[Official] - Xeon X5660-X58 Review & Discussion [and Xeon L5639 benchmarks inside] - Page 690 - Overclock.net

View Poll Results: Was my review helpful?
Yes 246 95.35%
No 12 4.65%
Voters: 258. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6891 of 8006 Old 06-03-2016, 02:45 PM
4.0 GHz
 
CrazyNightOwl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Mother Russia
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Send a message via Skype™ to CrazyNightOwl
Great, thank you, going to monitor that. Still unclear how CPU frame times can be related to video memory. I've been posting these issues here because I've always been sure it's a CPU quality or CPU setup issue, else it would surely be off-topic.

CrazyNightOwl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6892 of 8006 Old 06-03-2016, 02:53 PM
4.0 GHz
 
gofasterstripes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
If you run out of available VRAM ("memory") then things start to be swapped out through the PCIE bus, and this causes stuttering as the access to RAM is much slower than to VRAM.
gofasterstripes is offline  
post #6893 of 8006 Old 06-03-2016, 03:33 PM
4.0 GHz
 
CrazyNightOwl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Mother Russia
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Send a message via Skype™ to CrazyNightOwl
I understand how this makes the GPU slower, but look at teh screenshots: the CPU frame times are oscillating as well!

And, why would the GPU swap out in a perfect rhytm, about every second or so?

Can we split this out into a separate topic in some technical issue subforum please? It probably violates the rules being here as it is.

CrazyNightOwl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6894 of 8006 Old 06-03-2016, 03:40 PM
 
GENXLR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Your CPU can receive interrupts from the PCI-E bus and it requires the CPU to pass data from the PCI-E to the IMC to be stored in the RAM
GENXLR is offline  
post #6895 of 8006 Old 06-03-2016, 03:42 PM
4.0 GHz
 
CrazyNightOwl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Mother Russia
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Send a message via Skype™ to CrazyNightOwl
Observed that the spikes occur regularly even when the memory is at 555 MB, which is lower than the 768 MB limit. Hence it's unrelated I guess.

GENXLR, what kind of interrupt, when does it occur?

Edit: ALso, how would you explain the oscillating nature of those CPU lags?

CrazyNightOwl is offline  
post #6896 of 8006 Old 06-03-2016, 08:06 PM
WaterCooler
 
DRKreiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Chicago
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyNightOwl View Post

Observed that the spikes occur regularly even when the memory is at 555 MB, which is lower than the 768 MB limit. Hence it's unrelated I guess.

GENXLR, what kind of interrupt, when does it occur?

Edit: ALso, how would you explain the oscillating nature of those CPU lags?

Well the next step is to turn off HT in the bios, try to run the game again and check the spikes.
Keep the GPUZ sensors tab open, open task manager, open the performance tab, and stretch it out. you are looking for corresponding spikes in memory load, CPU usage, Vram usage, and Processes that come to the very top at the same time.

Another thing to consider is to run another game, and test that. You could have a program specific problem.

Download an old version of Nvidia drivers, perform a clean install. You also could have a corrupt, or problematic driver too

cigar.gif W3680 @ 4.55ghz 1.33V's 24/7 | Rampage III Extreme | 24gb Ballistix Tactical LP @ 2133 9-9-9-27 1.55v's. cigar.gif
DRKreiger is offline  
post #6897 of 8006 Old 06-03-2016, 08:36 PM
4.0 GHz
 
CrazyNightOwl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Mother Russia
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Send a message via Skype™ to CrazyNightOwl
Tested with {HT,EIST, C-states, Turbo, VT-x} off at the same time. Same =]

They disappear over time, it seems, as well as under good load. I'm currently downloading BF4 trial to test. Could've done in BFBC2 but there's not built-in graph, unfortunately, it's a lot simpler game in a number of aspects.

Other than that, waiting for Polaris 480/480X thumb.gif

I mean, Cinebench 825 isn't bad for 4 GHz, is it? So the overall performance is alright. I've been priming the memory ofr a good 2 or 3 hours total today, was stable with 1866 8-8-8-24-2T @ 1.55V. Tomorrow I'm going to prime 2000 9-9-9-27 @ 1.58. I wonder if it's possible to do 2000 8-8-8-24 just like you do with yours. LP's and the 1.5V ones are slightly different, it seems.

CrazyNightOwl is offline  
post #6898 of 8006 Old 06-03-2016, 09:04 PM
WaterCooler
 
DRKreiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Chicago
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyNightOwl View Post

Tested with {HT,EIST, C-states, Turbo, VT-x} off at the same time. Same =]

They disappear over time, it seems, as well as under good load. I'm currently downloading BF4 trial to test. Could've done in BFBC2 but there's not built-in graph, unfortunately, it's a lot simpler game in a number of aspects.

Other than that, waiting for Polaris 480/480X thumb.gif

I mean, Cinebench 825 isn't bad for 4 GHz, is it? So the overall performance is alright. I've been priming the memory ofr a good 2 or 3 hours total today, was stable with 1866 8-8-8-24-2T @ 1.55V. Tomorrow I'm going to prime 2000 9-9-9-27 @ 1.58. I wonder if it's possible to do 2000 8-8-8-24 just like you do with yours. LP's and the 1.5V ones are slightly different, it seems.

I run them @ 1926 8-8-8-24 1T, anything higher at those timings causes instability. I can run the 9's timings at 2000, mhz, but the gain is minimal. Tighter timings seem to be better at the right frequency. My TRFC is at 232, Tfaw 24, leave the Trfc on auto, and it should set on it's own. set the TFAW to 24 manually. this will help with latency a bit.
Another option you may have is differential amplitude. I have that set to 700 mv. seems to help produce the best stability and throughput.
check if you have AI clock skew too. I have my CPU, and IOH skews both set to -300ps


Other than the BF3 being difficult, your system is quite formidable. Adding a stronger GFX card will be a huge upgrade.

cigar.gif W3680 @ 4.55ghz 1.33V's 24/7 | Rampage III Extreme | 24gb Ballistix Tactical LP @ 2133 9-9-9-27 1.55v's. cigar.gif
DRKreiger is offline  
post #6899 of 8006 Old 06-04-2016, 10:37 AM
4.0 GHz
 
CrazyNightOwl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Mother Russia
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Send a message via Skype™ to CrazyNightOwl
So I've been testing BF4 trial for a good few hours today and there's no stutter, the line is more or less even, of course the GPU can't handle that game at high FPS, but 1600x1050 averages at 60-80 FPS I think. Not bad overall, for a platform that's many years older than the game. Wonder what I might achieve with a GPU swap.

Other than that, is the QPI speed or the Uncore speed crucial for not "bottlenecking" a high-end GPU? I've looked around in the Passmark (PETest8 to be exact) database and he GTX 970 scores on X58 6-cores are generally lower than those on the modern systems, the difference being quite high, I think as high as 30% in some submissions. What are those guys doing wrong and what should I do to make sure a GP like the GTX 970 / RX 480(X) runs about as fast as on a Skylake (if that's possible)? I hear people saying "old platform" and "GPU bottleneck" as well as "chipset features" all over the place, and while the "chipset features" are understandable, the other two generally sound like marketing cliches to me.

CrazyNightOwl is offline  
post #6900 of 8006 Old 06-04-2016, 10:40 AM
Mobo Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyNightOwl View Post

DrKrieger, let's try to get the max out of this RAM at 1866 MHz, that's probably going to be my setup for a while. I mean tuning the timings and voltages - know very little yet about RAM setup and tweaking. Thank you!

Nevermind, figured out the RAM, but..

Adhmuz your graph makes me want to cry. Post your complete settings please. At the moment I nothing but stutter and lag even at my old settings - 4.1 GHz with 186 BCLK... New RAM seems to be even worse, maybe I'll just RMA it frown.gif

Limiting framrate to 120 gives me an almost perfect line, but then GPU stutter every 1 second appears. Like, every 1 second, regular stutter spikes. I can see them green on the graph.

Other than that, a lot of "noise" - the graph is very noisy compared to yours.

So please post your settings - right now it looks like i'll have to sell this junk (poor person who buys it) and go X79.

My settings for what? My OC or my in-game settings?

Adhmuz is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off