Is there a good i7 3770K batch number? - Page 21 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #201 of 467 Old 03-19-2013, 03:24 PM
Data Recovery Engineer
 
Lord Xeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Behind you
Posts: 20,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1339
Send a message via AIM to Lord Xeb
Quote:
Originally Posted by enigma7820 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by byomes View Post

I did run the sammy low volt sticks at 2133 (1.55v) when OCing to 4.7. I got an error in one of the workers in prime but couldn't pin point the issue. Now that you mention it, it could have been the ram.
Now @ 1866 10-10-10-28 1T (1.500v) on 4.5ghz 1.200v. Going to try 4.7 again this afternoon with the current ram configs.

Just wondering what speeds are you running your ram on the 4.8 oc?

here is my current overclock and ram settings but I have 16gb or Samsung ram so just remember I will need slightly more voltage than you on my sticks since I have 4. I seem to get best results at the lowest possible latency plus I don't have to worry about overclocking my imc provides for a higher stable overclock usually. I see an improved scores on cinebench with lower timings vs higher frequency but better ram benches with have frequencys and higher timings. But since I use my cpu for gaming I stick with lower timings and stock 1600mhz. Also it took me 5 chips to get a good one so I am not lucky and am relentless.


You got a nice little chop there.

I had a 2500k that would do 5 at 1.352v... then my board died and killed it.

Only fools do not BACKUP their DATA!.
"Everyone is an expert in something. Never approach an interaction thinking someone is otherwise. Knowledge is acquired not earned. Always be humble and wise. Never look down on others for simply being ignorant within your realm of expertise."
-
looniam ~ there's only one thing left to do:sacrifice a chicken to call upon the great Lord Xeb
Lord Xeb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #202 of 467 Old 03-19-2013, 04:08 PM
Intel Overclocker
 
enigma7820's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Illinois, Chicago
Posts: 1,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
yea I can do 5ghz but it need 1.45 to be stable. I also like to keep it under 1.35v for 24/7 and 85c. I love overclocking but I also don't want to upgrade until after haswell. So I need a couple years.

skull.gif[Official] Delidded Crewman skull.gif
post-flame-small.gif[=]_.=5 GHz Overclock Club=._[/]post-flame-small.gif
enigma7820 is offline  
post #203 of 467 Old 03-19-2013, 06:35 PM
Intel Overclocker
 
enigma7820's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Illinois, Chicago
Posts: 1,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by byomes View Post

I did run the sammy low volt sticks at 2133 (1.55v) when OCing to 4.7. I got an error in one of the workers in prime but couldn't pin point the issue. Now that you mention it, it could have been the ram.
Now @ 1866 10-10-10-28 1T (1.500v) on 4.5ghz 1.200v. Going to try 4.7 again this afternoon with the current ram configs.

Just wondering what speeds are you running your ram on the 4.8 oc?

also at 1.35v I can do 1866mhz at 9-10-9-27 1t with all 16 gigs just as a reference 1.5v is too much for 1866

skull.gif[Official] Delidded Crewman skull.gif
post-flame-small.gif[=]_.=5 GHz Overclock Club=._[/]post-flame-small.gif
enigma7820 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #204 of 467 Old 03-19-2013, 07:01 PM
Overclocker
 
cmac68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Yea I have my Sammy's @ 1866MHz 9-9-9-24 1T with 1.4v using 4x4Gb.

"...it's only after you've lost everything that you're free to do anything..." -Tyler Durden
cmac68 is offline  
post #205 of 467 Old 03-20-2013, 12:38 PM
If I motor boat, she gonna motorbike
 
$ilent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: England, United Kingdom
Posts: 15,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 550
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Xeb View Post

You got a nice little chop there.

I had a 2500k that would do 5 at 1.352v... then my board died and killed it.

Damm that sucks
$ilent is offline  
post #206 of 467 Old 03-20-2013, 06:35 PM
Overclocker in Training
 
josephimports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: IL
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Superpi 3770K 3229B

50x 1.29v in bios to boot. ET6 to manually lower vcore.


50x 1.260v 32M



50x 1.250v 1M



50x 1.240v superPI 1M crashed on the second loop. Not too shabby.
josephimports is offline  
post #207 of 467 Old 03-20-2013, 07:22 PM
I'm no longer an Asushole
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Here nor there
Posts: 25,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
Had to bump up the vcore again...

Finally dialed in stable settings.
Batch 3237B803

grunion is offline  
post #208 of 467 Old 03-20-2013, 07:55 PM
Programmer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunion View Post

Had to bump up the vcore again...

Finally dialed in stable settings.
Batch 3237B803

Nice. thumb.gif

Creative X-Fi Titanium HD > Firestone Cute Beyond > Denon AH-D2000
MakubeX is offline  
post #209 of 467 Old 03-21-2013, 10:59 AM
If I motor boat, she gonna motorbike
 
$ilent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: England, United Kingdom
Posts: 15,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 550
Quote:
Originally Posted by josephimports View Post

Superpi 3770K 3229B

50x 1.29v in bios to boot. ET6 to manually lower vcore.


50x 1.260v 32M



50x 1.250v 1M



50x 1.240v superPI 1M crashed on the second loop. Not too shabby.

Eh so you cant boot with 1.25v but you booot with 1.29v and lower?
$ilent is offline  
post #210 of 467 Old 03-27-2013, 08:14 AM
 
nemm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
RMA arrived, 3228B158, fingers crossed it is at least the same as last but hopefully better. Will post a follow up with my findings later.

Things seem a lot better with this chip and it is the best to date

Running with follow test setting on Prime95 blend with 90% ram for 20min initial test making sure no logged WHEA errors.
Ambient temp is 22/23deg

4.6 @ 1.300vcc temps 72-85-84-73
4.7 @ 1.300vcc temps 74-85-85-73
4.8 @ 1.330vcc temps 76-92-92-78
4.9 @ 1.408vcc temps 84-102-103-89 *stopped on 16min

As you can see I have hit a temperature wall, 4.8 is the highest I will push this cpu unless I decide to delid.

Much better batch this time around, 4th try lucky smile.gif
nemm is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off