Computer Crashing...help plz - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 04-23-2008, 04:31 PM - Thread Starter
Overclocker in Training
 
nsamuels10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 8
hey guys, so this is the fifth time that my computer has gotten a blue screen everytime i have downloaded itunes. Whenever i download Itunes it works fine until i restart my computer, then i get a blue screen. So i do a system restore until just before i installed it, and sure enough my comp reboots fine everytime. And the wierd thing is that Itunes has been deleted as expected, but quicktime (which is downloaded along with itunes) is still installed, and works beautifully. So i am almost posative that itunes is the problem, and i made sure that i downloaded the right version (64- bit 7.6 version). Yet it still crashes my comp. Any ideas on how to fix this problem? Or do you know why this is happening?
....thanks
2-play likes this.

Waiting for Moore's law to slow down before building the most epic gaming rig of all time.
nsamuels10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-23-2008, 04:35 PM
 
RedFox911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Try
http://www.castlecops.com/t151232-It...e_me_BSOD.html
http://www.afterdawn.com/news/archive/4601.cfm
http://forums.ilounge.com/showthread.php?t=65271

I really dont know what to say, sounds like two programs are conflicting or something.
Something must be quite screwed up. I know this sounds wierd but try reinstalling all your drivers. Do you have good virus protection?

Love to help but i just dont know what to say.
RedFox911 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 04-23-2008, 04:35 PM
News Fiend
 
2-play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
right erm,

first of goto start > run

type msconfig

a box will pop up, goto your startup tab and deselect anything to do with apple, once thats done you will be prompted to restart, that should solve the blue screens if it s related to itunes at all, as no itunes componants will be starting up

try that if that works we will start looking at why

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
2-play is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 04-23-2008, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter
Overclocker in Training
 
nsamuels10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 8
no luck, i reinstalled itunes, then disabled all apple related things in msconfig, and i still got a blue screen, sure enough i system restored to right before i installed itunes, and it worked... any other ideas?

Waiting for Moore's law to slow down before building the most epic gaming rig of all time.
nsamuels10 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 04-23-2008, 05:15 PM
News Fiend
 
2-play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
defo sounds like programs are conflicting now, theres no way of telling really which program it is either

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
2-play is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 04-23-2008, 05:17 PM
I'm no longer an Asushole
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Here nor there
Posts: 25,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
grunion is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-23-2008, 05:30 PM - Thread Starter
Overclocker in Training
 
nsamuels10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 8
i have been downloading the most recent version, should i just wait until the bug gets fixed before i attempt to re install?

Waiting for Moore's law to slow down before building the most epic gaming rig of all time.
nsamuels10 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-23-2008, 05:39 PM
I'm no longer an Asushole
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Here nor there
Posts: 25,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsamuels10 View Post
i have been downloading the most recent version, should i just wait until the bug gets fixed before i attempt to re install?

PM the OP and see if it's fixed.

Chimp Challenge Championship Team  Chimp Challenge Participant  6 Million+ Folding at Home points 

grunion is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off