Build for my bud - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 16 Old 03-10-2008, 08:52 AM
3.5ghz
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto, Can
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by budgetgamer View Post
This is why.



How many things actually utilize all four cores?

Overclocked Q6600 v E8400 Compared. (Benchmarks included)


Also look around some, people air hitting 4Ghz+ on AIR

It feels good to be right .... sometimes...
Dotard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 16 Old 03-10-2008, 09:24 AM
4.0ghz
 
Nevaziah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: /home
Posts: 2,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xx573v3xX_Z28 View Post
lol I'd take a 2.4ghz Q6600 over a e8400 at 4.0ghz any day. whats the poin of paying just about 200 dollars for a cpu when you can pay another 40 and get the best cpu there for performance when your gonna spend 60-400 on Cooling just to make it as fast as the quad seems ignorant to me lol
Not ignorant, pointless.
Anyways, I do agree with you on this, the Q6600 make sure you get the GO stepping, CLUBIT.com is sellin em for 239$ before shipping and tax, OEM since you are getting a Tuniq Tower anyways.

Oh and by the way, the GO quad can easily hit 3.6ghz, most of the time it can go up to 3.8ghz on air with temps around 60 degrees. (my B3 can only do 3.4ghz, exept temps go to 65 at that point)

PLEASE READ THIS BEFORE USING FEDEX OR UPS INTERNATIONALLY
Quote:
Left 4 Dead II: Starcraft II: League of Legends: Unreal Tournament III: Battlefield Bad Company 2Using HotKeys and Control Groups in Starcraft 2
Nevaziah is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 03-10-2008, 09:33 AM - Thread Starter
crazy diamond
 
justarealguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The place with the thing
Posts: 8,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 339
Yep, he really want to get the stuff from newegg, so he'll be playing the stepping lottery.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevaziah View Post
Oh and by the way, the GO quad can easily hit 3.6ghz, most of the time it can go up to 3.8ghz on air with temps around 60 degrees.
Ehm, I know...I have my G0 Q6600 to 3.6 >_>

TOS violation? Report it, don't post thumb.gif.

Profanity on OCN? You've been warned.


Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

justarealguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 16 Old 03-10-2008, 09:43 AM
4.0ghz
 
Nevaziah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: /home
Posts: 2,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by budgetgamer View Post
This is why.
...

Also look around some, people air hitting 4Ghz+ on AIR
Quote:
Originally Posted by justarealguy View Post
...

Ehm, I know...I have my G0 Q6600 to 3.6 >_>
that line was actually meant for budgetgamer. As an indicator that 3.8 and 4.0 is a moo point difference. .
I am always so excited when someone's building a new rig. That's why I'm always here!!

PLEASE READ THIS BEFORE USING FEDEX OR UPS INTERNATIONALLY
Quote:
Left 4 Dead II: Starcraft II: League of Legends: Unreal Tournament III: Battlefield Bad Company 2Using HotKeys and Control Groups in Starcraft 2
Nevaziah is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 03-10-2008, 10:02 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 1,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 127
I never said the Q6600 was a bad choice. I just wanted him to know the performance difference between the two. Being that the Q6600 only performs a tiny fraction better (the "stepping lottery" from newegg kinda stinks too)
I personally would choose the e8400 not only to save money now but in the long run too because it is more energy efficient

Just my opinion.

Quote:
My wife use to use it on her desktop, P3, and it was a double click then go get a cookie and milk while it loads situation.
budgetgamer is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 03-10-2008, 10:34 AM
2.4ghz
 
Schroedinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Some of us here think ASUS motherboards are overpriced. If this isn't a RAID system, and on that budget I wouldn't think it was, You can just pick up a Gigabyte DS3L or ABIT IP35-E, save some green and spend it elsewhere.

E8400 rather than Q6600 (save $40)
DS3L rather than ASUS (Save $40)
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 rather than Tunic (save $20)
PSU: ANTEC Earthwatts 500w (save $60)

Does he need memory?

My suggestion would be to put the remaining cash into your graphics card solution, probably a 3870x2 if you can find one cheap.

"The internet is text for people who can't read." -Andrew Eldritch

Schroedinger is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off