C2D Build Approval please... - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 49 Old 03-13-2008, 04:47 PM - Thread Starter
733mhz
 
theemonopolyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Outside of Philadelphia
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Send a message via AIM to theemonopolyguy
Hey everyone,
I've been saving up since December to gather up some money for my new computer. I'm one paycheck away, and have been putting together list of components on newegg for a couple weeks now. After about 30 revisions, This is what I came up with...

- Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 Conroe 2.66GHz $169.99
- ASUS P5N-D LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 750i $149.9
- Western Digital Caviar 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s $99.99
- Evga 8800GTS (G92) - $299.99
- OCZ StealthXStream OCZ600SXS ATX12V / EPS12V 600W $89.99
- Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound $5.99
- ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler $26.99
-Total: $854.02
^Thats with shipping


I already have a case, RAM, and windows Vista Ultimate 32bit
Any advice, comments or anything like that would be great. Thanks in advanced.

Boards I am taking into Consideration...
- ASUS P5E LGA 775 Intel X38 $219.99
- DFI LP LT X38-T2R LGA 775 Intel X38 $269.99
TaiDinh likes this.

(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(") signature to help him gain world domination



theemonopolyguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 49 Old 03-13-2008, 04:50 PM
♫♪.ılılıll|̲̅̅●̲̅̅|̲̅̅=̲̅̅|̲̅̅●̲̅̅|llılılı.♫♪
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jerzey
Posts: 10,625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Send a message via AIM to StormX2
dont knwo a bout that motherboard, id prefer a p35 board instead of a 750i

maybe the DFI DK p35 board?

by the way whats the deal with your sig rig lol

e8400??

and are you not buying ram??
StormX2 is offline  
post #3 of 49 Old 03-13-2008, 04:50 PM
Nom nom nom..
 
Blizzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 3,788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Aren't you forgetting the RAM?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231098

And that motherboard isn't that great. Lets see...
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813127030

Hold on to the calm before the storm comes
Blizzie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 49 Old 03-13-2008, 04:52 PM - Thread Starter
733mhz
 
theemonopolyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Outside of Philadelphia
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Send a message via AIM to theemonopolyguy
Sorry, yes I have the RAM. 2 x 1GB DDR2 667. It will do for now

(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(") signature to help him gain world domination



theemonopolyguy is offline  
post #5 of 49 Old 03-13-2008, 04:57 PM
♫♪.ılılıll|̲̅̅●̲̅̅|̲̅̅=̲̅̅|̲̅̅●̲̅̅|llılılı.♫♪
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jerzey
Posts: 10,625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Send a message via AIM to StormX2
aww dude buy up some cheap ram man, 44 bucks for the gskill and people report 1200 mhz easy with em

DFI DK p35-T2RS

sorry im trying to get the gskill link for you, but my girlfriends 1505 inspiron is disgustingly bad with IE

G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)

you will be happy as hell with this
StormX2 is offline  
post #6 of 49 Old 03-13-2008, 05:03 PM
 
ericeod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 17,402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2741
Spend the extra $20 and at least get the E6750. The E6550 only has a 7 multi and will need a 457 FSB just to run 3.2GHz.

And I would not recommend the 750i board. Go for a Gigabyte DS3L, ASUS P5K-E, DFI Lanparty P35 "Dark" or an Abit IP35 Pro (or IP35-E).

Quote:
Originally Posted by DuckieHo go_quote.gif
Benchmarking is so boring......
eVGA 680i Overclocking guide .......... ASUS P5E/Rampage Formula Thread.......... 4.4GHz CPU-Z

ericeod is offline  
post #7 of 49 Old 03-13-2008, 05:04 PM
Professional GTA 4 Modder
 
G|F.E.A.D|Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Flagstaff AZ
Posts: 13,809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 844
Send a message via MSN to G|F.E.A.D|Killa
that board isnt the best board.only go with a nvidia chipse if sli is in your future.

G|F.E.A.D|Killa is offline  
post #8 of 49 Old 03-13-2008, 05:04 PM - Thread Starter
733mhz
 
theemonopolyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Outside of Philadelphia
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Send a message via AIM to theemonopolyguy
Thanks for the advice, I appreciate it. The reason I picked the motherboard I have now is because it has 2 x PCI Express 2.0 x 16 slots, and supports intels new 45nm chips. I know graphics cards don't use all 32GB of bandwitch or w/e, but it's nice to know that when new cards come out that use close to that, I can take full advantage of there speed. Also, the SLI factor is there, and from what it says, it doesn't run one at like x4 speed on the second card. And I know about the RAM, i'm brining it over from my first incomplete build (the motherboard is ancient...and it's a Jetway, need i say more...?)

(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(") signature to help him gain world domination



theemonopolyguy is offline  
post #9 of 49 Old 03-13-2008, 05:07 PM
♫♪.ılılıll|̲̅̅●̲̅̅|̲̅̅=̲̅̅|̲̅̅●̲̅̅|llılılı.♫♪
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jerzey
Posts: 10,625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Send a message via AIM to StormX2
well then do what you gotta do

i just often find sli to be a waiste unless your a benchmark fruit or run 1920x1200 res or higher monitor ( 24 inch or 30 inch? )
StormX2 is offline  
post #10 of 49 Old 03-13-2008, 05:07 PM - Thread Starter
733mhz
 
theemonopolyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Outside of Philadelphia
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Send a message via AIM to theemonopolyguy
Changed the processor to the E6750. Thanks for that. Newegg doesn't list the multipliers do they...

(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(") signature to help him gain world domination



theemonopolyguy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off