[Official] - X58 Xeon Club - - Page 890 - Overclock.net

View Poll Results: How many years have you owned your X58 - Tylersburg platofrm?
More than 1 year 52 10.46%
More than 2 years 24 4.83%
More than 3 years 41 8.25%
More than 4 years 54 10.87%
More than 5 years 113 22.74%
More than 6 years 213 42.86%
Voters: 497. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8891 of 13392 Old 08-07-2016, 01:55 PM
4.0 GHz
 
gofasterstripes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Looks great man.

I don't use the SATA 3's - AFAIK they're actually slower than the ICH. I use the USB 3's, but don't own any USB 3 devices. Windows 10's drivers seem to have taken care of most things, but I always install Energy Saver to use the ?LLC control? it enables. I leave LLC off in BIOS, but run Energy Saver in background as it slightly reduced the Vdroop, the same as it did on the UD3 before it. I think I also installed the latest chipset driver... though exactly wherefrom - I forget.

Are you planning on SLI? I had to use a PCIE extender to get enough physical separation between my cards if I used the best slots.

Here's my layout, it seems to cool the chipset and VRM's OK. The casefans are not especially powerful, but their proximity (and the Zalman) seem to keep everything chilled.





Case tipped on front here, and I didn't keep the DIY shroud either. The side panel has a few slats, so it draws cold air in right over the CPU and some over the GPUs too. Runs cooler closed! smile.gif

Happy building smile.gif
gofasterstripes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8892 of 13392 Old 08-07-2016, 02:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Thanks man, so does yours smile.gif

No, just using one VGA card...

What's up with the USB headers on the bottom? Is one of them 3.0? I don't have a 3.0 port on my case, if I plug a 2.0 header on it will it work?

OCmember is offline  
post #8893 of 13392 Old 08-07-2016, 02:11 PM
4.0 GHz
 
gofasterstripes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
I have two pairs of ports on the front of my case, I think I used one of each type. I then coloured the metal surround blue tongue.gif
gofasterstripes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8894 of 13392 Old 08-07-2016, 02:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by gofasterstripes View Post

I have two pairs of ports on the front of my case, I think I used one of each type. I then coloured the metal surround blue tongue.gif

lol, ok smile.gif just checking if they'd work, lol

Thanks for the help so far,

Cheers!

OCmember is offline  
post #8895 of 13392 Old 08-07-2016, 03:11 PM
4.0 GHz
 
gofasterstripes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Energy Saver also makes the onboard temp and phase LED's work biggrin.gif
gofasterstripes is offline  
post #8896 of 13392 Old 08-07-2016, 03:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by gofasterstripes View Post

Energy Saver also makes the onboard temp and phase LED's work biggrin.gif

How does the bios look? Not even sure which one is installed. I read that since FC it supports the W series

OCmember is offline  
post #8897 of 13392 Old 08-07-2016, 03:53 PM
4.0 GHz
 
gofasterstripes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39








No idea about W's.



It's not me on the horse wink.gif
gofasterstripes is offline  
post #8898 of 13392 Old 08-07-2016, 04:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Didn't know you liked horsies, lol tongue.gif

Thanks for the pics, much appreciaed! Looks like I should be able to navigate around fairly easy. Bout to install the loop. I'll edit this with a pic when I'm done.

OCmember is offline  
post #8899 of 13392 Old 08-07-2016, 05:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
@gofasterstripes is the PCIe-1_2 slot (just above the main PCIe-16x) on the IOH hub or is it linked by DMI from the south bridge?

OCmember is offline  
post #8900 of 13392 Old 08-07-2016, 05:43 PM
4.0 GHz
 
gofasterstripes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
gofasterstripes is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off