New black and white build - Page 3 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 53 Old 02-24-2016, 09:25 AM - Thread Starter
 
Mattuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I need a last advice on RAMs, I heard that 3000mhz xl15 corsair's xmp profile was not working really well on some motherboards with 5820k, is it true?
Mattuz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 53 Old 02-24-2016, 09:32 AM
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2696
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattuz View Post

I need a last advice on RAMs, I heard that 3000mhz xl15 corsair's xmp profile was not working really well on some motherboards with 5820k, is it true?
All RAM with speeds above 2666 might not work with a 5820K CPU, updating the BIOS helps in a lot of cases but not all.

shilka is online now  
post #23 of 53 Old 02-24-2016, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter
 
Mattuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Ok, I'll try to google it up.
For being sure, what ram would you put in this rig?
Mattuz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 53 Old 02-24-2016, 10:19 AM
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2696
Since X99 dont really use the higher RAM speed i would just stick with 2666 MHz.

shilka is online now  
post #25 of 53 Old 02-24-2016, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
 
Mattuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Mattuz is offline  
post #26 of 53 Old 02-24-2016, 11:03 AM
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2696
I would pay the 17 euros exra for a 2666 Mhz kit.
But otherwise yes.

shilka is online now  
post #27 of 53 Old 02-24-2016, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
 
Mattuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
So that's the final configuration:

PHANTEKS P400S
Bequiet! Dark power pro 11 850W o EVGA SuperNOVA G2 850W
MSI Krait x99a
Intel i7 5820K
Bequiet! Dark Rock 3 (or a better <= 160mm cpu heatsink if you know it)
Kingston DDR4 HyperX Savage 16gb 2666Mhz Cl13 (4x4)
Sapphire r9 390 8gb TriX
Samsung PRO 850 250gb
Western Digital blue 1tb (WD10EZEX)
White mod cables
Asus external USB DVD writer
Phanteks RGB led stripe
Mattuz is offline  
post #28 of 53 Old 02-24-2016, 11:26 AM
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2696
Let me give you some advice based on my own experience with the Phanteks LED strip.
I have a Phanteks LED strip myself and its terrible! the glue is totally useless and cant stick worth a damm so if you are going to get a Phanteks strip better buy some duct tape because you are going to need it.

Get some of the new CableMod LED strips instead those are lightyears better and actually sticks.
CableMod says their glue is 200% more powerfull then everything out there and i can confirm that yes its that much better.

I replaced my Phanteks strip with CableMod strips and the Phanteks strips are a joke compared.
Before and after pictures (Click to show)


So please dont get the Phanteks strips they are a waste of money as they cant stick or light worth a damm.
The CableMod LED strips comes in versions with both glue OR magnetic.

Check out the CableMod thread or their website for more info
CableMod individually paracord braided PSU cables

shilka is online now  
post #29 of 53 Old 02-24-2016, 11:36 AM - Thread Starter
 
Mattuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Ok thank you, I took the Phanteks one only because I wanted to be sure that internal lighting changes colour with the front led. So if these are better and work the same I'll take them thumb.gif
Mattuz is offline  
post #30 of 53 Old 02-24-2016, 11:39 AM
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2696
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattuz View Post

Ok thank you, I took the Phanteks one only because I wanted to be sure that internal lighting changes colour with the front led. So if these are better and work the same I'll take them thumb.gif
The strip wont change color when you change color on the case unless you buy the new Phanteks adaptor they are on their way with.

This thing here
http://www.techpowerup.com/220157/phanteks-announces-asus-aura-ready-rgb-led-adapter.html

If you get an Asus board that has Asus Aura you can synch up the motherboard lights to the LED strips and the case lights.

Trust me the Phanteks LED strips are not worth the money as you saw on my pictures it needs the be held in place with tape as it cant stick worth a damm.
They are also a lot dimmer then the CableMod strips.

Oh right you are going with an MSI X99 board so no you cant do any of the things above so never mind that sory.

shilka is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off