colling system, its much more expensive than the SCYTHE MUGEN III REVB, and in any case I do not think I overclock in the near future.
Safety Is Above All when you building A Workstashion
ice13 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off