Upgrade? Sidegrade? ... help me figure it out! - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 10-03-2013, 08:30 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Odyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 68
So, I helped my uncle get a PC and he found a really good deal on craigslist... the computer might be better than mine. Anyways, I currently have a 2500k that can 4.5 @ 1.3v 100% of the time and a 670 4GB that has a medium OC potential.

My Uncle has a 2600k... untested and a 7970 (not sure if ghz edition).

Would swapping these out be an upgrade? Even 1% i'm cool with, lol. Or, which combination is the best.... let me know! smile.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riou go_quote.gif
Anything can be a success if the bar is set low enough. Congrats Intel!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elite GunnerX go_quote.gif
I just ordered a cup of coffee from a BP gas station. The attendant spilled it. Why am I not surprised?
Odyn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 10-03-2013, 08:36 AM
PC Gamer
 
pure_cure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: South Africa
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What boards are you guys using?

pure_cure is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 10-03-2013, 08:39 AM
Live Life Living
 
SmokinWaffle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kent, South East UK
Posts: 11,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 435
The 2600k would help you in some games that take advantage of HT, but that isn't many. It'd also help you in applications that need more cores like video rendering and such.

Other than that, it's a sidegrade. Unless you are getting them for free, I wouldn't do it.

♪ ❤ ♫

1 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge Participant 

SmokinWaffle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 10-03-2013, 08:39 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Odyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I have the one listed in my sig, he has a newer p77 or something. Unfortunately I don't have the exact details... does the board matter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riou go_quote.gif
Anything can be a success if the bar is set low enough. Congrats Intel!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elite GunnerX go_quote.gif
I just ordered a cup of coffee from a BP gas station. The attendant spilled it. Why am I not surprised?
Odyn is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 10-03-2013, 08:40 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Odyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokinWaffle View Post

The 2600k would help you in some games that take advantage of HT, but that isn't many. It'd also help you in applications that need more cores like video rendering and such.

Other than that, it's a sidegrade. Unless you are getting them for free, I wouldn't do it.


100% for free. He doesn't need that much horsepower. All I have to do is go over there with my computer and POOF, mine! smile.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riou go_quote.gif
Anything can be a success if the bar is set low enough. Congrats Intel!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elite GunnerX go_quote.gif
I just ordered a cup of coffee from a BP gas station. The attendant spilled it. Why am I not surprised?
Odyn is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 10-03-2013, 08:43 AM
PC Gamer
 
pure_cure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: South Africa
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Newer board, newer features. Personally I'd do it. If I were to take a guess I'd say his machine is about 8~10% better. Without taking overclocking into account.

pure_cure is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 10-03-2013, 08:46 AM
PC Gamer
 
pure_cure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: South Africa
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm pretty sure you need a Z77 to run a K series CPU though...

pure_cure is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 10-03-2013, 06:54 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Odyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 68
P8p67 evo man. It should run it just fine. Mine is a k series and it runs fine lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riou go_quote.gif
Anything can be a success if the bar is set low enough. Congrats Intel!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elite GunnerX go_quote.gif
I just ordered a cup of coffee from a BP gas station. The attendant spilled it. Why am I not surprised?
Odyn is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off