>>The Official ASUS P8P67/P8Z68 & P8Z68/GEN3 Series Owners Club>> - Page 254 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2531 of 9373 Old 07-27-2011, 11:18 AM
Overclocker
 
Nethermir's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 78
this is not OC related but i just found these nice pictures on flickr.

jutzlg.jpg

jkbz8k.jpg
turrican9 likes this.
Nethermir is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2532 of 9373 Old 07-27-2011, 11:22 AM
Commodore 64
 
eiji-gravion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Is the increased cpu current capability really necessary? I've had my 4.8 overclock stable for quite awhile now and it's still at 100%.

Bios is manual voltage 1.375 with internal pll overvoltage disabled.

eiji-gravion is offline  
post #2533 of 9373 Old 07-27-2011, 11:57 AM
Bottleneck? What bottleneck?
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 6,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by eiji-gravion;14366356 
Is the increased cpu current capability really necessary? I've had my 4.8 overclock stable for quite awhile now and it's still at 100%.

Bios is manual voltage 1.375 with internal pll overvoltage disabled.

It mainly helps when you go over 5GHz and really push the voltage.

"Just because you are a character doesn't mean that you have character." —The Wolf from Pulp Fiction
SimpleTech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2534 of 9373 Old 07-27-2011, 03:47 PM
Folding Fanatic
 
TooManyToys NotEnoughTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TooManyToys NotEnoughTime;14365995 
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican9;14357750 
Tried to disable HT in your 2600K? Also try to Disable Internal PLL Overvoltage.

Also, make sure you try the latest bios for your mobo.

With HT and Overvoltage disabled, I was able to run blend for 3 hours without a hitch. I'm going to try flipping HT back on and see where that gets me.

HT enabled and PLL Overvoltage disabled and things ran fine for 3 hours. Guess that means it was the overvoltage. Thanks turrican9! [+rep]

Has anyone else had problems with this and a stock 2600k?
TooManyToys NotEnoughTime is offline  
post #2535 of 9373 Old 07-27-2011, 03:56 PM
Relaxed Overclocker
 
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway, far up North..
Posts: 5,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by TooManyToys NotEnoughTime;14369920 
HT enabled and PLL Overvoltage disabled and things ran fine for 3 hours. Guess that means it was the overvoltage. Thanks turrican9! [+rep]

Has anyone else had problems with this and a stock 2600k?

Thanks man... I need a break here... I need to get drunk and think through a couple of things...

Glad it worked out for you thumb.gif
turrican9 is offline  
post #2536 of 9373 Old 07-27-2011, 09:10 PM
1.7ghz
 
orlywutlol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Hi guys I'm as new as you can get with SB. Just got this rig up and running a few days ago. I'm looking for a modest 4.2ghz OC and to run my RAM it's rated speed. I have been skimming this thread and still have a few questions..

Will leaving most of the voltage values on AUTO overvolt and damage the cpu?

How do you figure out what CPU offset to use? And whats with the CPU offset bug that can set insane volts and fry your cpu?

And finally can someone explain to me the CPU Current Capability is? What does manually setting this do?

I presume something like this will get me a 4.2ghz OC.

Code:
Ai Tweaker

    Ai Overclock Tuner: Manual
    BLCK/PCIE Frequency: 100.0
    Turbo Ratio: By All Cores
    By All Cores: change to 42
    Internal PLL Voltage: Disabled
    Memory Frequency: use the rated speed for your memory
    DRAM Timing Control: use the rated timings for your memory
    EPU Power Saving MODE: Disabled



Ai Tweaker\\ CPU Power Management >

    CPU Ratio: Auto
    Enhanced Intel SpeedStep Technology: Enabled
    Turbo Mode: Enabled
    Long Duration Power Limit: Auto
    Long Duration Maintained: Auto
    Short Duration Power Limit: Auto
    Additional Turbo Voltage: Auto
    Primary Plane Current Limit: Auto



Ai Tweaker (in the DIGI+ VRM section)

    Load-Line Calibration: Ultra High
    VRM Frequency: Manual
    VRM Fixed Frequency Mode: 350
    Phase Control: Extreme
    Duty Control: Extreme
    CPU Current Capability: 140% <<< What do I do with this?
    CPU Voltage: Offset Mode
    Offset Mode Sign: +
    CPU Offset Voltage: 0.040V  <<< Still a bit confused on CPU Offset. 
    DRAM Voltage: use the rated voltage for your memory
    VCCSA Voltage: Auto
    VCCIO Voltage: Auto
    CPU PLL Voltage: Auto
    PCH Voltage: Auto
    CPU Spread Spectrum: Enabled



Advanced\\ CPU Configuration >

    CPU Ratio: Auto
    Intel Adaptive Thermal Monitor: Enabled
    Active Processor Cores: All
    Limit CPUID Maximum: Disabled
    Execute Disable Bit: Enabled
    Intel Virtualization Technology: Disabled
    Enhanced Intel SpeedStep Technology: Enabled
    Turbo Mode: Enabled
    CPU C1E: Enabled
    CPU C3 Report: Auto
    CPU C6 Report: Auto

orlywutlol is offline  
post #2537 of 9373 Old 07-27-2011, 09:51 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NA
Posts: 1,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimpleTech View Post
Spread Spectrum should always be disabled when overclocking. It's been like that for years. Though I remember my Gigabyte X58 board use to have it hidden and enabled. Had to CTRL + F1 to show in BIOS and then disabled it thereafter.
Im new to the overclocking scene, so i didn't know that. This is why i thought it should be enabled:
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables View Post
  • CPU Spread Spectrum: Enabled
And it shows that in the second post on this thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by orlywutlol View Post
Will leaving most of the voltage values on AUTO overvolt and damage the cpu?
Ill start off by saying that most of your overclocking questions will be answered in the first few posts of this thread/club. Especially since your new to Sandy Bridge. Now to answer your questions.

I haven't heard of that happening, and when left on auto, i've only seen my voltages at stock. So i would say no.
Quote:
Originally Posted by orlywutlol View Post
How do you figure out what CPU offset to use? And whats with the CPU offset bug that can set insane volts and fry your cpu?
CPU offset info here. Info on the offset bug is in the first page of the thread, but here is the link.
Quote:
Originally Posted by orlywutlol View Post
And finally can someone explain to me what CPU Current Capability is? What does manually setting this do?
The following is taken from here. "CPU Current Capability: Increases the power threshold before over-current protection limits power (either by shut-off or throttling). We set this to 140% for all overclocking (processor cooling permitting)." So it allows more current to go your CPU when its required, which it is for overclocking. For 4.2GHz though, i don't think you will need it but i would change it to 140% just in case. It won't harm your CPU unless your cooling can't handle the heat output.
Quote:
Originally Posted by orlywutlol View Post
I presume something like this will get me a 4.2ghz OC.

Code:
...
Those settings should get you to at least 4.6GHz. 4.2GHz should only require stock settings, and possibly a few tweaks.
nawon72 is offline  
post #2538 of 9373 Old 07-27-2011, 11:04 PM
Relaxed Overclocker
 
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway, far up North..
Posts: 5,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by nawon72 View Post
It was at 140%. Anyways look below for two exciting new discoveries(for me anyways).

C3 and C6 - What do they do

I have done so more tests, and this is what i found......

Disabling C3 and C6 also disables the By Per Core setting .
Disabling C3 and C6 causes your Vcore to be significantly higher than normal when under light load n' .

Now are there enough reasons to use my method(look below)?

I still haven't had an idle BSOD by using my method with 48x multi. But this does not necessarily mean it will work for you. So i recommend you try it, and if you still idle BSOD even when your 12h+ blend stable, then im afraid it doesn't work for you. If that happens, let me know and ill try to find a workaround.

Theories:

Idle BSODs are caused when the CPU Turbo ramps up on one core, but isn't supplied enough voltage to maintain stability because C3 and C6 are "taking it away". As you can see in the supplied screenshots, when C3 and C6 are disabled, you get a much higher Vcore that doesn't fluctuate much.

PS - If anyone can ask an ASUS rep how C3 and C6 work, then we will have a definitive answer.
Interesting findings... I will look into this..

Edit: So you say if C3/C6 is enabled you can actually run two cores at 4.5GHz and two of them at 4.3GHz? I tried that earlier, and did not work. I thought this could be a cool thing, making a higher overclock by clocking one or two cores lower, or something like that.

I probably had disabled C3/C6 when I tried. Or they were Disabled when at the Auto setting. Very interesting


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nethermir View Post
this is not OC related but i just found these nice pictures on flickr.
Very nice pictures I will consider adding the last picture in first post of the Club
turrican9 is offline  
post #2539 of 9373 Old 07-28-2011, 05:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brooklyn Park, Mini Soda
Posts: 76,910
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 6212
Quote:
Originally Posted by nawon72;14365173 
I just noticed this:
Link

Didn't someone here say to set it to enabled for increased stability or something? I had it on Auto before i heard that, and now it's disabled.
CPU Spread Spectrum should only be disabled if you want to start increasing the BCLK/PEG Frequency. Otherwise, there is nothing wrong with leaving it enabled (mine is enabled, and my system is rock-solid stable at 4.8GHz).

Quote:
Originally Posted by SimpleTech;14366200 
Spread Spectrum should always be disabled when overclocking. It's been like that for years. Though I remember my Gigabyte X58 board use to have it hidden and enabled. Had to CTRL + F1 to show in BIOS and then disabled it thereafter.
With Sandy Bridge overclocking, CPU Spread Spectrum can be left enabled if you are leaving the BCLK/PEG Frequency at 100.0 MHz. So if you want to start increasing the BCLK/PEG Frequency, then disable CPU Spread Spectrum.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eiji-gravion;14366356 
Is the increased cpu current capability really necessary? I've had my 4.8 overclock stable for quite awhile now and it's still at 100%.

Bios is manual voltage 1.375 with internal pll overvoltage disabled.
Do you see your full overclock with your full core voltage in CPU-Z while Prime95 is running?

Quote:
Originally Posted by orlywutlol;14373498 
Hi guys I'm as new as you can get with SB. Just got this rig up and running a few days ago. I'm looking for a modest 4.2ghz OC and to run my RAM it's rated speed. I have been skimming this thread and still have a few questions..

Will leaving most of the voltage values on AUTO overvolt and damage the cpu?
Fortunately, no. wink.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by orlywutlol;14373498 
How do you figure out what CPU offset to use? And whats with the CPU offset bug that can set insane volts and fry your cpu?
The CPU offset bug has been fixed with the newer UEFI versions. For example: I am using 1850 for the P8P67 EVO, and I do not have the bug.

The behavior was that when switching between two profiles where Offset is being used in both, the offset voltage would get cranked way up because it would add the two offset voltages together.

So if you had Profile 1 set for an offset of +0.070 and Profile 2 set for +0.075, then switching between the profiles would result in an offset of +0.145V! For me, +0.145V would result in a core voltage of 1.50 because my VID is about 1.3511 to 1.3611V (according to Core Temp). Fortunately, this higher voltage could be seen before pressing F10 and applying that voltage!

Now, it's not that 1.50V is dangerous, but some people were using much higher +Offsets which resulted in a much higher core voltage thereby resulting in an instant death.

Now, I never experienced the bug myself, but yet I still check my offset voltage when I switch profiles because I can't afford to lose my CPU.

Quote:
Originally Posted by orlywutlol;14373498 
And finally can someone explain to me the CPU Current Capability is? What does manually setting this do?

I presume something like this will get me a 4.2ghz OC.
Code:
Ai Tweaker

    Ai Overclock Tuner: Manual
    BLCK/PCIE Frequency: 100.0
    Turbo Ratio: By All Cores
    By All Cores: [B]change to 42[/B]
    Internal PLL Voltage: Disabled
    Memory Frequency: use the rated speed for your memory
    DRAM Timing Control: use the rated timings for your memory
    EPU Power Saving MODE: Disabled



Ai Tweaker\ CPU Power Management >

    CPU Ratio: Auto
    Enhanced Intel SpeedStep Technology: Enabled
    Turbo Mode: Enabled
    Long Duration Power Limit: Auto
    Long Duration Maintained: Auto
    Short Duration Power Limit: Auto
    Additional Turbo Voltage: Auto
    Primary Plane Current Limit: Auto



Ai Tweaker (in the DIGI+ VRM section)

    Load-Line Calibration: Ultra High
    VRM Frequency: Manual
    VRM Fixed Frequency Mode: 350
    Phase Control: Extreme
    Duty Control: Extreme
    CPU Current Capability: [B]140% <<< What do I do with this?[/B]
    CPU Voltage: Offset Mode
    Offset Mode Sign: +
    CPU Offset Voltage: [B]0.040V  <<< Still a bit confused on CPU Offset. [/B]
    DRAM Voltage: use the rated voltage for your memory
    VCCSA Voltage: Auto
    VCCIO Voltage: Auto
    CPU PLL Voltage: Auto
    PCH Voltage: Auto
    CPU Spread Spectrum: Enabled



Advanced\ CPU Configuration >

    CPU Ratio: Auto
    Intel Adaptive Thermal Monitor: Enabled
    Active Processor Cores: All
    Limit CPUID Maximum: Disabled
    Execute Disable Bit: Enabled
    Intel Virtualization Technology: Disabled
    Enhanced Intel SpeedStep Technology: Enabled
    Turbo Mode: Enabled
    CPU C1E: Enabled
    CPU C3 Report: Auto
    CPU C6 Report: Auto
With your cooling, I recommend just shooting straight for 4.7 or 4.8GHz. I'm serious! You could just copy my settings and you'd more than likely be absolutely fine. Sure, you'd probably have to adjust the Offset by 0.005V increments up or down, but that's about it!

I went straight to 4.7GHz without trying anything lower than that first, and it was easier than breathing. wink.gif Overclocking the 2500K to 4.2GHz is like taking an E8400 from 3.0GHz to 3.5GHz.

Anyway, regarding Offset: the core voltage you end up with generally depends on your VID (use Core Temp to see your VID). Core Temp tells me that my VID is 1.3511V to 1.3611V, and my core voltage under load according to CPU-Z ends up being about 1.392V and I sometimes see precisely 1.400V. Well, adding 0.040V to 1.3511V results in 1.3911V, and adding 0.040V to 1.3611V results in 1.4011V.

So if I used -0.040V instead of +0.040V, then I'd see 1.312V to 1.328V.


Note: if I use an Offset of "Auto", then I see core voltages of more than 1.45V. However, that's the ONLY "Auto" setting that overvolts a voltage.

 Semi-Classic Firefox Add-ons Manager (CSS script)

 

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.

TwoCables is online now  
post #2540 of 9373 Old 07-28-2011, 07:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brooklyn Park, Mini Soda
Posts: 76,910
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 6212
Update regarding my VCCIO testing:

I tried a 12-hour run of Prime95's Blend with my VCCIO at 1.00000V, and it only lasted 4 hours and 47 minutes, and 38 seconds.

So I increased it to 1.02500V (3 increments up), but I haven't tested it yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican9;13464107 
Official ASUS P8P67 Series Overclocking Guide and Information

Quoted from a great thread on XtremeSystems by illuminatiASUS

Click below to see hidden text!
[/spoiler]

Click below to see hidden text/Pictures!
[/spoiler]
Can you change this so that it is taken from the thread below instead? http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1578110

The reason why I ask is because it's the original, and also because his username is "Juan Jose" on HardForum which I hope would make it clear for others that he is the same "JJ" in the Newegg TV videos.

smile.gif

 Semi-Classic Firefox Add-ons Manager (CSS script)

 

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.

TwoCables is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off