What else can we overclock? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 04-22-2014, 08:59 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Prophet4NO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 162
So, looking for other things to play with and tinker on that I may have overlooked. He is what I have so far.

Mobo - Rampage IV Extreme
CPU - 4930K @ 4.6Ghz 1.37v
RAM - Dominator Platinum 2133 9-11-11-31 @ 2400 9-11-11-31 (still playing with timings)
GPUs - 3-way 780's +50 GPU +200 vRAM / +100 and +300 for benchmarks.


I tried doing the new monitor OC feature nVidia added some time ago, but it does not work in surround. Any other oddball stuff in the BIOS we can tweak for a little more gain? Or even stuff that can be tweaked in the OS? Just looking for stuff I never thought of to play with.
Prophet4NO1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 04-23-2014, 05:14 PM
 
Misso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
You can overclock your northbridge if you're that keen, however I've never really found it that beneficial.
Assuming you're using Windows, there's some system performance settings you can muck around with, and depending on the version (Home, Pro, Ultimate etc) there are actually a whole heap of cool little things in there. Right click computer>Properties>Advanced System Settings>Performance Settings. Have a play



4GHz is no longer anything special frown.gif

Q9550 @ 4.0GHz proof.gif

i5 2500K @ 5.0GHz proof.gif
Misso is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 04-23-2014, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Prophet4NO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Don't have north bridge on X79. Could maybe do the PCH, maybe?
Prophet4NO1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 Old 04-23-2014, 10:25 PM
Who Watches the Watchmen?
 
nleksan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 661
Push the BCLK. I can push it to the limit (about 109.4 for my chip on ambient water) with the multi at 48-49 and not need a single bit more vcore until 107.2.
I recommend reading the OC guides because you need to adjust CPU/PCIE offset (-2/-20) and a few others.

It can get you a significant amount of extra speed both CPU and memory, if the latter is capable.

"The world breaks everyone and afterward many are strong at the broken places"Ernest Hemingway
sniper.gifS.T.A.L.K.E.R FAN CLUB aaskull.gif

~*~ THE TAO OF BACKUP ~*~

PLEASE DOUBLE-CHECK ANY ANSWERS I MAY PROVIDE, AS I AM HUMAN AND QUITE FALLIBLE
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Samsung Galaxy Nexus - Rooted & Running JBSourcery FINAL & LeanKernel Experimental
nleksan is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 04-23-2014, 10:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ultra-m-a-n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Kaiserslautern, Germany
Posts: 1,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 111
if you put the gpus under water you could bios hack them so you can overvolt the cores to push your overclock further
Ultra-m-a-n is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 04-23-2014, 10:27 PM
4387 point(s) total
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 65,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4426
Overclock your router!

To answer most of your questions: (1) a fridge cannot cool a PC (2) 64-bit OS for over 3.4GB (3) If a PCIe card fits, it should work (4) Resolution, not screen size (5) Report, not respond to Spam (6) Single-Rail/Non-Modular PSUs are not always better than Multi-Rail/Modular (7) Sequential does not matter as much as random for OS drives (8) Requirements come before hardware for servers

DuckieHo is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 04-23-2014, 10:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ultra-m-a-n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Kaiserslautern, Germany
Posts: 1,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 111
overclock your cellphone!
Ultra-m-a-n is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 04-24-2014, 08:04 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Prophet4NO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultra-m-a-n View Post

if you put the gpus under water you could bios hack them so you can overvolt the cores to push your overclock further

In the works!
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuckieHo View Post

Overclock your router!

Asus RTN16 with Tomato, already cranked it up a bit. biggrin.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultra-m-a-n View Post

overclock your cellphone!

Windows Phone, Lumia 1520. Have not found a hacked OS for it that allows that, yet.
Prophet4NO1 is online now  
post #9 of 14 Old 04-24-2014, 10:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Apparently it's possible to overclock SSDs somehow, but I wouldn't bother.
A blue screen from a bad CPU/GPU OC is fine, but data corruption isn't cool.

Shadow11377 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 04-24-2014, 11:02 AM
PC Gamer
 
mothrpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 75
gaming consoles? i remember reading about people overclocking the psp years ago and got better performance.

mothrpe is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off