Ram problems and intel board - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 04-24-2008, 04:31 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
slinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey quick question if i have 2gb (2x1gb) stick of ram and one of the sticks is bad. Could it cause the whole system to not boot possibly?

slinger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 04-24-2008, 08:12 PM
yay.
 
kingsnake2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 128
You will usually get an error code. If you have speakers, the ones that attach to pins on the mobo, then put em on and boot up. Then look in the manual for the error code that you get. You can try to run with one stick at a time to see if its bad.

Awesome OCN Moments (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by joemaniaci go_quote.gif

...And so it began, the battle for earth between two noble creatures, whos command over the internetz is known throughout the globe, but who, who will conquer the other in their quest for middle earth? Could it be edward? The mightiest of the magicians capables of creating 16 ghz super duper uber machines of pron capabilities, or shall it be videofx, master of pure action in his pants. Only fate will decide and until then the balance of power on middle earth shall be as fragile as the shell of a precious egg.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valicious go_quote.gif

Danny Elfman's old band Oingo Boingo

Chimp Challenge Participant  1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

kingsnake2 is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 04-24-2008, 11:09 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
slinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
i do believe one is bad but i dont get beeps. one stick will give me a cmos beep like normal and the other will set my computer into an on off series.

p.s. i dont have a monitor atm to test it on :-(

slinger is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off